![]() |
|
|
|||
Five on the court, one is injured
Earlier today, V team brings six players. One fouls out.
Fourth quarter: While V-3 is holding the ball, V-14 rolls her ankle and goes down. I stop play and beckon the coach. Coach V is hesitant to come out, admitting that she didn't want to lose V-14 if she came out (not that it mattered, as already beckoned her). My veteran partner tells the coach V-14 can come back in if she takes a time out. Coach V agrees. During the time out, I discuss with my partner that I'm not sure a time out was necessary, since the team only had five players available. He points out that V-14 needed the time out to recover, anyway. It was a very wise point. Setting the point aside, though, let's see V-14 wanted to play right away, even after a coach beckon with only five available players. V-14 would not have to sit a tick, correct?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Rule 3.1.1 Note:
"A team must begin the game with five players, but if it has no substitutes to replace disqualified or injured players, it must continue with fewer than five..." This may be specific to the start of the game, but I think the point still remains that the team must continue with less than five if it has no substitutes available. Last edited by frezer11; Wed Jan 14, 2015 at 02:09am. |
|
|||
See NFHS Casebook Play 8.2 Situation B.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
8.2 SITUATION B:
A1 is fouled and will be shooting two free throws. After A1's first free-throw attempt, B6 (Team B's only remaining eligible substitute) replaces B2. A1's second free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. During rebounding action for A1's missed second free-throw attempt, and before the clock starts, A1 pushes B3 in the back causing B3 to roll an ankle. Team B is in the bonus. B3 is unable to immediately continue playing. Team B requests and is granted a time out in order to allow B3 to recover from the ankle injury so as to remain in the game. B3 is still not able to play after the time out has ended. RULING: B2 may return to the game and replace B3 and shoot B3's free throw attempts despite having been replaced since he/she is the only available substitute. (3-3-4) |
|
|||
Full disclosure: MTD personally wrote that Case Book play. In my opinion, it is misguided.
The older NFHS interp about a player having an asthma attack and temporarily playing with four is the proper way to handle it, unless a time-out is taken. Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Jan 14, 2015 at 02:54am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Another front court back court scenario | socal | Basketball | 8 | Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:51pm |
Foul in Back Court going to Front Court with No Free Throws | howie719 | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 06, 2014 01:28pm |
Back Court vs. Front Court. | MagnusonX | Basketball | 72 | Sun Oct 17, 2010 08:34am |
Ever Deal With Fans off-court? Do You Always Ignore On-Court? | DrFeelGood | Basketball | 67 | Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:52am |
Referee is a part of the court/court? | RecRef | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 17, 2002 12:36pm |