![]() |
Alabama @ Arkansas 1/22/15 Throw-In Into Backcourt (Video)
ESPN2. 8.5s remaining first half, Alabama throw-in.
Backcourt violation? Discuss. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
However, I looked at it several times on my DVR in 1/6 speed, and I believe the ball comes to rest in the receivers hand (control) while one foot is in the frontcourt and the other is not touching. The other foot then touches in the backcourt. So I believe technically this should have been a backcourt violation. If only college basketball had a challenge flag. :D |
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/HKD4eI_AMtY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
|
Quote:
|
Not even close to a violation.
|
It is not a violation that I can tell. I see the player in the backcourt touching the ball first.
Peace |
Quote:
|
well if that is the case it looks like a violation to me. But very close and I don't fault the ref for not calling it as you can't really see by the video.
edit- On pausing the video, it is difficult to determine when there is control as it is a one-handed catch. It may be that there was one foot in the FC and another in the BC at the same time. Ruling on the field stands... |
not a backcourt violation - it makes no difference where first foot landed
Reference: BillyMac's Misunderstood rules
The player is allowed to make a normal landing. So even if his first foot landed in the front court and the second foot landed in the back court, it would not have been a backcourt violation. |
Quote:
.....EDIT: Actually, maybe he was airborne. Took another look. Didn't notice that before.....END EDIT. Still, even I have to admit I'd pass on this if I witnessed it in real time. Just too bang-bang for any level of certainty. However, I wanted to stir discussion and in that, I have succeeded. :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07am. |