The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 225
Do Over or Not to Do Over

I know we have discussed the "do over" on this forum before, but I am having no luck finding it using the search function.

The do over I'm talking about, in particular, is on a throw in and the clock doesn't start. You realize it once ball has been dribbled to 1/2 court. No knowledge of time to take off, where do you inbound the ball?

I believe I'm correct in that the ball is put in play at mid court, which is where it was when play was stopped. Several people suggested that you go back to baseline. I tried to look in case book and rule book. Couldn't find anything. I seem to recall a specific directive in NCAA-W a few years ago that specifically addressed this and that is why we were discussing it on the forum. Any help???

All case plays in this years book do not address (5.10.2 is closest, but there is a count and definite knowledge).

Edited to add: This would be specific to an end of game situation with less than 10 seconds remaining. This was not a play that occured, but came about in our discussion.

Last edited by Texref; Mon Dec 08, 2014 at 06:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Ball is put in play at point of interruption...closest spot to where ball was last touched by a player or where it touched the court when the whistle sounded. It does not go back to the original spot. I do not have the actual citation, but this came up in an association meeting a few years back and that was the interpretation we were given.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 358
Send a message via AIM to Danvrapp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
You realize it once ball has been dribbled to 1/2 court. No knowledge of time to take off, where do you inbound the ball?
You should have your backcourt count going...you could always estimate elapsed time from that.
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danvrapp View Post
You should have your backcourt count going...you could always estimate elapsed time from that.
Less than 10 seconds remain so no count.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 358
Send a message via AIM to Danvrapp
Or, one could argue, this is why you always count, regardless of what's on the clock.
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 08:24pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
Less than 10 seconds remain so no count.
Because a backcourt count can be used as definitive knowledge of elapsed time, I always start one even if there's less than 10 seconds. That way, if I end up counting more time than the time left on the clock, I know something is amiss.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. me
Games officiated: 425 Basketball 73 Softball 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 225
Just for clarification to the original question...

Rule reference as to where to place the ball. This was NOT an actual scenario. The only responses so far have not answered the question.

Thank you BayStateRef for your response. I'm just looking for the rule reference.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
A better question might be, what rule allows you to go back to the original spot? You won't find one. The ball became live, was inbounded, and then the official stops play to correct a timing error. Where is the spot closest to where the ball was when you stopped play? There you go.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
I think you may be looking for 4-36-2a

Officials whistle. Correction was or wasn't made. Need to put the ball back in play. 4-36-2a is your likely choice.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 10:07pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,526
One of the weirdest things for non-officials: sometimes the ball is dead when the clock is running and sometimes the ball is live when the clock isn't running. Go figure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1