The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I actually don't even know what that is. seriously

I'm pretty sure it is a term used to complain when a travel is called. You know, like a "crab dribble." (only heard that one the one time)
Our interpreter at last night's board meeting when referring to the Euro Step said basically that there is no such thing.

Unicorns and the Euro Step ... they don't exist.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,037
True/False A defender needs to be stationary ("set") to take a charge.

How about wording it like that?

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Jan 05, 2015 at 08:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 08:17pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
True/False A defender needs to be set to take a charge.
I was already thinking along those lines. Would it be better to use stationary instead of set? Set might mean different things to different people. "No he has to set his feet first to have LGP. After that he can move."


Also, young officials when they first learn the term LGP, think that it is the key to everything.

True or False It is impossible for A1 to commit a player control foul on B1 if B1 does not have legal guarding position.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,037
See my edited post above.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 08:28pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
See my edited post above.
Good. I would like to see more simple, one line questions like this one.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 09:08pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Gonna go with this one, which I've seen done incorrectly 3 or 4 times at the varsity level this year.

A1's errant pass is chased into the backcourt by A2, who recovers it at the free throw line. Ruling: B's ball at the division line.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 01:02am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref3808 View Post
Or the Euro Step?
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I actually don't even know what that is. seriously

I'm pretty sure it is a term used to complain when a travel is called. You know, like a "crab dribble." (only heard that one the one time)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref3808 View Post
Our interpreter at last night's board meeting when referring to the Euro Step said basically that there is no such thing.

Unicorns and the Euro Step ... they don't exist.
The Euro step describes an action where an offensive player dekes left (or right) but then steps the other direction to get around a defender, who may or may not be trying to take a charge. This move is typically done in a 1 on 1 situation to beat a defender and result in a layup or dunk attempt.

It is a thing, and its legality depends (as always) on when the player gathers the ball and establishes his pivot foot. The Euro step is colloquially used by players and coaches alike to describe an illegal action which they saw in an NBA game and assumed was legal at their level as well. Here is an excellent video documenting the Euro step.

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Gonna go with this one, which I've seen done incorrectly 3 or 4 times at the varsity level this year.

A1's errant pass is chased into the backcourt by A2, who recovers it at the free throw line. Ruling: B's ball at the division line.
I don't know about you guys but I prefer True/False questions where the entire question is true or false, not simply part of the question is false. I think that this question might confuse some officials into thinking this is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,037
True/False When resuming play with a throw-in, the rules pertaining to ten seconds in the backcourt, three seconds in the free throw lane, and backcourt violations do not apply until after an inbounds player secures control of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 09:23pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
True/False When resuming play with a throw-in, the rules pertaining to ten seconds in the backcourt, three seconds in the free throw lane, and backcourt violations do not apply until after an inbounds player secures control of the ball.

This is good. I believe this question was on the guide last year with the exception that it said these things didn't apply during the throw-in.
Important to know that this is also true.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 01:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
True/False When resuming play with a throw-in, the rules pertaining to ten seconds in the backcourt, three seconds in the free throw lane, and backcourt violations do not apply until after an inbounds player secures control of the ball.
I made an incorrect BC call off a throw-in earlier this season and didn't realize it was wrong until discussing it with you and another forum contributor offline. I'm totally fine with calling it the correct way, but I still stand by my assertion that, by 4-12-2-d (team control begins when a player has disposal of the ball on a throw-in), 4-12-3 (none of the events that would cause team control to end have occurred), and 9-9-1 (last touched by A in FC, first touched by A in BC, ball has been in TC the whole time by the last two rules), the rules actually imply that a throw-in by A touched by an A player with FC status which is then first touched in the BC by an A player constitutes a violation. This could be a very easy fix if 9-9-1 is amended to read "...after it has been in team and player control in the frontcourt."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
study guide question just another ref Basketball 8 Mon Nov 03, 2008 04:36am
Best Study Guide FTVMartin Football 6 Fri Aug 08, 2008 03:45pm
study guide question just another ref Basketball 7 Thu Oct 25, 2007 06:54am
another study guide question just another ref Basketball 13 Thu Oct 19, 2006 03:24pm
one more from the study guide just another ref Basketball 23 Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1