![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
It is not a violation that I can tell. I see the player in the backcourt touching the ball first.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
True, if they catch the ball while they are in the air. But, if they catch the ball with one foot on the ground in the FC, and then put the second foot down in the BC, that's a violation. (and I don't have an opinion on which, if either, of these happened in the play)
|
|
|||
well if that is the case it looks like a violation to me. But very close and I don't fault the ref for not calling it as you can't really see by the video.
edit- On pausing the video, it is difficult to determine when there is control as it is a one-handed catch. It may be that there was one foot in the FC and another in the BC at the same time. Ruling on the field stands... |
|
|||
not a backcourt violation - it makes no difference where first foot landed
Reference: BillyMac's Misunderstood rules
The player is allowed to make a normal landing. So even if his first foot landed in the front court and the second foot landed in the back court, it would not have been a backcourt violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
.....EDIT: Actually, maybe he was airborne. Took another look. Didn't notice that before.....END EDIT. Still, even I have to admit I'd pass on this if I witnessed it in real time. Just too bang-bang for any level of certainty. However, I wanted to stir discussion and in that, I have succeeded. ![]() Last edited by crosscountry55; Fri Jan 23, 2015 at 10:23pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
This. The other option..."I think..." has no place in officiating.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Clemson/Arkansas block/charge play (Video) | SC Official | Basketball | 17 | Tue Dec 09, 2014 02:27pm |
Alabama-Arkansas final minute | bballref3966 | Football | 19 | Wed Oct 22, 2014 04:53pm |
NIT: Arkansas vs. California Blarge (Video) | CNYREF | Basketball | 22 | Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:03am |
Video Request: Kentucky-Arkansas - 2:12 in Overtime (Clips Added) | VTOfficial | Basketball | 26 | Thu Jan 16, 2014 01:33pm |
Backcourt Violation? with Video | referee99 | Basketball | 27 | Fri Mar 15, 2013 02:34pm |