The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Start the clock.... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97910-start-clock.html)

Sharpshooternes Thu May 15, 2014 08:36pm

Start the clock....
 
If the first touch on a throw in is an illegal touch (ie kick, two hand grab on a jump, etc) does the clock start?

AremRed Thu May 15, 2014 08:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 934192)
If the first touch on a throw in is an illegal touch (ie kick, two hand grab on a jump, etc) does the clock start?

There shouldn't be, but you might depending on how fast/how antsy the clock operator is.

And no, there is no mandatory run-off. I know you didn't ask, just trying to promote awareness. I had an R this year take off .3 after a quick touch and deflection OOB when the clock had not started. This was right after I (C tableside) told the coach who wanted time to come off that unless we have definite knowledge (like a count or looking at the clock when it should have stopped) then we cannot add/take off time. Yeah, that was a fun game.

JetMetFan Thu May 15, 2014 09:10pm

According to that rule book thing...
 
NFHS 5-9

2. If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.
3. If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.
4. If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.

===================

NCAA 5-10-2

The game clock shall be started when:
a. An inbounds player legally touches the ball on a throw-in;
b. A tossed ball on a jump ball is legally touched; or
c. The ball legally touches a player on the playing court when a free throw is not successful and is to remain live.

Sharpshooternes Fri May 16, 2014 03:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 934196)
There shouldn't be, but you might depending on how fast/how antsy the clock operator is.

And no, there is no mandatory run-off. I know you didn't ask, just trying to promote awareness. I had an R this year take off .3 after a quick touch and deflection OOB when the clock had not started. This was right after I (C tableside) told the coach who wanted time to come off that unless we have definite knowledge (like a count or looking at the clock when it should have stopped) then we cannot add/take off time. Yeah, that was a fun game.

Second part of the question, if time did come off the clock would you correct it. Does it make a difference to you whether it is the jump ball to start the game or the final minutes of the game?

Nevadaref Fri May 16, 2014 04:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 934192)
If the first touch on a throw in is an illegal touch (ie kick, two hand grab on a jump, etc) does the clock start?

Your examples don't mesh.
A kicked ball or one punched with a closed fist is an illegal first touch because that is not a legal manner in which to contact the ball. Therefore, no time comes off the clock and if any does it should be restored.
However, catching a jump ball is not an illegal touch, it is simply a jump ball violation. The same as stepping out of bounds with the ball is a violation. This action should be timed and whatever comes off the clock prior to the whistle sounding for the violation should not be restored.

BillyMac Fri May 16, 2014 06:15am

Illegal Touch ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934214)
Catching a jump ball is not an illegal touch, it is simply a jump ball violation.

Are you sure? How about touching the jump ball while it's on its way up?

JetMetFan Fri May 16, 2014 06:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934214)
However, catching a jump ball is not an illegal touch, it is simply a jump ball violation. The same as stepping out of bounds with the ball is a violation. This action should be timed and whatever comes off the clock prior to the whistle sounding for the violation should not be restored.

Case play, please?

Being called for a kick-ball on a throw-in is as much a violation as catching a jump ball or catching a throw-in pass while OOB. None of them is a legal touch of the ball. If any of them was they wouldn't be listed as violations.

bob jenkins Fri May 16, 2014 07:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 934218)
Case play, please?

Being called for a kick-ball on a throw-in is as much a violation as catching a jump ball or catching a throw-in pass while OOB. None of them is a legal touch of the ball. If any of them was they wouldn't be listed as violations.

If the ball is tapped (with one hand) and then caught -- the clock runs.

If the ball is just caught with both hands (cleanly), then I would not run it.

I've never seen the latter.

Raymond Fri May 16, 2014 07:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 934220)
If the ball is tapped (with one hand) and then caught -- the clock runs.

....

The first touch would be legal and therefore not apply to the question at hand. Catching the ball with 2 hands would fall in the this category.

JetMetFan Fri May 16, 2014 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 934220)
If the ball is tapped (with one hand) and then caught -- the clock runs.

If the ball is just caught with both hands (cleanly), then I would not run it.

I've never seen the latter.

You need to get around more :D I know I've had it a few times over the years.

And BNR is correct..

JRutledge Fri May 16, 2014 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 934229)
You need to get around more :D I know I've had it a few times over the years.

And BNR is correct..

I guess I have to get around more too. I have never seen a player catch the ball before the jump ball was tipped. ;)

Peace

bob jenkins Fri May 16, 2014 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 934222)
The first touch would be legal and therefore not apply to the question at hand. Catching the ball with 2 hands would fall in the this category.

