The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Uconn v Stanford Women's (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98653-uconn-v-stanford-womens-video.html)

APG Tue Nov 18, 2014 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 943967)

3) If one takes the position that NCAAW R4-S35-A2 means that there cannot ever be a primary defender during a fast break play, then in the play being discussed, no defender would be allowed to defend B-11 once she gains PC of the Ball and has to be allowed to drive to the Basket uncontested, which in nonsense.

MTD, Sr.

That is not what the rule says at all. I'm not really sure how you came to that conclusion.



NCAA-W Case Book (2014-2015)

A.R. 96. Team A is on a 3 on 2 or a 2 on 3 fast break, and any player on Team B takes an initial guarding position (1) within the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, or (2) outside the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent in an attempt to draw a player control/charging foul. A2, who is located outside the lower defensive box, receives a pass before making her move to the basket and crashes into the torso of the Team B player, and the official calls a player control/charging foul.

RULING: (1) The official is incorrect. The Team B player may not establish initial legal guarding position inside the restricted area when guarding a player who has the ball and was located outside the lower defensive box when she started her move to the basket, and the illegal contact by B is a blocking foul. (2) The official is correct. Even though the Team B player is initially a secondary defender, she did not establish initial guarding position inside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, it shall be a player control/charging foul. (Rule 4-30, 4-35.3 and 10-1.13)

This clip is literally this case book play save for it being a 4 v 3 fast break.

RefCT Tue Nov 18, 2014 02:29pm

Adding to the fire
 
The other interesting thing about this play is they had to go to the monitor to figure out who the foul was on. Obviously the RA was not reviewable but they weren't sure of the player.

It seems like both officials had a lapse during the play. They were not sure who was going to come out with it and then they forgot to get the player.

jeremy341a Tue Nov 18, 2014 03:55pm

This just reminded me why I hate the RA.

Maineac Tue Nov 18, 2014 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 943911)
Looked like the C is pointing at something about the time the L makes the punch.

I agree with this. And what I think she's pointing at is the RA, not telling the L to "take it". As if to say to the L "You saw she was over the RA, right?" Then L comes out and bangs a charge. From outside her primary. Like others have said, just a guess on my part.

JetMetFan Tue Nov 18, 2014 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 943967)
1) NCAAW R4-S35-A2 states that in a fast break situation all defenders are initially secondary defenders. That does not mean that all defenders are secondary defenders during the entire fast break play which would be nonsense. At some point during the fast break play there is the possibility that there will be a defender who will become the primary defender against the ball handler. By rule the RA applies to a secondary defender and does not apply to the primary defender.

Mark, they're initially secondary defenders as far as the RA is concerned. Defenders on a fast break can always draw PC fouls as long as they establish LGP outside the RA.

I can't find the interp - which annoys me - but I remember being told they keep secondary defender status until the offense shoots or stops attacking the goal.

johnny d Tue Nov 18, 2014 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 943995)
but I remember being told they keep secondary defender status until the offense shoots or stops attacking the goal.

Not sure if there is a case play for this, but it is part of the definition. Try looking in the rule book instead of the case book.

JetMetFan Tue Nov 18, 2014 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 943997)
Not sure if there is a case play for this, but it is part of the definition. Try looking in the rule book instead of the case book.

Thanks. It's in 10-13. It doesn't specifically discuss fast breaks within the rule and that's where I got stuck in my search.

AremRed Wed Nov 19, 2014 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Maineac (Post 943991)
I agree with this. And what I think she's pointing at is the RA, not telling the L to "take it". As if to say to the L "You saw she was over the RA, right?" Then L comes out and bangs a charge. From outside her primary. Like others have said, just a guess on my part.

When I watch it the C looks very unsure. I think her point could be saying "was she in the RA? I can't tell". Could be wrong though.

Maineac Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 944052)
When I watch it the C looks very unsure. I think her point could be saying "was she in the RA? I can't tell". Could be wrong though.

Yup, she could be doing that too. Just a guess on my part.

SWMOzebra Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:54am

This:

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 943995)
they keep secondary defender status until the offense shoots or stops attacking the goal.

The pass does not negate the fast break.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1