![]() |
|
|
|||
When Does The Violation Occur ???
Quote:
4-15-3: The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing, or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
It's the same old crap that gets brought up everytime we have this discussion. If NFHS clarified it, you'd be the firsts to know.
Until then, just officiate. It's never been an issue -- and if you happen to call it too soon, just decalre an inadvertant whistle. |
|
|||
Illegal Dribble ...
Add a few tenths of a second if the official wants to wait until the ball is touched after it bounces off the floor before he calls the illegal dribble violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Real Game Versus Test Question ...
I'm waiting until the ball is touched again to call an illegal dribble violation. As bob jenkins pointed out, this is a "gray area" in the NFHS rules, and I may be wrong on a written test question regarding this situation.
Sometimes (often) you have to officiate the game. Sometimes (seldom) you have to take a written test. In theory they should have the same answer, but sometimes theory and reality don't agree.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Sometimes people want to complicate matters more than is necessary.
The test doesn't make that distinction. It assumes that the official has judged the subsequent act a dribble and wants us now to judge its legality.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Aug 14, 2014 at 08:10am. |
|
|||
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are different.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double Dribble/Control Question | Spence | Basketball | 2 | Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:48pm |
Double dribble question | dhanders | Basketball | 6 | Wed Oct 24, 2007 09:12am |
Question about double dribble | NIghtflre | Basketball | 5 | Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:30pm |
Double dribble | phansen | Basketball | 5 | Wed Jan 31, 2007 05:36pm |
Double Dribble question | lukealex | Basketball | 2 | Thu Sep 08, 2005 09:25am |