![]() |
|
|
|||
Player goes out of bound & touches the ball
I would like to know is it considered out of bound or illegal for the following scenarios:
1.B1 goes out of bound legally (diving for ball), A1 gets the ball & attempts a shot, B1 jumps from out of bound towards A1 to contest the shot & touches the ball, would it be considered out of bound A teams ball if: 1a.B1 touches the ball A1 is in possession of. 1b.B1 touches the ball after A1 released the ball (block shot) & shot misses. 1c.B1 touches the ball after A1 release & ball goes in the basket. 2.Is there a difference between NBA & NFHS rule regarding players going out of bound saving a ball & reenters the court with both feet in bound allowed to be the 1st player to touch the ball? If the player is allowed to do so: 2a.Does it matter if the player jumps out of bound grab the ball & throws it back inbound before player lands out of bound comes back & be the 1st one to touch the ball (would the save be counted as a pass which he cannot be the 1st to touch?). 2b.Was dribbling near the line lost his balance, pushes the ball inbound before player goes out of bound (not ending his dribble), gets both feet back in bound & continues to dribble. Last edited by potato; Fri Jun 06, 2014 at 09:06am. |
|
|||
#1) Assuming you mean B1 touches the ball without ever coming back inbounds, it would be an immediate OOB violation when B1 touches the ball in all of those scenarios.
#2) There is no requirement to have both feet inbounds by the NFHS, so I'm not sure what you are asking. 2a) OOB has nothing to do with this play, only whether or not we have an illegal dribble depending on factors that are unknown in your scenario. 2b) Legal
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jun 06, 2014 at 09:24am. |
|
|||
Even in 1c. after the made basket?!
|
|
|||
Why would that make a difference? Once he touches the ball, it's dead b/c of the OOB violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
what he said. it's an OOB violation when the ball is touched.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
1d) A1's attempt goes in. B1 jumps from out of bounds and grabs the ball as it comes through the basket. |
|
|||
Play on. Player just grabbed a dead ball and will proceed with the throw-in.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I think you are thinking of the exception for a foul not making the ball dead when it's during a try. There's no exception for an OOB violation (there is for a "swinging elbows" violation).
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
It's an interrupted dribble. No player control, player can go out of bounds by accident and come back in as long as he's not gaining an advantage (going around a screen, etc.). He can also continue his dribble, provided he establishes location in-bounds.
|
|
|||
If you consider it an interrupted dribble. But he specifically said "not ending his dribble" in the original scenario.
|
|
|||
Quote:
An interrupted dribble hasn't ended. Allowing the ball to come to rest in one hand, touching it simultaneously with two hands, or losing control because of a touch by an opposing player all end a dribble. The author wrote what he did to distinguish between the player ending his dribble and then releasing ball into the court before falling out and the player simply pushing or batting the ball with one hand then stepping out. Whether there is player control or not is a judgment call. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the NBA, if a player saving the ball bats the ball, he may return (meaning only one foot back in and nothing OOB) and be the first person to touch the ball. If he throws the ball (meaning he gains possession), he may NOT be the first person to touch the ball after returning OOB.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Out Of Bounds ...
Quote:
NFHS 9-3 Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds It doesn't sound like this (original post) is an interrupted dribble: Quote:
off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. This tells me that it was not an interrupted dribble: The ball obviously didn't deflect off the dribbler, and it sounds like it did not momentarily gets away from the dribbler. Thank God for NFHS 9-3-Note in this day in age when everyone is videotaping everything. "But he wasn't touching the ball when his foot touched the boundary."
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jun 07, 2014 at 01:10pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Player touches ball to floor while ball is in both hands | mwave | Basketball | 6 | Fri Dec 14, 2012 06:28am |
ball touches clothing | bbcowboy | Basketball | 1 | Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:56pm |
Ball touches referee | RefLarry | Basketball | 9 | Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:11am |
Ball touches official | som44 | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 02, 2004 03:44am |
Player touches out of bounds | William C | Football | 16 | Tue Oct 26, 2004 03:45pm |