The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Spot Throw-in or run the endline?

The following was asked by an official, last night, at a training session - HS JV/V games:

Team A is in the bonus, team B is not.
A1 is at the line to shoot a 1 and 1. The first shot is successful, and during attempted rebounding action, a foul is called on A2.
The lane is cleared, and A1 shoots the second freethrow. If it is successful, will the throw-in by team B be a spot throw-in, or may they run the endline?
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Run.

See 7.5.7B (it's kind of the "opposite" play so apply the "opposite" ruling).

See 8.6.3A

Maybe some others
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Run.

See 7.5.7B (it's kind of the "opposite" play so apply the "opposite" ruling).

See 8.6.3A

Maybe some others
It would be an interesting strategy to intentionally miss the last free throw knowing you have the arrow. Especially late in a game where possession was more important than the 1 point.
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 08:28pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by j51969 View Post
It would be an interesting strategy to intentionally miss the last free throw knowing you have the arrow. Especially late in a game where possession was more important than the 1 point.

Another reason to eliminate AP and return to Jump Balls put the ball back into play. Billy, are you reading this, .

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2014, 06:14am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Two Words ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Billy, are you reading this ...
Yes. And, shut up.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2014, 08:24am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Yes. And, shut up.


LOL!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 11:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by j51969 View Post
It would be an interesting strategy to intentionally miss the last free throw knowing you have the arrow. Especially late in a game where possession was more important than the 1 point.
The ball is already in flight for this case play, so that would be kinda hard to do.

But anyway, it is no different than any other time a double foul is called while a field goal is in flight.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2014, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The ball is already in flight for this case play, so that would be kinda hard to do.

But anyway, it is no different than any other time a double foul is called while a field goal is in flight.
Maybe I am not getting the OP. What I was getting at was the foul happened on the front end of a 1-1. This was made and would clear the lane for the second try. Depending on whether it was made or missed would determine the resumption of play. If the offending team knew it had the arrow they could intentionally miss the second try and get the ball back. In a late game situation it could be more profitable to have the ball instead of the 1 point.
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2014, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by j51969 View Post
Maybe I am not getting the OP. What I was getting at was the foul happened on the front end of a 1-1. This was made and would clear the lane for the second try. Depending on whether it was made or missed would determine the resumption of play. If the offending team knew it had the arrow they could intentionally miss the second try and get the ball back. In a late game situation it could be more profitable to have the ball instead of the 1 point.
I think you are misunderstanding the case play (8.6.3A) or the rule.

On a double foul, we go to POI. If the double foul happens before the FT, then the FT is the POI, and play continues with either a rebound (missed FT) or a throw-in by B (made FT). No advantage to missing on purpose.

If it happens after the FT is released, the if the FT is good, B gets the throw-in. We go to the arrow if the FT is missed, because we don't know who would get the rebound. So, for this tactic to work, A1 has to miss the FT AND A2 has to entice B2 into a double foul. The odds of that are small -- the team is better off with the FT (plus the opportunity to rebound if the FT is missed). I suppose if A1 was a 10% FT shooter, and B will get 90% of the rebounds, that it might be the better choice.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2014, 11:00am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by j51969 View Post
Maybe I am not getting the OP. What I was getting at was the foul happened on the front end of a 1-1. This was made and would clear the lane for the second try. Depending on whether it was made or missed would determine the resumption of play. If the offending team knew it had the arrow they could intentionally miss the second try and get the ball back. In a late game situation it could be more profitable to have the ball instead of the 1 point.
B gets the ball either way, whether it's made or not simply determines whether B gets an endline throw in or a spot throw in.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2014, 01:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Run.

See 7.5.7B (it's kind of the "opposite" play so apply the "opposite" ruling).

See 8.6.3A

Maybe some others
Thanks, bob. My response to the official was the same. And I told the several officials present, that I'd check here to be sure.
And thanks for the discussion, to all who responded. The secondary scenario, with Team B being in the bonus, was also discussed, and is simpler to answer.
The pre-season tourney that we use for training is showing some good progress on the part of the newer officials involved, thanks to the involvement of some of our Board members as evaluators. It's always good to give back to an activity that has given us so much enjoyment over the years.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 09:33am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
The following was asked by an official, last night, at a training session - HS JV/V games:

Team A is in the bonus, team B is not.
A1 is at the line to shoot a 1 and 1. The first shot is successful, and during attempted rebounding action, a foul is called on A2.
The lane is cleared, and A1 shoots the second freethrow. If it is successful, will the throw-in by team B be a spot throw-in, or may they run the endline?
My first question would be... is the foul during the successful free throw count? My initial thought is that the foul is ignored, unless it is flagrant. Therefore the rest of the scenario doesn't matter.

However, if the foul is not ignored, and the result carried out as you explain, then I'd say "no, the throw-in is in response to the foul, and therefore it is a spot throw-in."

Last edited by BryanV21; Wed Oct 08, 2014 at 09:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 09:38am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
My first question would be... is the foul during the successful free throw count? My initial thought is that the foul is ignored, unless it is flagrant. Therefore the rest of the scenario doesn't matter.

However, if the foul is not ignored, and the result carried out as you explain, then I'd say "no, the throw-in is in response to the foul, and therefore it is a spot throw-in."
Now that bob has answered the initial question, I have to ask:

Why would it be ignored? Is the ball dead during a free throw?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 09:45am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Now that bob has answered the initial question, I have to ask:

Why would it be ignored? Is the ball dead during a free throw?
No. I guess the old rule on when players can enter the lane has me confused, because up until the change the free throw would have been made before there was even a chance for a foul. This year though, since players can enter upon the release, fouls can certainly happen before the ball goes into the basket.

As you pointed out, the ball is live, so the foul counts.

So what about the 2nd part, then? Is Team B's ability to run the baseline contingent on whether the second free throw is successful? Because if Team B is given the throw-in due to the foul, then that should be a spot throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 09:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If A's FT is successful, B can run the endline (bob provided the references above).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in from endline goes in w/3 seconds. upanddown Basketball 27 Tue Jan 22, 2013 08:59am
Important to tell B that it's a spot or running endline throw-in? HawkeyeCubP Basketball 16 Tue Feb 14, 2012 01:07pm
Throw-ins: Sideline or Endline? actuary77 Basketball 5 Tue Oct 19, 2004 01:09pm
endline throw-in Marty Rogers Basketball 2 Tue Oct 22, 2002 12:15pm
Dribbling ball on endline throw in? twarner Basketball 13 Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1