Agreed -- just was trying to be sure we were all discussing the same play (esp. since I've never seen anyone even go for the "initial" touch with two hands)

JetMetFan Fri May 16, 2014 02:11pm

It happened once in a varsity game but I had it a few times in MS games (rec or otherwise), too. The scenario was always both jumpers missed the tap and before the ball hit the floor - obviously - one of the jumpers panicked and caught the ball. Then there would be that pregnant pause of "What the heck do we do now?" before the jumper dropped the ball as though it was a hand grenade.

Nevadaref Fri May 16, 2014 04:53pm

There were a few case plays/interps issued when the AP arrow rule was altered so that a team retained the arrow if the opponent kicked the ball on the initial touch of the throw-in pass.

One of the plays dealt with a player catching/touching the throw-in pass while standing on a boundary line. It said the touching was legal and the arrow switched, but it was an OOB violation and the opponent's ball at that new location.

From the above play, one can deduce that the NFHS ruling is that touching the ball with the hands (not a closed fist) is a legal action in itself. There may be other restrictions such as OOB, jump ball parameters, BI/GT, etc. which cause the touch to be a violation, but that doesn't mean that the touch isn't proper.

It may be parsing in a legal or exercise in mental logic, but that's the rationale for why such a touch would be timed.

just another ref Fri May 16, 2014 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934270)
There were a few case plays/interps issued when the AP arrow rule was altered so that a team retained the arrow if the opponent kicked the ball on the initial touch of the throw-in pass.

One of the plays dealt with a player catching/touching the throw-in pass while standing on a boundary line. It said the touching was legal and the arrow switched, but it was an OOB violation and the opponent's ball at that new location.

From the above play, one can deduce that the NFHS ruling is that touching the ball with the hands (not a closed fist) is a legal action in itself. There may be other restrictions such as OOB, jump ball parameters, BI/GT, etc. which cause the touch to be a violation, but that doesn't mean that the touch isn't proper.

It may be parsing in a legal or exercise in mental logic, but that's the rationale for why such a touch would be timed.

What do you mean the "touch would be timed"?

If the touch is a violation, the clock, if running, stops. If it isn't running, it doesn't start.

I seem to remember a spirited discussion with Jurassic Referee about this years ago.

Nevadaref Fri May 16, 2014 06:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 934271)
What do you mean the "touch would be timed"?

If the touch is a violation, the clock, if running, stops. If it isn't running, it doesn't start.

I seem to remember a spirited discussion with Jurassic Referee about this years ago.

I disagree with your statement here.
The rules state that the clock starts on the touch and stops when the violation is whistled. For a kick the NFHS issued a specific statement to not start the clock.

just another ref Fri May 16, 2014 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934273)
I disagree with your statement here.
The rules state that the clock starts on the touch and stops when the violation is whistled. For a kick the NFHS issued a specific statement to not start the clock.

5-8-1: .......the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official signals a violation.

This tells me that if it is not running there's nothing to do.

Are you saying that if the throw-in pass is caught by a player standing on the sideline you will chop the clock in and then signal the violation?

Camron Rust Fri May 16, 2014 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 934275)
5-8-1: .......the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official signals a violation.

This tells me that if it is not running there's nothing to do.

Are you saying that if the throw-in pass is caught by a player standing on the sideline you will chop the clock in and then signal the violation?

The "you" here might be two different officials. The administering official may not be in any position to observed the OOB situation. Thus, time will be started by the administering official and will be stopped by the covering official.

If it is one official (me), I'm not going to start then stop the clock.

Nevadaref Fri May 16, 2014 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 934275)
Are you saying that if the throw-in pass is caught by a player standing on the sideline you will chop the clock in and then signal the violation?

Yes.

just another ref Fri May 16, 2014 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934282)
Yes.

Any way you slice it, you are starting the clock at a time when it should be stopping. I see no way to justify this.

JetMetFan Fri May 16, 2014 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 934275)
Are you saying that if the throw-in pass is caught by a player standing on the sideline you will chop the clock in and then signal the violation?

On this play I know the answer for NCAAW would be no.

A group of officials and I discussed this scenario after a scrimmage a few years ago. We were split so I e-mailed Debbie Williamson. I e-mailed her again in Feb. of 2012 since I'd forgotten the interpretation:

Quote:

From me: Good afternoon Ms. Williamson -

I hate asking you about a situation I know you answered for me a few years ago but I can't find your previous response in my old e-mail, so...

