The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "Shooter Changes His Mind" Travel (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98981-shooter-changes-his-mind-travel-video.html)

BillyMac Tue Jan 20, 2015 08:06pm

No Carry Rule ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 951333)
This case play, like this thread, had nothing to do with traveling.

From the caseplay wording, how does one determine if the carry described (remember, it's not a real rule violation) is actually an illegal dribble, or a travel?

BryanV21 Tue Jan 20, 2015 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 951327)
Is this "carry violation" actually for an illegal dribble violation, or a travel violation? The casebook play doesn't differentiate. If it's a travel, you don't have to wait until the ball hits anything, the violation occurs right away.

I see a signal (carry/palming) in the rulebook, but I don't see a carry rule.

4-15-4b - Dribbling
"The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands."

Since there is another definition (4-44) for traveling, I would say this violation falls under "illegal dribble"

Raymond Tue Jan 20, 2015 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 951333)
This case play, like this thread, had nothing to do with traveling.

This thread is about traveling because if you determined A1 to have started a dribble when dropping the ball, then by definition he lifted his pivot foot prior to releasing the ball for a dribble.

just another ref Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 951341)
This thread is about traveling because if you determined A1 to have started a dribble when dropping the ball, then by definition he lifted his pivot foot prior to releasing the ball for a dribble.

You're right, of course. I should have said traveling is only a by-product on this thread.

potato Wed Jan 21, 2015 01:24am

It should be a double dribble more than a travel. Travel if he didn't start & ended his 1st dribble prior.



Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 951183)
So, if a ball handler picks up his dribble, expecting a teammate to cut right, makes a bounce pass to the right, but the teammate cuts left instead of right, and the pass is bounced to nobody, under those conditions you can determine if it was a pass, or a dibble?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 951341)
This thread is about traveling because if you determined A1 to have started a dribble when dropping the ball, then by definition he lifted his pivot foot prior to releasing the ball for a dribble.


just another ref Wed Jan 21, 2015 01:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 951368)
It should be a double dribble more than a travel. Travel if he didn't start & ended his 1st dribble prior.

You want to explain what difference it makes?

potato Wed Jan 21, 2015 04:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 951369)
You want to explain what difference it makes?

the outcome is the same however the ref has to signal the correct signal since traveling & double dribble has different hand sign.

BillyMac Wed Jan 21, 2015 07:28am

Have I Been Misled ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951340)
Since there is another definition (4-44) for traveling, I would say this violation falls under "illegal dribble"

I was under the impression that if a stationary ball handler (no movement of feet, thus no pivot foot involved) carries the ball that it was actually an illegal (double) dribble violation, and if the ball handler carries the ball while in motion that it was probably a travel violation (called immediately, don't wait for the next dribble). Am I wrong?

Also, I have always wondered why we have a definition of carrying, and a signal, but we don't actually have a violation for carrying? Why didn't the NFHS just stick with a simple illegal (double) dribble, or a travel? In other words, could we officiate a game without a carry definition, and without a carry signal, and still interpret the act (carry) as illegal?

Raymond Wed Jan 21, 2015 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 951368)
It should be a double dribble more than a travel. Travel if he didn't start & ended his 1st dribble prior.

Whether A1 dribbled prior to jumping and dropping the ball is irrelevant to whether or not he committed a violation in this play.

We are discussing the philosophy of when the violation occurs, immediately or after A1 retouches the ball.

Pantherdreams Wed Jan 21, 2015 08:35am

I guess in my head I'm equating this to teams that run a lot of dribble hand offs. Imagine players constantly running at each other and then players taking off to dribble drive or bounce pass/hand off the ball. If A2 is running towards A1 and A1 releases the ball at the ground after lifting his back foot, I need to wait until either he touches it again or to see if A2 collects the dropped ball before I can determine if A1 traveled. If he's dribbling yes, if he's passing no.

So if a player jumps up and releases the ball I need to see what the next action is to consider whether or not its a dribble/pass/fumble/etc.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 951380)
I was under the impression that if a stationary ball handler (no movement of feet, thus no pivot foot involved) carries the ball that it was actually an illegal (double) dribble violation, and if the ball handler carries the ball while in motion that it was probably a travel violation (called immediately, don't wait for the next dribble). Am I wrong?

Also, I have always wondered why we have a definition of carrying, and a signal, but we don't actually have a violation for carrying? Why didn't the NFHS just stick with a simple illegal (double) dribble, or a travel? In other words, could we officiate a game without a carry definition, and without a carry signal, and still interpret the act (carry) as illegal?

I think the problem is having a "double dribble" and "carry" signal. Just one "illegal dribble" signal should suffice. I mean, a "double dribble" is not the same as a "carry", so having different signals makes sense. If you want to put them together under "illegal dribble", then I'd say there should be a different signal.

Or... you know... put the definition of "carry", along with including it under "violations", in the rule book.

so cal lurker Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951421)
I think the problem is having a "double dribble" and "carry" signal. Just one "illegal dribble" signal should suffice. I mean, a "double dribble" is not the same as a "carry", so having different signals makes sense. If you want to put them together under "illegal dribble", then I'd say there should be a different signal.

Or... you know... put the definition of "carry", along with including it under "violations", in the rule book.

Or is it . . . the violation is that the carry terminated the dribble, and he then dribbled it a second time, right? Seems to me that while the "carry" signal may be technically unnecessary, it conveys useful information about the nature of the violation. (Of course, one could argue that all of the signals as to what the violation was aren't truly necessary as long as the referee signals that a violation occurred . . . they are just helpful to communicate.)

just another ref Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:33am

As I recall, the carrying signal was eliminated, then put back, in the late 80's or early 90's.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 951422)
Or is it . . . the violation is that the carry terminated the dribble, and he then dribbled it a second time, right? Seems to me that while the "carry" signal may be technically unnecessary, it conveys useful information about the nature of the violation. (Of course, one could argue that all of the signals as to what the violation was aren't truly necessary as long as the referee signals that a violation occurred . . . they are just helpful to communicate.)

The problem comes when somebody, say a coach, wants a definition of a "carry" after you call it against his team. You don't have one, which leads you to get into the definition of ending a dribble, thus leading to the question of "why isn't it a double dribble violation, instead?"

That's not a likely scenario, and it's being nit-picky, but shouldn't a rule book be that technical? If you have a signal for a "carry", then why wouldn't you define a "carry"? Or why not just call it a "double dribble" or an "illegal dribble" (needing a new signal for that)?

Camron Rust Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951421)
I mean, a "double dribble" is not the same as a "carry", so having different signals makes sense. If you want to put them together under "illegal dribble", then I'd say there should be a different signal.

Actually, it is. All carries are "double" dribbles. Some might be travels too. In fact, the actual rule is "illegal dribble", so it is covered under that just fine.

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 951422)
Or is it . . . the violation is that the carry terminated the dribble, and he then dribbled it a second time, right? Seems to me that while the "carry" signal may be technically unnecessary, it conveys useful information about the nature of the violation.

Exactly.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 951423)
As I recall, the carrying signal was eliminated, then put back, in the late 80's or early 90's.

Yes. It was added back, not to make something new illegal, but for communication purposes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1