The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Feb 04, 2015, 09:57pm
This Space Available

Clinics?

I'm a newbie in the ranks and will only have about 20 games under my belt when this season ends - all of them sub-varsity from middle school up to Freshmen and JV.

I am fortunate to have some motivating and teaching veterans to work with in both 2 and in 3 man crews in my association group, including several local NCAA officials and years-in veteran HS officials, as well as my group supervisor, himself an NCAA official. They've been great, they teach, they criticize constructively, they are encouraging and I am learning a great deal. Usually after working 2 games I will hang out and watch them work varsity, or go to our local D-1 games and watch mens' and womens' games crews to learn. I am hooked. However, I recognize that I have a very long way to go and much to learn. As you all know there is a lot to put together at one time and that can be a little overwhelming to a rookie.

The best experience is live games and immediate feedback I know, and I get all the work I want. But my first season is ending and I am looking for one or two credible and reputed clinics to hit in the off season to develop. I'm in New Mexico, but am willing to travel for the training.

Thanks for any suggestions or input anyone might have.

Rich
Old Wed Feb 04, 2015, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member

Best source for camp information in general (at least that I know of) is the listing that Phillyref puts together each year:

http://phillyref.com/basketball/bask...ereecamps.html