![]() |
Shooting at the wrong basket case plays
I've ran into a couple plays of recent where I want to find definitive answers from the rulebook so I'm hoping fellow officials here can help.
Case 1: Player A grabs a defensive rebound then shoots at his own basket but it's an air ball. He catches the rebound before the ball hitting the floor. Is this a violation or legal since it is still considered a shot attempt. Case 2: Player A shoots at his own basket with Player B fouling him during his shot attempt. The basket is good. Does Player A shoot a free-throw at his opponent's basket? |
I'm assuming you want NFHS citations.
Case 1: You need to look at rule 4-44-2 for the definition of a try. From your question, I think reading this will help answer your question Case 2: Case book play 4.41.2 |
Quote:
It will help you answer both questions. (in the spirit of "teaching to fish") |
and this is not football, the defense does not defend its own basket.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
By definition/rule: In NFHS, NCAA, and NBA/WNBA a player shoots at his/her team's basket; and in FIBA, a player shoots at his/her opponent's basket. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Case 1: Legal. A player can always recover a failed try for goal. Whether or not it touches anything is irrelevant.
Case 2: As others have said, in basketball, the "wrong" basket is the opponent's basket. If you throw the ball at the opponent's basket, it is not a try for goal, and therefore you cannot be fouled in the act of shooting. The ball is dead when the foul occurs, you have a common foul (most likely), and there is no score. If the team of the player that was fouled is in the bonus, go from there. Now, if the teams are shooting at the wrong goal because of the officials' error, we have an entirely different situation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm. |