![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the foul is after the release, the bucket counts if it goes in (or is awarded for BI or GT).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Pepperidge Farm Remembers ...
Which, back in the olden days, was the NFHS rule. Am I right, Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 06, 2015 at 12:37am. |
|
|||
If the airborne shooter commits a technical or intentional foul or if a foul committed by a player in the act of shooting is part of a double-foul.
|
|
|||
Quote:
So A1 is disqualified, A scores two points, and B1 is awarded two free throws. If B1 misses either free throw, the game will end and A will have won the game. However, if A1's foul is a common PC foul instead, A does not score two points and we're going to overtime. It doesn't quite seem fair that a more severe foul here can potentially benefit A. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I vote for this.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
If airborne shooter A1 commits an intentional personal foul, then the goal counts and there cannot be any carry-over to future games. |
|
|||
If I have good game awareness and the presence of mind to recognize the impact of my call choice, I'm going with the PC foul even if it could have been intentional or flagrant (assuming it was at least a 50/50 or better case of B1 having legal guarding position). Indeed, I don't want to reward Team A here. Let the players determine the outcome the way it should be determined, i.e. in overtime.
Of course if this is college, especially NCAAM, with the restricted area and all, I have a lot more to think about. Damn, that's a tricky one. Great officials have all of these possible outcomes figured out in advance like chess players during closing seconds of close games. I am not a great official. Yet? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I knew you (and some similar others) would know -- I was hoping to get some of the newer officials into the book.
|
|
|||
Quote:
From the Case Book: A.R. 158. (Men) A1 drives for a layup. After the ball leaves A1’s hand but before it goes through the basket, A1 charges into B1. A1’s try is successful. Team B is not in the bonus. The out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the personal foul occurred is on the end line. When the ball is handed to the thrower-in for Team B, may this player move along the end line? RULING: Yes. Since Team B is not in the bonus, designating a spot is not necessary. Team B is permitted to put the ball in play from any point out of bounds at the end line where the basket was scored since Team A was credited with the score. (Rule 7-4.6.a) You can download the current NCAA book here for free: https://www.ncaapublications.com/p-4...all-rules.aspx The 2015 NCAA Case Book is here: https://www.ncaapublications.com/p-4...case-book.aspx Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Jan 07, 2015 at 06:56am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA 2.12 question | snorman75 | Basketball | 1 | Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:31am |
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test | ljudge | Football | 2 | Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am |
NCAA question | voiceoflg | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 26, 2007 08:52am |
NCAA, Question 50 | FVB9 | Baseball | 11 | Mon Mar 28, 2005 09:56pm |
NCAA Men's Question | TGR | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 16, 2003 01:45pm |