The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 21, 2002, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 276
After a goal, the thrower-in can run the endline, and/or pass to a teammate also out-of-bounds (release within 5 seconds).
Can he dribble along the endline (I mean with the ball totally out-of-bounds)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 21, 2002, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Dribble and travel rules do not apply during a throw-in.
Yes, what you ask is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 22, 2002, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,132
To expand on Dan's perfectly correct statements...

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Dribble and travel rules do not apply during a throw-in.
Which is to say that the limits defined in the traveling and dribbling rules do not apply during a throwin. A thrower may legally run/move (within the designated spot area if applicable) without dribbling. They may also legally dribble, catch, dribble, catch... They may legally carry the ball while dribbling. It is not possible to have an illegal dribble or traveling violation on a throw-in. As long as the throw-in is released in 5 seconds, there are few limitations.
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref

Yes, what you ask is legal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1