![]() |
|
|||
Act of Shooting Sitch
Please verify the legitimacy of the answer given for this situation, with special attention on the wording found in the answer:
PLAY: A1 drives the lane and starts to shoot by bringing the ball up in his hands, waist high. B1 hits A1's wrist, the ball becomes loose and continues waist high for approximately two feet straight ahead. B2 hits the ball and it goes up and into the basket. Does the goal count. RULING: Since A1's attempt never got above the player's waist the try would not count. The try ends when it is certain it will be unsuccessful. A1 was fouled in the act of shooting and should be awareded two free throws as a result of the foul by B1 (NFHS 4-41-1,2,3,4). Does something about this "ruling" sound as foreign to you as it does to me?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
WF v. UNC last second sitch | theboys | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 14, 2009 08:46am |
Help with a Sitch.. | jmaellis | Softball | 15 | Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:53pm |
Sitch | whiskers_ump | Softball | 15 | Sun Mar 19, 2006 09:37pm |
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? | brightstripes54 | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm |
Out of box - sitch | mick | Basketball | 5 | Wed Sep 04, 2002 02:04pm |