The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 07:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
The way I see it, two correctable errors occurred. First, a score was erroneously canceled. Second, an unmerited free throw was awarded. By failing to count the goal, the official also awarded an unmerited free throw, even though that free throw never began.

Because the penalty for the personal foul was two free throws, the ball was to become dead after the end of the first free throw. When the officials correct both errors, play is to resume from the point of interruption with an AP throw-in because no goal, infraction, or end of period was involved when the game was interrupted.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 09:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The case plays have one important difference. It says erroneous information was given. In the OP, the failure to count the basket was the error, not the number of free throws. If the basket was not scored, two free throws were the correct number awarded. When the first was missed, the ball is dead.
The official telling the players two free throws was still an official's mistake. The previous error error of failing to score the try when the foul occurred does not make awarding two free throws now correct. It is not as if the official specifically waved off the basket and stated that the foul was prior to the act of shooting. He simply failed to inform the scorer to count the goal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
The way I see it, two correctable errors occurred. First, a score was erroneously canceled. Second, an unmerited free throw was awarded. By failing to count the goal, the official also awarded an unmerited free throw, even though that free throw never began.
Despite the official telling the players that there will be two free throws, an unmerited free throw was never awarded. Verbally stating the number of free throws does not equate to actually awarding a free throw and making the ball live for it by putting the ball at the disposal of the free thrower.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 09:45pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The official telling the players two free throws was still an official's mistake. The previous error error of failing to score the try when the foul occurred does not make awarding two free throws now correct. It is not as if the official specifically waved off the basket and stated that the foul was prior to the act of shooting. He simply failed to inform the scorer to count the goal.


The sin of omission in this case produces the same result. It is not that the official forgot to make the signal. None of the officials saw the shot go in, and apparently they assumed for some reason that it did not. This was indeed a perfect storm in that nobody at the table, and no player or coach inquired: "DOES THE BUCKET COUNT?" Player at the line with no basket scored, he is entitled to two free throws.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 09:48pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The sin of omission in this case produces the same result. It is not that the official forgot to make the signal. None of the officials saw the shot go in, and apparently they assumed for some reason that it did not. This was indeed a perfect storm in that nobody at the table, and no player or coach inquired: "DOES THE BUCKET COUNT?" Player at the line with no basket scored, he is entitled to two free throws.

The official telling A1 that he/she has been awarded two FTAs is not a CE unless A1 attempts both FTs. Since A1 only shot one FTA then there was no CE of awarding an unmeritted FT. The CB Plays state that.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 09:56pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
The official telling A1 that he/she has been awarded two FTAs is not a CE unless A1 attempts both FTs.
It is my position that if the basket is not scored, awarding two free throws is not an error at all.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It is my position that if the basket is not scored, awarding two free throws is not an error at all.
Your argument is tantamount to saying that one mistake justifies another. That is flawed logic and cannot be correct.

The truth is that mistakenly awarding an improper number of FTs is still an error, even if the official believes that he is doing so correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 10:14pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Your argument is tantamount to saying that one mistake justifies another. That is flawed logic and cannot be correct.

The truth is that mistakenly awarding an improper number of FTs is still an error, even if the official believes that he is doing so correctly.

One mistake does not justify another. But one mistake often leads to another.
There are any number of reason why the basket may not have counted in the OP. (the foul was before the try...traveling after the foul, etc.) Any one of them could have been a mistake. The failure to signal the basket good and put it on the board is no different than any other mistake.


TWO SHOTS
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 10:02pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It is my position that if the basket is not scored, awarding two free throws is not an error at all.

It only becomes a CE if A1 does indeed attempts the second FT. And it can only be corrected, in the OP, if the CE of failure to award points is discovered before the CE time limit expires. The CE of failure to award points was discovered before the CE time limit expired and before the second FT was attempted.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 152
C and T botched the play...table personnel could have saved them

The C and the T botched the play by not observing and communicating that the basket was good.

Score the basket on the initial field goal.

The first (of one) free throw was missed with neither team rebounding like they normally would. So, go to the AP.

Both coaches may be upset with the officiating crew. That said, any of the coaches, assistant coaches, table personnel could have seen that the reporting official incorrectly did not count the basket and signaled for two shots.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct or incorrect. If incorrect is this correctable? rawhi1 Basketball 16 Sat Jan 26, 2013 02:50am
Correctable Error: Xavier/Drake Game Spence Basketball 1 Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:49pm
Correctable Error At The End Of Game? MOofficial Basketball 29 Tue Jan 10, 2012 08:33pm
Game 1: Correctable Error tjones1 Basketball 11 Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:38pm
Game Over and Correctable Error? jgg Basketball 26 Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1