The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 20, 2000, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally posted by PAULK1
Art,
While in college they may make that exception
in NF they do not see NF 7-5-5 rule book or NF 7.5.2c
in the case book.
Paul --

I disagree. The case you cited has the foul occurring *before the try* -- IOW, the ball became dead immediately upon the foul, and no basket was scored. Thus, in this case, the throw in is from a designated spot.

In the case that started this thread, the try was already in flight when the foul occurred. The try was good, and counts (as you pointed out in your first post in this thread). Since the basket was good, B gets to run the end-line.

See case 6.7B for an example (in this case the foul occurs during a free-throw, but that distinction doesn't matter).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1