Situation: A1 makes a throw-in pass from the end line. A2 catches the pass with one foot on one of the sidelines.

Question 1: Is the ensuing throw-in by Team B at the end line due to the throw-in provisions having been violated or is it at the spot where A2 caught the ball due to the out-of-bounds provisions having been violated?

Question 2: Does any time run off the clock?

If memory serves me correctly you told me previously that the ensuing throw-in will be at the spot where A2 caught the ball and no time will run off the clock. I just wanted to make sure since the question came up again.
Quote:

From Debbie Williamson: You have remembered correctly. That is still the interpretation at this time
Nothing has come out in the past two years indicating the interpretation has changed.

AremRed Fri May 16, 2014 11:38pm

I think we should use some common sense here. If the clock has not started and the first touch results in a violation, I don't think the clock should have run. It's kinda like that "legal touch" language that ends a throw-ins.

Unless it's the end of the game and getting the time correct is paramount, I will probably ignore trifling timing errors.

Regarding the other issue, if a player catches the ball with a foot on the sideline, is that really a legal touch? Wouldn't the ball come back to the original throw-in spot just like if the ball never touched anyone inbounds before going out?

bob jenkins Sat May 17, 2014 08:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 934289)
Regarding the other issue, if a player catches the ball with a foot on the sideline, is that really a legal touch? Wouldn't the ball come back to the original throw-in spot just like if the ball never touched anyone inbounds before going out?

It's an OOB violation, not a throw-in violation, so the next spot is where the ball was touched.

BillyMac Sat May 17, 2014 08:50am

Misty Watercolor Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 934292)
It's an OOB violation, not a throw-in violation, so the next spot is where the ball was touched.

Taking a walk down Memory Lane, this used to be a throwin violation. If inbounder A1's throwin first touched B1, who was out of bounds, possession went to Team B at the spot of the original throwin. You heard right. Team B's possession.

This odd ruling was changed about thirty years ago. It might still confuse some more experienced (how's that for a euphemism) officials.

Rich1 Sat May 17, 2014 12:38pm

If a player'slocation is determined by where he last touched the floor and if that location was OOB, then why would we not have a throw in from the same spot of the last throw in? I am thinking that this would be the same as a ball that was thrown down court and not touched before going out of bounds. In that case we come back to the original thrw in spot so it makes sense to me that we should do the same if the first plkayer to touch it is standing OOB. But, I am open to other opinions since all I am going on is my own "common sense".

Adam Sat May 17, 2014 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 934301)
If a player'slocation is determined by where he last touched the floor and if that location was OOB, then why would we not have a throw in from the same spot of the last throw in? I am thinking that this would be the same as a ball that was thrown down court and not touched before going out of bounds. In that case we come back to the original thrw in spot so it makes sense to me that we should do the same if the first plkayer to touch it is standing OOB. But, I am open to other opinions since all I am going on is my own "common sense".

This is the problem with using common sense when there are rules to use instead (not a knock on you Rich, lots of us try to do it).

In the rule book, throw in violations are separate from OOB violations, and the spot of the throw in is different for each.

A throw in violation occurs if the thrower fails to throw the ball so that it touches a player before going out of bounds. If another player catches the ball, but is standing out of bounds, the thrower has done his job. It is not, therefore, a throw in violation.

The player who catches the ball, however, has committed an OOB violation, so the throw in spot is determined accordingly.

Rich1 Sat May 17, 2014 05:17pm

Adam, looking at it that way makes it easier to understand. Since a different player caused to be an OOB violation then we would use that spot. Thanks.

Nevadaref Mon May 19, 2014 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 934308)
Adam, looking at it that way makes it easier to understand. Since a different player caused to be an OOB violation then we would use that spot. Thanks.

And that is also why this action is timed!

Nevadaref Mon May 19, 2014 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 934287)
On this play I know the answer for NCAAW would be no.

As posted above in this thread, the text of the NCAA rule is different from that of the NFHS. The NCAA specifies that the touch must be by an "inbounds player" while the NFHS does not have such a requirement.

Adam Mon May 19, 2014 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934411)
And that is also why this action is timed!

Whether the action should be timed is certainly up for debate, but I fail to see how your reasoning here applies.

For me, if the same action that should cause the clock to start (ball being touched by player) also causes the clock to stop, then it's valid that no time should elapse and I tend to rule accordingly if I'm the official responsible for both.

