![]() |
Quote:
A play took place which results in a new throw-in from a different location on the court. Doesn't that action need to be timed as part of the game (absent a rule such as the NCAA has)? That is the logic being my thinking. |
Quote:
A foul or other non-throwin violation could occur somewhere else on the court before the clock starts. Such an occurrence could result in a throw-in at a different spot all without the clock starting. I think that the clock starting is acceptable. I also think that the clock not starting is also acceptable. I'm not going to make any correction regardless of which of the two occurs short of the clock running and continuing to run too long. |
Quote:
If the touch is a violation, the ball is dead. The clock does not start when the ball is dead. period |
People should also consider the history of this NFHS rule.
I don't have time at the moment to post the documentation, so I'll edit this post later and do so. The word legally was added to account for a rule change involving the kicking of the ball by a defender during an AP throw-in. Prior to that the clock started on any touch by a player from a throw-in pass. Now we must understand the wording to have only altered the timing rule for contact by a kick (or fist). Why? Because that is what the NFHS said when making the change. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
I honestly think that if this question was presented to the NFHS powers that be, they would issue an interpretation saying that no time should come off the clock. It doesn't make logistical nor common sense for any time to run off the clock when a violation occurs simultaneously with the first touch.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
For decades the correct procedure has been to chop the clock. The default should be to chop. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
The official covering the line in question can also be the official administering the throw-in, they are not mutually exclusive. And if I'm covering the line, I'm going to know if the player is standing OOB. |
Seems to me that it's a given that 0.0000 seconds elapsed between the instant the clock should start and the instant the clock should stop, and we, the officials, have positive knowledge of that. No time should run off in this case.
|
The wild card in all this (I believe this was touched on above) is the timer. In high school games I believe it is much too common that the timer does not look for a signal from the official to start the clock at all. I'm sure this would be even more likely to be the case if the throw-in is a long pass involving another line and a second official.
|
Quote:
As for illegally touched, I don't think it is illegally touched. It is legally touched in an illegal location. And that is the difference. The NFHS has previously distinguished between the two in a few ways. For example, a kick is considered a violation before the throwin ends. An OOB violation is treated as if it occurs after the throwin ends. This is demonstrated in how the arrow is treated on a throwin. If the violation is a kick (illegal contact) the arrow is not switched. If the violation is an OOB (legal contact, illegal location) the arrow is switched. Likewise with the right to run the endline when there is a violation on a throw-in. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33am. |