View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2014, 11:17am
Freddy Freddy is offline
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Act of Shooting Sitch

Please verify the legitimacy of the answer given for this situation, with special attention on the wording found in the answer:

PLAY: A1 drives the lane and starts to shoot by bringing the ball up in his hands, waist high. B1 hits A1's wrist, the ball becomes loose and continues waist high for approximately two feet straight ahead. B2 hits the ball and it goes up and into the basket. Does the goal count.

RULING: Since A1's attempt never got above the player's waist the try would not count. The try ends when it is certain it will be unsuccessful. A1 was fouled in the act of shooting and should be awareded two free throws as a result of the foul by B1 (NFHS 4-41-1,2,3,4).

Does something about this "ruling" sound as foreign to you as it does to me?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote