The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
The issue is if you dribbled before and then picked it up with both hands and then threw the ball to the floor, you would not be allowed to retrieve it b/c it would be a double dribble. If you didn't picked it up with both hands than it is legal play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 10:06am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Going OOBs and returning will have no effect on the legality in this play. All that matters is whether any of the actions constitute an illegal dribble.

Just pretend A1 was standing in the middle of the free throw lane and decided to jump and "save" ball from reaching the 3-point line and rule accordingly.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Going OOBs and returning will have no effect on the legality in this play. All that matters is whether any of the actions constitute an illegal dribble.

Just pretend A1 was standing in the middle of the free throw lane and decided to jump and "save" ball from reaching the 3-point line and rule accordingly.
To me it wasn't so much that he was going out of bounds, it was more of the fact that by saving the ball, i would interpret that as a pass rather than a start of a dribble and that's why i thought it was a travel
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 01:24pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzsa83 View Post
To me it wasn't so much that he was going out of bounds, it was more of the fact that by saving the ball, i would interpret that as a pass rather than a start of a dribble and that's why i thought it was a travel
I understand, but this question gets asked every year, so the quickest way to a proper ruling is to first eliminate any OOB considerations so that only the applicable rules are put in play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Aug 27, 2014 at 02:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzsa83 View Post
i would interpret that as a pass rather than a start of a dribble
Until the ball is touched by someone (in this and similar situations), it can be either a pass or a dribble. So, your initial premise that "it's a travel to recover (an attempted) pass" is incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Until the ball is touched by someone (in this and similar situations), it can be either a pass or a dribble. So, your initial premise that "it's a travel to recover (an attempted) pass" is incorrect.
My premise that "it's a travel to recover an attempted pass" was not incorrect - because that is in fact a travel!

Where I got it wrong was thinking that an act of saving the ball from going out of bounds is exclusively deemed a pass, when in fact the case book says that it can also be deemed to be a start of a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 03:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzsa83 View Post
My premise that "it's a travel to recover an attempted pass" was not incorrect - because that is in fact a travel!

Where I got it wrong was thinking that an act of saving the ball from going out of bounds is exclusively deemed a pass, when in fact the case book says that it can also be deemed to be a start of a dribble.
We're telling you that it is an incorrect premise. If you have a rule book, you'll search forever to find that rule because it's not there. If you don't have one, you'll search slightly longer since we'll have to add the time it takes you to get one.

Let me ask.

A1 catches a pass from a teammate (let's call him A2). He then throws the ball towards another teammate (A3) in an attempt to pass the ball. A3 doesn't see it coming, so A1 runs over and retrieves the ball after it bounces before it goes out of bounds.

You think this is a travel?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
We're telling you that it is an incorrect premise. If you have a rule book, you'll search forever to find that rule because it's not there. If you don't have one, you'll search slightly longer since we'll have to add the time it takes you to get one.

Let me ask.

A1 catches a pass from a teammate (let's call him A2). He then throws the ball towards another teammate (A3) in an attempt to pass the ball. A3 doesn't see it coming, so A1 runs over and retrieves the ball after it bounces before it goes out of bounds.

You think this is a travel?
Hahah with the way you formulate the quesiton, i can guess what the answer will be :$.. after 20 plus years of playing basketball which included high school varsity, I honest to God had no idea this was NOT a travel. In fact, I thought it was one of the basic rules of basketball that you could not be the first to touch your own pass!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzsa83 View Post
My premise that "it's a travel to recover an attempted pass" was not incorrect - because that is in fact a travel!
Play: A1 is holding the ball, and has not dribbled. A1 attempts to pass the ball to A2 (and A1 does not lift the pivot foot in the process). A2 is not expecting the pass and cuts away from the pass. A2 runs and recovers the ball after it has bounced.

Ruling: I think you are claiming this would be a violation. It is legal. A1 has now dribbled the ball, and a subsequent dribble would be illegal.

If A1 had already dribbled, the play would be illegal. If A1 lifted the pivot foot prior to releasing the ball, it would be travelling. If A1 moved the pivot foot and caught the ball prior to the ball touching the floor, it would be a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Play: A1 is holding the ball, and has not dribbled. A1 attempts to pass the ball to A2 (and A1 does not lift the pivot foot in the process). A2 is not expecting the pass and cuts away from the pass. A2 runs and recovers the ball after it has bounced.

Ruling: I think you are claiming this would be a violation. It is legal. A1 has now dribbled the ball, and a subsequent dribble would be illegal.

If A1 had already dribbled, the play would be illegal. If A1 lifted the pivot foot prior to releasing the ball, it would be travelling. If A1 moved the pivot foot and caught the ball prior to the ball touching the floor, it would be a violation.
I would like to order a copy of "Rules of Basketball Explained by Bob."
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Play: A1 is holding the ball, and has not dribbled. A1 attempts to pass the ball to A2 (and A1 does not lift the pivot foot in the process). A2 is not expecting the pass and cuts away from the pass. A2 runs and recovers the ball after it has bounced.

Ruling: I think you are claiming this would be a violation. It is legal. A1 has now dribbled the ball, and a subsequent dribble would be illegal.
A1 could also hustle over there and just keep dribbling the dribble he started.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 03:56pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzsa83 View Post
My premise that "it's a travel to recover an attempted pass" was not incorrect - because that is in fact a travel!

.
Assuming you're strictly speaking NFHS/NCAA rules, by very definition of a pass as spelled out in rule 4, it's impossible to pass the ball to oneself.

The NBA handles this play differently, depending on the actions of the player saving the ball, which is probably where confusion comes from.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 01:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzsa83 View Post
My premise that "it's a travel to recover an attempted pass" was not incorrect - because that is in fact a travel!

Where I got it wrong was thinking that an act of saving the ball from going out of bounds is exclusively deemed a pass, when in fact the case book says that it can also be deemed to be a start of a dribble.
Why would you think that it is exlusively deemed a pass. A player that receives pass can be the one that is saving the ball going OOB or as said start of a dribble.
On this clip https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dmeGerX7-eY
from 2:48 - 2:53 you can see how player caches the ball, goes OOB w/o the ball and then comes and picks the ball first. And the referee didn't call anything.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2014, 06:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,280
There are only two plays where it is illegal to touch the ball again after moving and is considered travelling
4.44.3 SITUATION D:

(a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it.

RULING: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)

4.44.5 SITUATION B:

A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without *violating?

RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is *traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)

Last edited by SNIPERBBB; Fri Aug 29, 2014 at 07:04am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzsa83 View Post
To me it wasn't so much that he was going out of bounds, it was more of the fact that by saving the ball, i would interpret that as a pass rather than a start of a dribble and that's why i thought it was a travel
Would you "interpret it" as a pass if said player tipped a rebound similarly (and no OOB line was in question) and then recovered the tipped bouncing ball?

Same here. Not illegal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
preventing the opponent from saving the ball? ysong Basketball 37 Mon Apr 06, 2009 01:30pm
saving the ball by throwing it at the ref mutantducky Basketball 38 Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:45am
saving the ball from out of bounds kevjiang Basketball 8 Fri Apr 08, 2005 01:05pm
saving ball from going out frank andrews Basketball 2 Tue Feb 01, 2005 01:21pm
saving ball to self caref Basketball 14 Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1