I wouldn't make a correction either way, however, during a game.

Nevadaref Mon May 19, 2014 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 934414)
Whether the action should be timed is certainly up for debate, but I fail to see how your reasoning here applies.

Because the throw-in location is now possibly a great distance away from where it was before and the action was not a throw-in violation. How do you account for that without any time coming off the clock?
A play took place which results in a new throw-in from a different location on the court. Doesn't that action need to be timed as part of the game (absent a rule such as the NCAA has)?
That is the logic being my thinking.

Camron Rust Mon May 19, 2014 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934415)
Because the throw-in location is now possibly a great distance away from where it was before and the action was not a throw-in violation. How do you account for that without any time coming off the clock?
A play took place which results in a new throw-in from a different location on the court. Doesn't that action need to be timed as part of the game (absent a rule such as the NCAA has)?
That is the logic being my thinking.

I don't see how the two are related....the location of the new throwin and the clock.

A foul or other non-throwin violation could occur somewhere else on the court before the clock starts. Such an occurrence could result in a throw-in at a different spot all without the clock starting.

I think that the clock starting is acceptable. I also think that the clock not starting is also acceptable. I'm not going to make any correction regardless of which of the two occurs short of the clock running and continuing to run too long.

just another ref Mon May 19, 2014 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934415)
Because the throw-in location is now possibly a great distance away from where it was before and the action was not a throw-in violation. How do you account for that without any time coming off the clock?


If the touch is a violation, the ball is dead. The clock does not start when the ball is dead.


period

Nevadaref Mon May 19, 2014 06:28pm

People should also consider the history of this NFHS rule.
I don't have time at the moment to post the documentation, so I'll edit this post later and do so.
The word legally was added to account for a rule change involving the kicking of the ball by a defender during an AP throw-in. Prior to that the clock started on any touch by a player from a throw-in pass. Now we must understand the wording to have only altered the timing rule for contact by a kick (or fist). Why? Because that is what the NFHS said when making the change.

AremRed Mon May 19, 2014 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934415)
Because the throw-in location is now possibly a great distance away from where it was before and the action was not a throw-in violation. How do you account for that without any time coming off the clock?
A play took place which results in a new throw-in from a different location on the court. Doesn't that action need to be timed as part of the game (absent a rule such as the NCAA has)?
That is the logic being my thinking.

Is your Enter key broken? I agree with your reasoning on the OOB violation location vs. throw-in violation location. I don't think the clock can run if the first touch is a violation. I think that's common sense, and even old interpretations or the "history" you talk about shouldn't apply now. There are some rules where the history matters but I don't think this is one of them.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 934414)
I wouldn't make a correction either way, however, during a game.

I think I would in a late game situation where the timer erroneously runs the clock. Could be important with only a few seconds left.

APG Mon May 19, 2014 08:55pm

I honestly think that if this question was presented to the NFHS powers that be, they would issue an interpretation saying that no time should come off the clock. It doesn't make logistical nor common sense for any time to run off the clock when a violation occurs simultaneously with the first touch.

Raymond Mon May 19, 2014 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 934425)
I honestly think that if this question was presented to the NFHS powers that be, they would issue an interpretation saying that no time should come off the clock. It doesn't make logistical nor common sense for any time to run off the clock when a violation occurs simultaneously with the first touch.

In theory, yes, no time should come off the clock b/c no official should be chopping the clock in. In practice, officials are going to incorrectly chop the clock and timers are going to incorrectly start the clock.

AremRed Mon May 19, 2014 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 934425)
I honestly think that if this question was presented to the NFHS powers that be, they would issue an interpretation saying that no time should come off the clock. It doesn't make logistical nor common sense for any time to run off the clock when a violation occurs simultaneously with the first touch.

We should get JAR on that immediately. Or just check what the NCAA-W's interpretation is and go with that... Get it??

Nevadaref Tue May 20, 2014 02:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 934428)
In theory, yes, no time should come off the clock b/c no official should be chopping the clock in. In practice, officials are going to incorrectly chop the clock and timers are going to incorrectly start the clock.

Why is your default that the officials are incorrectly chopping the clock?
For decades the correct procedure has been to chop the clock. The default should be to chop.

Camron Rust Tue May 20, 2014 03:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 934428)
In theory, yes, no time should come off the clock b/c no official should be chopping the clock in. In practice, officials are going to incorrectly chop the clock and timers are going to incorrectly start the clock.

