![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Unless the basket was pulled down such that it had not returned to its normal position by the time the ball did contact the rim. That is what I have.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In practicality, I'm fine with the no call for three reasons: 1. The ball is not affected (which I think is what Camron was implying). 2. Unless the ball is rolling around on the rim (which it was not in this case), deciding whether the net was being touched at the precise moment the ball was on the rim is an educated guess at best. 3. It's tough to trace the arm you see touching the net down to the jersey color amidst the chaos of rebounding. You could conceivably put air in the whistle and then say to yourself, "crap, who was that?" And then you're guessing when awarded points are potentially involved, and that's not good. In summary, good no call IMO. |
|
|||
|
It's A Rule ??? Right ??? What ?? Wait A Minute ...
You don't have to guess. Just call double basket interference. And be sure to sell the hell out of the call, get out of Dodge, and get the ball back in play, as soon as possible.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 18, 2015 at 01:57pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Rock, Paper, Scissors ...
Are you sure this is the correct penalty for double basket interference? See 9-14-PENALTY.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
I don't see BI in the video. And now for something completely different: I thought the shooter might have been fouled at the beginning of the video.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Shame On Me ...
I was only kidding about "double" basket interference. I didn't realize that there was a real simultaneous basket interference rule. I hope that this doesn't cost me my Esteemed Forum Member status. It took me ten years, and 13,000 posts, to achieve this status. I don't want to lose it because of one stupid joke that backfired on me. NFHS 6-4-3-E: Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: Opponents commit simultaneous goaltending or basket-interference violations. If the ball went in the basket, should the basket count, or not? If the ball didn't go in the basket, should the basket be awarded, or not? Once we get those questions answered, we can move on to a multiple basket interference situation. Award, or wave off, double the points? Right?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 18, 2015 at 03:44pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There are a few clues to telling that it was pulled down instead of just being touched.... 1. The whole backboard support system dipped. 2. The net recoiled straight up into the cylinder which means it was pulled, not merely touched. Basket should have counted.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Sharp Eyes ...
Quote:
Good luck seeing this in a real game, in real time.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Sometimes, we can't see the specific act at full speed but we can see clues that reveal the act. Primarily, the sound that someone else mentioned (I was watching the video with no sound), and the reaction of the net, it responded like a rubber band being shot. That tells you it was grabbed, pulled down, and released. Then, seeing the ball pop up unnaturally completes the puzzle.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Golly gee that's a tough call in real time. As if your everyday vanilla BI is any easier. Sheesh. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NBA Finals (G1) LBJ Basket Interference (Video) | bainsey | Basketball | 12 | Mon Jun 09, 2014 01:19am |
| Video request: Mercer basket with 1:07 left in 2nd half (Video) | Nevadaref | Basketball | 13 | Sat Mar 22, 2014 03:04pm |
| Basket Interference or Not? (Video) | APG | Basketball | 16 | Sun Feb 02, 2014 04:34pm |
| Kansas State v. Texas: Basket Interference (Video) | APG | Basketball | 12 | Fri Jan 24, 2014 09:01am |
| Video Request: Minn vs. UCLA (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 9 | Sat Mar 23, 2013 01:47pm |