The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2015, 09:50am
Certified Non-Fanboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In the state where the Christmas trees grow
Posts: 159
Foul Ruling?

This was not my play and I was not there to witness it. This is how it was described to me by an official who was there. A1, attempting a 3 point FG from the wing, is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. As A1 falls to the floor, he grabs the arm of B1 and pulls B1 down on top of himself. This grabbing and pulling of B1 was not judged to be accidental. I'm interested to see how this play would be ruled by forum members.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2015, 09:57am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maineac View Post
... he grabs the arm of B1 and pulls B1 down on top of himself.
I'd tell them to get a room.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2015, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Probably a double personal foul is in order.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2015, 10:38am
Certified Non-Fanboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In the state where the Christmas trees grow
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Probably a double personal foul is in order.
Which is exactly what was called. I was just curious if others would have had different rulings, since it isn't a play I see every game.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2015, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
Common foul…followed by intentional foul.

The first foul was a normal " basketball play". The second was a deliberate, non-basketball act that was intentional and excessive.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2015, 11:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
Common foul…followed by intentional foul.

The first foul was a normal " basketball play". The second was a deliberate, non-basketball act that was intentional and excessive.
Going to go with a false double, then?

I think they're close enough to the same time to consider it a double foul.

No shots for either player.

POI. a) AP if shot is missed, b) B ball along endline if shot is made.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2015, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
Common foul…followed by intentional foul.

The first foul was a normal " basketball play". The second was a deliberate, non-basketball act that was intentional and excessive.
Possibly. BUT... if the foul on the shot caused the player to fall, and while falling, he reaches and grabs, I think a lot of times that's a "Oh I'm falling, let me grab something," situation, rather than a "Alright, A-hole, you're gonna foul me, then I'm bringing you down with me!" situation. If it is the former, then I don't think that the "intentional and excessive" part is true, and if I'm able to go double, then I would. Now all that being said, if it is clearly two separate acts, and you deem it cannot be called double, then I suppose you HAVE to go with intentional, as you can't have a common foul after the ball has become dead.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2015, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
Common foul…followed by intentional foul.

The first foul was a normal " basketball play". The second was a deliberate, non-basketball act that was intentional and excessive.
I wasn't there to judge this, but if this was indeed the case, I think both fouls occurred close enough together where they would be considered to have happened "at approximately the same time" for purposes of deeming this a double personal foul.

So....it got me to thinking about the penalty sequence because I believed it was different between NFHS and NCAA.

Looked up NFHS. See 10-6 PENALTIES 1c + NOTE, and the note says, "If one or both fouls of a double foul are flagrant*, no free throws are awarded..."

* Very interested that this doesn't read, "If one or both fouls of a double foul are intentional or flagrant, no free throws are awarded..." Certainly one can assume that if a single flagrant doesn't warrant FTs, an intentional shouldn't, either. But why would the NFHS leave the reader to interpret that? Hmmmm.

Looked up NCAAM & NCAAW. See 10-1 PENALTY f. I'll summarize: In NCAA, because one of the personal fouls is flagrant (Flagrant 1), you'd shoot both sets of FTs, i.e. first the 3 (or 1) for the three pointer, then the two for the F1 at the other end, and then B gets the ball at the spot nearest the foul (POI).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 16, 2015, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maineac View Post
This was not my play and I was not there to witness it. This is how it was described to me by an official who was there. A1, attempting a 3 point FG from the wing, is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. As A1 falls to the floor, he grabs the arm of B1 and pulls B1 down on top of himself. This grabbing and pulling of B1 was not judged to be accidental. I'm interested to see how this play would be ruled by forum members.
6.7.4 doesn't matter if intentional or unintentional...

False Double foul. Doesn't matter if the ball goes in or not. Second foul by A1 was a player control and caused ball to become dead. Wipe the basket anyway! A1 gets 3 throws, with lane space cleared; because the ball goes to POI and is awarded to Team B.
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"

Last edited by Hawkeyes; Mon Feb 16, 2015 at 07:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 16, 2015, 07:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
6.7.4 doesn't matter if intentional or unintentional...

Double foul indeed! Doesn't matter if the ball goes in or not. Second foul by A1 was a player control and caused ball to become dead. Wipe the basket anyway! A1 gets 3 throws, with lane space cleared; because the ball goes to POI and is awarded to Team B.
If it's a double foul, then it's not a player control. Basket counts, no free throws.

POI depends on whether the basket goes in. If it does, B gets the ball for an end line throw in. If it does not go in, you go to the arrow at the spot nearest the double foul.

10-6 penalty 1c, "No free throws: for double personal or technical fouls (point of interruption).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 16, 2015, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 76
I'm sorry - this is a false double foul (4-11; 4-19-6; 4-19-9)
I stand corrected - good catch.
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 16, 2015, 07:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
I'm sorry - this is a false double foul (4-11; 4-19-6; 4-19-9)
I stand corrected - good catch.
I actually think it's a double foul, as they are "at approximately the same time."

I don't think this is all that clear cut, though, so I know a few are going to get a different answer.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 16, 2015, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
I'm sorry - this is a false double foul (4-11; 4-19-6; 4-19-9)
I stand corrected - good catch.
No need. I think it could be ruled either a double or a false double as "approximately" is rather vague. It really depends. I could argue either one.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2015, 04:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
6.7.4 doesn't matter if intentional or unintentional...

False Double foul. Doesn't matter if the ball goes in or not. Second foul by A1 was a player control and caused ball to become dead. Wipe the basket anyway! A1 gets 3 throws, with lane space cleared; because the ball goes to POI and is awarded to Team B.
If you decide to rule this a false double foul instead of just a double foul, the shooter's foul still would not be a PC foul as we have been informed that the player returned to the floor before fouling his opponent. Therefore, he is no longer an airborne shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2015, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 76
"Returned to the floor" is open to interpretation isn't it? What if a player shoots a set shot (not leaving the floor at all)?
If "airborne shooter" really only applied to literally being in the air - most girls below the collegiate level wouldn't get many FT's for "jump shots" on that dreaded illegal block-out.
Unless we are forced to go to a monitor in high school - that foul by the shooter seems to create the very confusing false double foul:
Live ball, fouls by both teams, before the clock is started following the first.
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruling fullor30 Basketball 52 Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:17pm
NSA Ruling? Bandit Softball 44 Sat Jan 12, 2008 09:42am
Foul then Buzzer then shot - Interesting brand new ruling JTRICE Basketball 149 Mon Dec 18, 2006 10:47pm
Flagrant Foul ruling coachk Basketball 20 Mon Mar 07, 2005 08:32am
NFHS Ruling ? Foul Tip Or Is It ? Live or Dead ? Bandit Softball 40 Tue Feb 01, 2005 09:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1