How is the official administering the throwin and chopping time supposed to know whether a player, on the other side of the court, is or is not OOB? The administering official is supposed to chop time in when the ball is touched. The official covering the line is to signal the OOB violation. There very likely will be a slight delay in the whistle. So, the timer starts the clock on the chop and stops it on the whistle. There really is no error there short of an explicit rule or case indicating that this is an error.

JetMetFan Tue May 20, 2014 05:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934412)
As posted above in this thread, the text of the NCAA rule is different from that of the NFHS. The NCAA specifies that the touch must be by an "inbounds player" while the NFHS does not have such a requirement.

I'll go back to the "legally touched" part of the NFHS rule as to why the clock shouldn't start. If a player touches the ball while standing on a sideline or endline it's a violation, which is not a legal touch of the ball.

Raymond Tue May 20, 2014 07:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934449)
Why is your default that the officials are incorrectly chopping the clock?
For decades the correct procedure has been to chop the clock. The default should be to chop.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 934450)
How is the official administering the throwin and chopping time supposed to know whether a player, on the other side of the court, is or is not OOB? The administering official is supposed to chop time in when the ball is touched. The official covering the line is to signal the OOB violation. There very likely will be a slight delay in the whistle. So, the timer starts the clock on the chop and stops it on the whistle. There really is no error there short of an explicit rule or case indicating that this is an error.

IN THEORY, we should not be chopping the clock if the ball is illegally touched.

The official covering the line in question can also be the official administering the throw-in, they are not mutually exclusive. And if I'm covering the line, I'm going to know if the player is standing OOB.

MD Longhorn Tue May 20, 2014 09:11am

Seems to me that it's a given that 0.0000 seconds elapsed between the instant the clock should start and the instant the clock should stop, and we, the officials, have positive knowledge of that. No time should run off in this case.

just another ref Tue May 20, 2014 10:38am

The wild card in all this (I believe this was touched on above) is the timer. In high school games I believe it is much too common that the timer does not look for a signal from the official to start the clock at all. I'm sure this would be even more likely to be the case if the throw-in is a long pass involving another line and a second official.

Camron Rust Tue May 20, 2014 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 934457)
IN THEORY, we should not be chopping the clock if the ball is illegally touched.

The official covering the line in question can also be the official administering the throw-in, they are not mutually exclusive. And if I'm covering the line, I'm going to know if the player is standing OOB.

Certainly, they could be the same person. But, in a 3-person game, the administering official is only going to be covering one line much of the time (sometimes two).

As for illegally touched, I don't think it is illegally touched. It is legally touched in an illegal location. And that is the difference.

The NFHS has previously distinguished between the two in a few ways. For example, a kick is considered a violation before the throwin ends. An OOB violation is treated as if it occurs after the throwin ends. This is demonstrated in how the arrow is treated on a throwin. If the violation is a kick (illegal contact) the arrow is not switched. If the violation is an OOB (legal contact, illegal location) the arrow is switched. Likewise with the right to run the endline when there is a violation on a throw-in.

just another ref Tue May 20, 2014 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 934489)

As for illegally touched, I don't think it is illegally touched. It is legally touched in an illegal location. And that is the difference.

The NFHS has previously distinguished between the two in a few ways. For example, a kick is considered a violation before the throwin ends. An OOB violation is treated as if it occurs after the throwin ends. This is demonstrated in how the arrow is treated on a throwin. If the violation is a kick (illegal contact) the arrow is not switched. If the violation is an OOB (legal contact, illegal location) the arrow is switched. Likewise with the right to run the endline when there is a violation on a throw-in.

Whether the throw-in ended, or whether it ended legally is important for some things. It is not important here. If a violation ends the throw-in, no matter what the violation is, the clock does not start.

HokiePaul Tue May 20, 2014 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 934462)
Seems to me that it's a given that 0.0000 seconds elapsed between the instant the clock should start and the instant the clock should stop, and we, the officials, have positive knowledge of that. No time should run off in this case.

Agree with this.

If this came up in a game situation and the clock started but the first touch was an "illegal" touch, I'm considering it a timing error and re-setting the clock back to where it was, assuming that the exact time prior to the throw in was known.

Adam Tue May 20, 2014 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 934462)
Seems to me that it's a given that 0.0000 seconds elapsed between the instant the clock should start and the instant the clock should stop, and we, the officials, have positive knowledge of that. No time should run off in this case.

This is true. In the days of "lag time," I'd have stuck to the "don't fix it" mantra. Now that the NFHS has started to clean up the lag time issues and allow us to fixing timing errors as little as .1 second, I'm inclined to fix this and put the time back on the clock if it is erroneously allowed to run.

