The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correct Application (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99064-correct-application.html)

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:52am

Correct Application
 
In our game last night one referee called a reaching foul on my player at mid-court which resulted in our 6th team foul. Before the opposing team
could inbound the ball at mid-court after the common foul, same referee called a technical foul on me. The opposing team was awarded 2 shots
for the technical. I assumed the opposing team would then take the ball out on the sideline.

However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question, the referee in question then awarded a one and one to the opposing team's
player who was fouled at mid-court. After she shot the one and one, the opposing team was awarded possession on the sideline.

My question is how do you go back and penalize the 6th team foul with a one and one? The technical was a subsequent foul that had nothing to do with the common 6th foul. The opposing team was awarded 4 free throws and possession of the ball at a critical juncture of a close game.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950437)
In our game last night one referee called a reaching foul on my player at mid-court which resulted in our 6th team foul. Before the opposing team
could inbound the ball at mid-court after the common foul, same referee called a technical foul on me. The opposing team was awarded 2 shots
for the technical. I assumed the opposing team would then take the ball out on the sideline.

However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question, the referee in question then awarded a one and one to the opposing team's
player who was fouled at mid-court. After she shot the one and one, the opposing team was awarded possession on the sideline.

My question is how do you go back and penalize the 6th team foul with a one and one? The technical was a subsequent foul that had nothing to do with the common 6th foul. The opposing team was awarded 4 free throws and possession of the ball at a critical juncture of a close game.

Assuming it played out as you indicate, the officials got it wrong.

It happens. It shouldn't, but it does. Are you sure they called a "reaching" foul?

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:00pm

Correct Application
 
Yes, common foul at mid court which put our team foul total to 6. Thanks for the reply.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950443)
Yes, common foul at mid court which put our team foul total to 6. Thanks for the reply.

Sorry, I was being a bit antagonistic. :)
I haven't called a "reaching" foul in more than 10 years.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950437)
However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question,

It's a correctable error. You are allowed to stand to try to prevent / rectify that (you're supposed to ask the scorer to signal the referee and tehn have the discussion).

so cal lurker Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950443)
Yes, common foul at mid court which put our team foul total to 6. Thanks for the reply.

His point was that there is no such thing as a "reaching foul." A player who reaches in may be guilty of a foul for making contact with the opponent, but the reach itself is not a foul. If you had referees who were actually calling "reaching" a foul when they reported to the scorers table, you had official with littleor no training. If so, it is not surprising that they would botch the enforcement here.

jTheUmp Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 950456)
If you had referees who were actually calling "reaching" a foul when they reported to the scorers table, you had official with little or no training. If so, it is not surprising that they would botch the enforcement here.

Or you've got a partner who just doesn't care to use correct terminology.

I actually had, very recently, in a varsity game, a partner who told players to "quit reaching"... and he's definitely not 'untrained'.

What age/level was this game?

Raymond Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 950450)
It's a correctable error. You are allowed to stand to try to prevent / rectify that (you're supposed to ask the scorer to signal the referee and tehn have the discussion).

This is the most important take away from this thread.

frezer11 Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950437)
In our game last night one referee called a reaching foul on my player at mid-court which resulted in our 6th team foul. Before the opposing team
could inbound the ball at mid-court after the common foul, same referee called a technical foul on me. The opposing team was awarded 2 shots
for the technical. I assumed the opposing team would then take the ball out on the sideline.

However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question, the referee in question then awarded a one and one to the opposing team's
player who was fouled at mid-court. After she shot the one and one, the opposing team was awarded possession on the sideline.

My question is how do you go back and penalize the 6th team foul with a one and one? The technical was a subsequent foul that had nothing to do with the common 6th foul. The opposing team was awarded 4 free throws and possession of the ball at a critical juncture of a close game.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950439)
Assuming it played out as you indicate, the officials got it wrong.

It happens. It shouldn't, but it does. Are you sure they called a "reaching" foul?

