The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2014, 07:56am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Let me add another wrinkle that has come my at meetings...

East-West versus North South....

Are you calling it any differently if ball handler is moving east west versus north south?
We had someone from Referee at one of our meetings and let's just say he's very close to the process. He told us:

(1) There's no time element
(2) E-W vs. N-S doesn't matter
(3) There's no difference with respect to a player and where he has the ball. If he has the ball in the post, for example, and there's two touches or a touch with two hands, or an extended forearm -- it is a foul.

I expect there will be further clarification on all this. At least I hope there will be. Still, everything is local. A state's wishes will supersede the NFHS's 100% of the time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2014, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No, distance and location were put in by JMF (post #24) as an example of what the NCAA-W wants called as a foul. And he has made the assumption that the NFHS wants the same interpretation. This is why I asked if anybody had actually posted something from the NFHS. If that's what the NFHS wants, I have no problem with it. But so far, I haven't seen it. And as we can see by this thread, there are at least 3 officials who work NCAA-M's ball who, based on our experiences, do not have the same interpretation as the NCAA-W.
I promised myself I wouldn't make any more posts in this thread but as with Michael Corleone "just when I thought I was out... they pull me back in"

NCAAM's 10.1.4 (at least part of it) is worded differently than NCAAW's so of course we're going to have different viewpoints. However, my view is based on the fact the wording in the NFHS and NCAAW rules regarding the second touch is the same, i.e., it's a foul.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
We had someone from Referee at one of our meetings and let's just say he's very close to the process. He told us:

(1) There's no time element
(2) E-W vs. N-S doesn't matter
(3) There's no difference with respect to a player and where he has the ball. If he has the ball in the post, for example, and there's two touches or a touch with two hands, or an extended forearm -- it is a foul.

I expect there will be further clarification on all this. At least I hope there will be. Still, everything is local. A state's wishes will supersede the NFHS's 100% of the time.
None of this surprises me and thankfully the post element was clarified by Theresia Wynns in the latest Referee. You're right in that states are going to do what they want to do but there are only a certain number of changes states are supposed to be able to adopt and only one of them comes under Rule 10 (10.5.1 - the coaching box). Here's to hoping more clarification is on the way.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2014, 10:47am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
I promised myself I wouldn't make any more posts in this thread but as with Michael Corleone "just when I thought I was out... they pull me back in"

NCAAM's 10.1.4 (at least part of it) is worded differently than NCAAW's so of course we're going to have different viewpoints. However, my view is based on the fact the wording in the NFHS and NCAAW rules regarding the second touch is the same, i.e., it's a foul.





None of this surprises me and thankfully the post element was clarified by Theresia Wynns in the latest Referee. You're right in that states are going to do what they want to do but there are only a certain number of changes states are supposed to be able to adopt and only one of them comes under Rule 10 (10.5.1 - the coaching box). Here's to hoping more clarification is on the way.
The post element was already cleared up. It's the very last case play in the case book.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freedom of movement is a rule given right ref3808 Basketball 11 Tue Apr 10, 2012 05:43pm
Natural movement? 8.01a johnnyg08 Baseball 7 Wed Jun 09, 2010 08:25am
Movement Policy? Rags 11 Baseball 30 Thu Apr 16, 2009 06:05pm
Purposeful movement Ch1town Basketball 15 Fri May 02, 2008 01:28am
Movement before serve refnrev Volleyball 5 Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1