The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correct Application (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99064-correct-application.html)

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 950493)
so team A has 5 fouls, A1 fouls for the 6th foul and after a Tech is called. Team A should be shooting the T, not the bonus.

Same as above but let's say somehow there was a simultaneous foul and Tech on team A. Shoot the bonus here?

Shoot in the order of occurance. If I can't tell, I'm going to assume the T came last here.

If you say the T was first, then the ball was dead for the common foul and it's ignored unless flagrant or intentional.

BillyMac Thu Jan 15, 2015 06:23pm

Who You Gonna Call ???
 
https://c1.staticflickr.com/7/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950446)
I haven't called a "reaching" foul in more than 10 years.

I haven't called one in thirty-four years. I had great teachers.

Reaching in is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in is, by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes, or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

Over the back is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.

A moving screen is not in and of itself a foul, illegal contact must occur for a foul to be called. If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

It is legal use of hands to accidentally hit the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul.

Things Officials Should Probably Not Be Saying In A Game

(Coming soon to a Sportorial magazine near you.)

"Over the back", reported by an official to the table on a rebounding foul, is, in reality, probably a pushing foul. Over the back is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called, and this should be reported to the table as such.

"Reaching in", reported by an official to the table on a foul against a ball handler, is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, is by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul, and these should be reported to the table as such.

MechanicGuy Thu Jan 15, 2015 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 950458)
Or you've got a partner who just doesn't care to use correct terminology.

I actually had, very recently, in a varsity game, a partner who told players to "quit reaching"... and he's definitely not 'untrained'.

What age/level was this game?

Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 950525)
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.

It's different, but I don't think the difference is that significant. I try to avoid telling players to quit doing things the rules allow them to do.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 15, 2015 07:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 950525)
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.

Even if it is different, it can only reinforce the wrong thing. Better to avoid it entirely.

Raymond Thu Jan 15, 2015 08:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 950525)
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.

When I played I had slow feet, but very quick hands. Telling me to quit reaching would be telling me to quit getting steals.

crosscountry55 Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 950493)
so team A has 5 fouls, A1 fouls for the 6th foul and after a Tech is called. Team A should be shooting the T, not the bonus.

Same as above but let's say somehow there was a simultaneous foul and Tech on team A. Shoot the bonus here?

Nope. No free throws for simultaneous and double fouls. But both of these involve different teams each picking up a foul....

...So I'm wondering, did you maybe mean a multiple foul? Not that anyone should ever call such a foul, but a multiple foul carries its own free throw penalties that are independent of the bonus rule. So you'd have team fouls 6 and 7, and the T would be 8. So clear the lane for the multiple foul free throws, and then get your T shooter and shoot the T free throws, and then Team B gets the ball for a throw-in division line opposite the table.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1