The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 03:10pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Okay, here's the question I missed:

Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court.


true or false
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Okay, here's the question I missed:

Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court.


true or false
Not enough information to answer.

IF the nearest spot to the foul is "opposite the table at mid court" then it's true. IF the nearest spot to the foul is other than that, then it's false.

Or, if you think they are asking about the arrow alone (and ignoring any spot issues), it's true.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not enough information to answer.

IF the nearest spot to the foul is "opposite the table at mid court" then it's true. IF the nearest spot to the foul is other than that, then it's false.
Or, if you think they are asking about the arrow alone (and ignoring any spot issues), it's true.
Poorly worded question. I'll go out on a limb and say maybe they are trying to see if officials know that the throw-in spot for an intentional personal foul isn't automaticlly at the division line opposite the table.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 03:29pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Poorly worded question. I'll go out on a limb and say maybe they are trying to see if officials know that the throw-in spot for an intentional personal foul isn't automaticlly at the division line opposite the table.
Apparently the key to the question was when the arrow is set. I think I've had a variation of this before which stated it was set when the free throw shooter got the ball at his disposal. I take the position that the phrase "at the division line opposite the table" makes the whole thing false. As pointed out above, it shouldn't take a coincidence to make a true statement on a test.

Unfortunately, the "correct" answer was listed as true.

Fortunately, this was the only question I missed, so my rating was not affected. I hope that missing this question didn't affect anyone else's rating.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 03:41pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Apparently the key to the question was when the arrow is set. I think I've had a variation of this before which stated it was set when the free throw shooter got the ball at his disposal....
I took that as the point of the question. If it had been a common foul, the arrow would be set when ball placed at the disposal of the free throw shooter. For an intentional or technical foul (and flagrant?), arrow isn't set until at the disposal of the thrower-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I took that as the point of the question. If it had been a common foul, the arrow would be set when ball placed at the disposal of the free throw shooter. For an intentional or technical foul (and flagrant?), arrow isn't set until at the disposal of the thrower-in.
i agree the questions arent clear often. add things to confuse. reading the question itself, it wants to know when the scorer is to set the arrow. if the referee decides to put the ball in play from the dead corner at the opposite end of the court, completely wrong area, the scorer should still set the arrow...

They add the stuff about mid court etc which just confuses etc. and with them it wouldnt surprise me which answer they said was correct....very frustrating....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 27, 2014, 04:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not enough information to answer.

IF the nearest spot to the foul is "opposite the table at mid court" then it's true. IF the nearest spot to the foul is other than that, then it's false.

Or, if you think they are asking about the arrow alone (and ignoring any spot issues), it's true.
It's false either way. The arrow is set sooner than this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 27, 2014, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Bob is right with the rule. Not sure what you meant by the arrow is set sooner than this. By definition...

4-3
“Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent’s basket when:

ART. 1 . . . A player secures control of the ball, as after the jump ball beginning the game and each extra period.

ART. 2 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a *common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect.

ART. 3 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after:

a. A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control.

b. The free throws for a noncommon foul.

c. A common foul before the bonus free throw is in effect.”

Excerpt From: NFHS & Theresia Wynns. “2014-15 Basketball Rules Book.” NFHS. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Check out this book on the iBooks Store: https://itun.es/us/s1l02.l
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 27, 2014, 05:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Interesting, that's what I get for not double checking the rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Okay, here's the question I missed:

Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court.


true or false
me thinks not enough info to correctly answer
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 27, 2014, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Okay, here's the question I missed:

Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court.


true or false
Was this on Part 2? Cause I didn't see it on part 1.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Past Interpretations Archive (2024-25 Added) Nevadaref Basketball 39 Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:52am
NBA 2014-2015 New Hires justacoach Basketball 3 Tue Aug 19, 2014 05:00pm
2014-2015 NFHS Rule Book avail for Kindle... scrounge Football 0 Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:44am
New NFHS Rules Approved For 2014-2015 Rich Basketball 69 Thu May 08, 2014 11:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1