View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 04:01am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
I made an incorrect BC call off a throw-in earlier this season and didn't realize it was wrong until discussing it with you and another forum contributor offline. I'm totally fine with calling it the correct way, but I still stand by my assertion that, by 4-12-2-d (team control begins when a player has disposal of the ball on a throw-in), 4-12-3 (none of the events that would cause team control to end have occurred), and 9-9-1 (last touched by A in FC, first touched by A in BC, ball has been in TC the whole time by the last two rules), the rules actually imply that a throw-in by A touched by an A player with FC status which is then first touched in the BC by an A player constitutes a violation. This could be a very easy fix if 9-9-1 is amended to read "...after it has been in team and player control in the frontcourt."
No, that wouldn't work because PLAYER control in the frontcourt is not necessary for a backcourt violation.

An example play: A1 is dribbling in the backcourt. He throws a pass to A2 who is standing in Team A's frontcourt. The ball strikes A2 in the shoulder and rebounds into the backcourt where A3 is the first to touch it.
Ruling: Backcourt violation

In fact, Team A doesn't even have to touch the ball in the frontcourt in order to violate. See rule 9-9-2 and swap an official for A2 in the above play for an example.

However, you are correct that the current text of the NFHS rules is flawed with respect to team control on throw-ins and backcourt violations. Unfortunately, it has been that way for a few years now.
Reply With Quote