I agree with Adam, assuming it happened the way you described. Because this is an officiating forum, I try to give the benefit of the doubt to the official. You're absolutely certain that the 1st foul was the 6th and not 7th? Sometimes the scoreboard is a little behind, so they could have been right and looked bad if the scoreboard didn't reflect this. Although even in this case they needed to shoot the 1-1 first...

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:18pm

Correct Application
 
Thank you.

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:20pm

High School Varsity. The terminology is my mistake. My player reached in and tapped the ball away cleanly but he called a foul. Not sure what he identified it as.

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:21pm

Absolutely positive on the foul situation.

Raymond Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950466)
High School Varsity. The terminology is my mistake. My player reached in and tapped the ball away cleanly but he called a foul. Not sure what he identified it as.

In your opinion ;)

If you hadn't had said your player was called for a "reaching" foul, I'd have more confidence in your judgment. :D

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950466)
High School Varsity. The terminology is my mistake. My player reached in and tapped the ball away cleanly but he called a foul. Not sure what he identified it as.

Welcome to the forum, coach.

mutantducky Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:30pm

so team A has 5 fouls, A1 fouls for the 6th foul and after a Tech is called. Team A should be shooting the T, not the bonus.

Same as above but let's say somehow there was a simultaneous foul and Tech on team A. Shoot the bonus here?

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 950493)
so team A has 5 fouls, A1 fouls for the 6th foul and after a Tech is called. Team A should be shooting the T, not the bonus.

Same as above but let's say somehow there was a simultaneous foul and Tech on team A. Shoot the bonus here?

Shoot in the order of occurance. If I can't tell, I'm going to assume the T came last here.

If you say the T was first, then the ball was dead for the common foul and it's ignored unless flagrant or intentional.

BillyMac Thu Jan 15, 2015 06:23pm

Who You Gonna Call ???
 
https://c1.staticflickr.com/7/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950446)
I haven't called a "reaching" foul in more than 10 years.

I haven't called one in thirty-four years. I had great teachers.

Reaching in is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in is, by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes, or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

Over the back is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.

A moving screen is not in and of itself a foul, illegal contact must occur for a foul to be called. If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

It is legal use of hands to accidentally hit the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul.

Things Officials Should Probably Not Be Saying In A Game

(Coming soon to a Sportorial magazine near you.)

"Over the back", reported by an official to the table on a rebounding foul, is, in reality, probably a pushing foul. Over the back is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called, and this should be reported to the table as such.

"Reaching in", reported by an official to the table on a foul against a ball handler, is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, is by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul, and these should be reported to the table as such.

MechanicGuy Thu Jan 15, 2015 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 950458)
Or you've got a partner who just doesn't care to use correct terminology.

I actually had, very recently, in a varsity game, a partner who told players to "quit reaching"... and he's definitely not 'untrained'.

What age/level was this game?

Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 950525)
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.

It's different, but I don't think the difference is that significant. I try to avoid telling players to quit doing things the rules allow them to do.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 15, 2015 07:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 950525)
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.

Even if it is different, it can only reinforce the wrong thing. Better to avoid it entirely.

Raymond Thu Jan 15, 2015 08:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 950525)
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.

When I played I had slow feet, but very quick hands. Telling me to quit reaching would be telling me to quit getting steals.

crosscountry55 Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 950493)
so team A has 5 fouls, A1 fouls for the 6th foul and after a Tech is called. Team A should be shooting the T, not the bonus.

Same as above but let's say somehow there was a simultaneous foul and Tech on team A. Shoot the bonus here?

Nope. No free throws for simultaneous and double fouls. But both of these involve different teams each picking up a foul....

...So I'm wondering, did you maybe mean a multiple foul? Not that anyone should ever call such a foul, but a multiple foul carries its own free throw penalties that are independent of the bonus rule. So you'd have team fouls 6 and 7, and the T would be 8. So clear the lane for the multiple foul free throws, and then get your T shooter and shoot the T free throws, and then Team B gets the ball for a throw-in division line opposite the table.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1