Correctable Error Question
If the correctable error is the failure to award a merited free throw, does it matter what stops the clock when the officials recognize the error?
A1 is fouled, B's 10th foul. We mistakenly award A1 1 & 1 and he misses the first; B rebounds, comes down the court and is fouled (entitled to shots, but I can't recall if 1 & 1 or shooting). As we report the foul, the table alerts us to the error. We go back to the other end, and A1 shoots his second FT with the lane filled, and play continues.
Rule 2-10-6 reads, "If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the POI to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited FT(s) [as in my game] and there has been no change of possession since the error was made [again, as in my game, per 2.10.1 Situation A], in which case play shall resume as after any FT attempt(s)."
Casebook 2.10.1 Situation A is almost identical, except the error is brought to the officials' attention while B is bringing the ball upcourt. It goes on to say, "Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited FT with players in lane line spaces and play resumes from the FT." This is consistent with Rule 2-10-6.
Is A's foul "additional activity" under 2-10-5, that "shall not be nullified"? If so, what do you do with the FTs that B would normally have shot? If you clear the lane for A's shot, then go back to shoot B's FTs, then you are returning to the POI, despite the exception in 2-10-6. Is there a justification in the rules for differentiating between fouls, violations and nothing, when the clock stops and the error is addressed?
|