The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 06:01pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Legally Touched ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Don't confuse younger officials with old, outdated rules or interpretations. That's the only dynamite I have.
5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

6-3-7-C: Neither jumper shall: Catch the jump ball.

I predicted that the dynamite would go boom. Anybody have any better citations? Anybody have any less "confusing" citations?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

6-3-7-C: Neither jumper shall: Catch the jump ball.

I predicted that the dynamite would go boom. Anybody have any better citations? Anybody have any less "confusing" citations?
I don't really know why you'd need anything else. And you can catch the ball after it's been legally touched -- so having some time run off the clock is possible (and, I'd say, likely).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 27, 2014, 03:04pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
First Touch Violation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jerkins View Post
And you can catch the ball after it's been legally touched -- so having some time run off the clock is possible.
Agree (illegally catching the ball after a legal touch), with no reset of the game clock back to 8:00.

However, if the first touch is an illegal catch, and if the clock did mistakenly run down to 7:59, then the game clock should reset to 8:00. After all, the umpire (or nontossing official) should have never dropped their hand to chop in time, the hand should have remained up due to the first touch (catch) signaling the violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 27, 2014 at 03:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 27, 2014, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Agree (illegally catching the ball after a legal touch), with no reset of the game clock back to 8:00.

However, if the first touch is an illegal catch, and if the clock did mistakenly run down to 7:59, then the game clock should reset to 8:00. After all, the umpire (or nontossing official) should have never dropped their hand to chop in time, the hand should have remained up due to the first touch (catch) signaling the violation.
I don't agree. That touch is legal. The catching happens to violate a jumpball restriction, not a legal means of contacting the ball. The jumper didn't punch the ball. That would be an illegal touch.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 27, 2014, 07:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Boom Goes The Dynamite ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I don't agree. That touch is legal. The catching happens to violate a jumpball restriction, not a legal means of contacting the ball. The jumper didn't punch the ball. That would be an illegal touch.
I respectfully disagree with you. The catching violates the jump ball rules, and is thus, illegal. Plus, a really good nontosser would have never chopped in the clock, so the mistaken timekeeper would have made a timing error, that should be corrected with definite knowledge.

How about touching the ball on the way up? Reset 7:59 to 8:00?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 27, 2014, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
A1 makes a throw-in pass to A2 from a spot on the sideline. The pass is on the outside of the imaginary boundary plane as it travels down the court parallel to the sideline. A2 catches the ball with his feet inbounds, but his arms extended over the out of bounds area.
Do you start the clock or not?

A3's throw-in pass is in the imaginary cylinder above the basket when B2 is the first player to touch it.
Start the clock or not?

Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Nov 27, 2014 at 08:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 28, 2014, 12:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Why The "Or" ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
A1 makes a throw-in pass to A2 from a spot on the sideline. The pass is on the outside of the imaginary boundary plane as it travels down the court parallel to the sideline. A2 catches the ball with his feet inbounds, but his arms extended over the out of bounds area.
Do you start the clock or not?

A3's throw-in pass is in the imaginary cylinder above the basket when B2 is the first player to touch it. Start the clock or not?
Great, thought provoking, questions Nevadaref. Thanks.

My interpretations, based on the rules: Start the clock in both situations.

5-9-4: If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the
ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by
the thrower.

I'm not quite sure why the NFHS states "touches, or is legally touched". To me, this seems like overkill, and it should be just "touches", or just "legally touches", based on the intent (I'm not even going to try to guess intent here) of the NFHS in this timing rule. "Touches" should take care of both legal, and illegal, touches, whereas, "legally touched" just takes care of legal touches. Why does the NFHS offer a choice here with the word "or"? If they wanted both legal, and illegal, touches to start the clock then they should have just gone with just he word "touches". If they wanted only legal touches to start the clock then they should have gone with just "legally touched". Again, why the choice? Why the "or?

That being said, let's go back to jump balls, where the rules specifically state "legally touched", and only "legally touched". To paraphrase my ninth grade Geometry teacher, Mr. Fiore, "if, and only if, legally touched". No if, ands, or buts; ors, nors, or fors.

5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

Your move.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 28, 2014 at 04:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 06:23am
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

6-3-7-C: Neither jumper shall: Catch the jump ball.
Question: A1 and B1 Jumpers..A1 tips the ball and B1 catches ball off A1 tip.

LEGAL?

Last edited by Adam; Tue Jan 27, 2015 at 10:02am. Reason: clean up
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 06:37am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

6-3-7-C: Neither jumper shall: Catch the jump ball.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Question: A1 and B1 Jumpers..A1 tips the ball and B1 catches ball off A1 tip.

LEGAL?
Was the ball initially legally touched? Yes. A1's tip was a legal touch.

Was B1's touch legal? No.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by Adam; Tue Jan 27, 2015 at 10:03am. Reason: clean up
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 08:00am
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post

Was the ball initially legally touched? Yes. A1's tip was a legal touch.

Was B1's touch legal? No.
to be 100% clear..the fact that A1 legally touched the ball first with the tip still does not permit B1 to catch that tip.

This play happened in a game last night and I did not call a violation and Coach was on me..

Last edited by Adam; Tue Jan 27, 2015 at 10:04am. Reason: clean up
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

6-3-7-C: Neither jumper shall: Catch the jump ball.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Question: A1 and B1 Jumpers..A1 tips the ball and B1 catches ball off A1 tip.

LEGAL?
Your question seems to imply that legally touching the jump ball ends the jump ball and the jump ball restrictions.

Does it? Answer that, and you'll have your answer.

Last edited by Adam; Tue Jan 27, 2015 at 10:04am. Reason: clean up
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 11:25am
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Your question seems to imply that legally touching the jump ball ends the jump ball and the jump ball restrictions.

Does it? Answer that, and you'll have your answer.
Bob, PLEASE don't make me do it....I guess I have to...The COACH WAS RIGHT

Learned something new
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 01:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Jump Ball Restrictions End ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Your question seems to imply that legally touching the jump ball ends the jump ball and the jump ball restrictions.
The jump ball and the restrictions in 6-3-7 end when the touched
ball contacts one of the eight nonjumpers, an official, the floor, a basket or
backboard.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump ball or violation? Mark Padgett Basketball 9 Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:13pm
Jump ball violation... jritchie Basketball 2 Tue Nov 09, 2004 01:53am
Jump ball violation Adam Basketball 10 Mon Feb 16, 2004 12:41pm
Jump Ball Violation DrC. Basketball 21 Sun Feb 03, 2002 01:58pm
Jump Ball Violation w_sohl Basketball 2 Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1