The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
True/False When resuming play with a throw-in, the rules pertaining to ten seconds in the backcourt, three seconds in the free throw lane, and backcourt violations do not apply until after an inbounds player secures control of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 09:23pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
True/False When resuming play with a throw-in, the rules pertaining to ten seconds in the backcourt, three seconds in the free throw lane, and backcourt violations do not apply until after an inbounds player secures control of the ball.

This is good. I believe this question was on the guide last year with the exception that it said these things didn't apply during the throw-in.
Important to know that this is also true.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 09:42pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Some will probably enjoy seeing this in black and white:

True or false: By rule, the team members in uniform on the bench and the assistant coach are subject to the same restrictions on behavior.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 01:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
True/False When resuming play with a throw-in, the rules pertaining to ten seconds in the backcourt, three seconds in the free throw lane, and backcourt violations do not apply until after an inbounds player secures control of the ball.
I made an incorrect BC call off a throw-in earlier this season and didn't realize it was wrong until discussing it with you and another forum contributor offline. I'm totally fine with calling it the correct way, but I still stand by my assertion that, by 4-12-2-d (team control begins when a player has disposal of the ball on a throw-in), 4-12-3 (none of the events that would cause team control to end have occurred), and 9-9-1 (last touched by A in FC, first touched by A in BC, ball has been in TC the whole time by the last two rules), the rules actually imply that a throw-in by A touched by an A player with FC status which is then first touched in the BC by an A player constitutes a violation. This could be a very easy fix if 9-9-1 is amended to read "...after it has been in team and player control in the frontcourt."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 01:53am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
I made an incorrect BC call off a throw-in earlier this season and didn't realize it was wrong until discussing it with you and another forum contributor offline. I'm totally fine with calling it the correct way, but I still stand by my assertion that, by 4-12-2-d (team control begins when a player has disposal of the ball on a throw-in), 4-12-3 (none of the events that would cause team control to end have occurred), and 9-9-1 (last touched by A in FC, first touched by A in BC, ball has been in TC the whole time by the last two rules), the rules actually imply that a throw-in by A touched by an A player with FC status which is then first touched in the BC by an A player constitutes a violation. This could be a very easy fix if 9-9-1 is amended to read "...after it has been in team and player control in the frontcourt."
It is well documented that the change to team control during the throw-in caused undesired ripples into other rules. I believe 4.12.2 SITUATION B (b) addresses what you mention above. Throw-in from end line, tipped into backcourt by A2, then recovered by A3, no violation, because team control was never established in(bounds) in the frontcourt.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 04:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
I made an incorrect BC call off a throw-in earlier this season and didn't realize it was wrong until discussing it with you and another forum contributor offline. I'm totally fine with calling it the correct way, but I still stand by my assertion that, by 4-12-2-d (team control begins when a player has disposal of the ball on a throw-in), 4-12-3 (none of the events that would cause team control to end have occurred), and 9-9-1 (last touched by A in FC, first touched by A in BC, ball has been in TC the whole time by the last two rules), the rules actually imply that a throw-in by A touched by an A player with FC status which is then first touched in the BC by an A player constitutes a violation. This could be a very easy fix if 9-9-1 is amended to read "...after it has been in team and player control in the frontcourt."
No, that wouldn't work because PLAYER control in the frontcourt is not necessary for a backcourt violation.

An example play: A1 is dribbling in the backcourt. He throws a pass to A2 who is standing in Team A's frontcourt. The ball strikes A2 in the shoulder and rebounds into the backcourt where A3 is the first to touch it.
Ruling: Backcourt violation

In fact, Team A doesn't even have to touch the ball in the frontcourt in order to violate. See rule 9-9-2 and swap an official for A2 in the above play for an example.

However, you are correct that the current text of the NFHS rules is flawed with respect to team control on throw-ins and backcourt violations. Unfortunately, it has been that way for a few years now.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 04:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Two more ?s for you

Endline running question:
After Team B scores, A1 secures the ball and steps out of bounds for the throw-in. B1 crosses the endline and fouls A1. True/False: Following the FTs for B1's intentional personal foul, Team A will retain the right to run the endline on the ensuing throw-in.

Team Control foul question:
A1 is dribbling in his backcourt when B1 bats the ball away. As A1 and B1 chase the loose ball, A1 commits a pushing foul against B1. True/False: This is a team control foul.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 04:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Fashion Police questions

If you want any fashion police questions:

1. True/False A player may legally wear a headband with the NBA logo.

2. True/False A player from the home team may legally wear gray tights.

3. True/False A player may wear an arm sleeve that is half white and half red.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 07:29am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
The Plot Thickens ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
True/False: A player from the home team may legally wear gray tights.
Riddle me this: What if the tights stop above the knee, are made of a compression type material, and the uniform shorts are gray?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Riddle me this: What if the tights stop above the knee, are made of a compression type material, and the uniform shorts are gray?
Billy, don't needlessly confuse people.

Tights extend below the knee. Compression shorts do not.
Two different items. Very clearly stated in the rules.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
study guide question just another ref Basketball 8 Mon Nov 03, 2008 04:36am
Best Study Guide FTVMartin Football 6 Fri Aug 08, 2008 03:45pm
study guide question just another ref Basketball 7 Thu Oct 25, 2007 06:54am
another study guide question just another ref Basketball 13 Thu Oct 19, 2006 03:24pm
one more from the study guide just another ref Basketball 23 Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1