![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Still waiting: 1:56, B1 touches A1 in the backcourt. A1 dribbles in the frontcourt and coaches tells him to hold for last shot. A1 continues to dribble, and Team B pulls back. 0:15 B1 comes out to challenge and touches A1. By rule that's a foul?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Yes, the way the rule is written, that is a foul. Not saying I agree with the logic.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Previous mention by NFHS of multiple touching by defender:
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post550274 2001-2002 Interps Part 2. SITUATION 17: Al is slowly dribbling the ball up the court. Bl is lightly “tagging” Al, but is not impeding Al’s forward motion. The official warns Bl to “keep hands off.” RULING: This is a foul. There is no warning. (10-6-1)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
By the literal wording of the rule, it would be a foul. He then said there was no way he was calling a foul for the second touch that happened in the frontcourt, 10 seconds after the first touch in the backcourt. He also said that if you have a touch and then the ball handler and the defensive player get outside the 6 FT legal guarding requirements and then re-engage and there is a second touch, he didn't think he would call a foul for that second touch. Unless it affected RSBQ. Last edited by OKREF; Thu Oct 23, 2014 at 07:54am. |
|
|||
|
I think to keep trying to make this point that the literal wording of the rule is silly. Either that was the intent of the rule or it was not.
I will give some of you credit, at least you are asking people you work for instead of just taking some interpretation from the NCAA and considering it law. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In this specific context, the game Official needs to consider "time" and "situation". I'm sorry, but I would not call a foul on a second touch that transpired 1:04 after the first 'touch' in this scenario. I admit that I would use common sense, so please crucify my post now
Last edited by Kansas Ref; Wed Oct 22, 2014 at 10:27am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Freedom of movement is a rule given right | ref3808 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Apr 10, 2012 05:43pm |
| Natural movement? 8.01a | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jun 09, 2010 08:25am |
| Movement Policy? | Rags 11 | Baseball | 30 | Thu Apr 16, 2009 06:05pm |
| Purposeful movement | Ch1town | Basketball | 15 | Fri May 02, 2008 01:28am |
| Movement before serve | refnrev | Volleyball | 5 | Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:46am |