Nevadaref Tue May 20, 2014 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 934453)
I'll go back to the "legally touched" part of the NFHS rule as to why the clock shouldn't start. If a player touches the ball while standing on a sideline or endline it's a violation, which is not a legal touch of the ball.

And on the most basic level that incorrect understanding is what I've consistently posted against in this entire thread. The touching of the ball itself is not illegal, such as a kick would be. Rather the player is breaking some other rule by where he is standing.

Nevadaref Tue May 20, 2014 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 934489)
Certainly, they could be the same person. But, in a 3-person game, the administering official is only going to be covering one line much of the time (sometimes two).

As for illegally touched, I don't think it is illegally touched. It is legally touched in an illegal location. And that is the difference.

The NFHS has previously distinguished between the two in a few ways. For example, a kick is considered a violation before the throwin ends. An OOB violation is treated as if it occurs after the throwin ends. This is demonstrated in how the arrow is treated on a throwin. If the violation is a kick (illegal contact) the arrow is not switched. If the violation is an OOB (legal contact, illegal location) the arrow is switched. Likewise with the right to run the endline when there is a violation on a throw-in.

I agree 100%. Thanks for posting excellent illustrative examples of how "legally touched" is interpreted and enforced under NFHS rules.
Hopefully, these examples will make some people think about this situation in a new light and realize that the same understanding needs to be applied to the rules pertaining to starting and stopping the clock.

JetMetFan Tue May 20, 2014 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 934503)
And on the most basic level that incorrect understanding is what I've consistently posted against in this entire thread. The touching of the ball itself is not illegal, such as a kick would be. Rather the player is breaking some other rule by where he is standing.

So NFHS 9-3-2 (No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass) means the touching isn't illegal? That's where we part company. In that particular instance the touching is illegal and the rule supports that idea.

By the way, if you're going to run time off the clock in the case of a a player catching a throw-in while standing OOB how much time should be run off? There's also nothing in the rules calling for an automatic run-off of, say, 0.3 seconds when a player contacts the ball.

This is a case of a touch and a violation taking place simultaneously. While the rule book doesn't always deal in logic, running the clock in this situation doesn't seem logical.

Camron Rust Tue May 20, 2014 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 934521)
So NFHS 9-3-2 (No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass) means the touching isn't illegal? That's where we part company. In that particular instance the touching is illegal and the rule supports that idea.

By the way, if you're going to run time off the clock in the case of a a player catching a throw-in while standing OOB how much time should be run off? There's also nothing in the rules calling for an automatic run-off of, say, 0.3 seconds when a player contacts the ball.

This is a case of a touch and a violation taking place simultaneously. While the rule book doesn't always deal in logic, running the clock in this situation doesn't seem logical.

The clock question really isn't all that different than the situation where the ball is thrown inbounds and is touched inbounds where it is immediately knocked OOB. We all know the clock should have started and then stopped but if no time has elapsed what do you do? Usually...nothing.

The point of the matter is that one official properly indicates that the clock should start and the timer does so. Another official covering the line where the ball is thrown, a moment later, indicates that the clock should stop...and the timer does so. I just don't see where there is an error. Everyone did what they were supposed to do. Short of a rule that says that it is an error to do what you're supposed to do, I see this as just a quirk in the rules and coverages.

Adam Tue May 20, 2014 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 934523)
The clock question really isn't all that different than the situation where the ball is thrown inbounds and is touched inbounds where it is immediately knocked OOB. We all know the clock should have started and then stopped but if no time has elapsed what do you do? Usually...nothing.

The point of the matter is that one official properly indicates that the clock should start and the timer does so. Another official covering the line where the ball is thrown, a moment later, indicates that the clock should stop...and the timer does so. I just don't see where there is an error. Everyone did what they were supposed to do. Short of a rule that says that it is an error to do what you're supposed to do, I see this as just a quirk in the rules and coverages.

What about the equally likely scenario where both signals are made simultaneously, and the timer does not start the clock.

Or the primary question, what if Nevada is officiating and everything happens in his coverage. He chops time in and immediately hits his whistle. The timer does not respond, and no time runs off.
Anyone taking time off?

Camron Rust Tue May 20, 2014 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 934524)
What about the equally likely scenario where both signals are made simultaneously, and the timer does not start the clock.

Or the primary question, what if Nevada is officiating and everything happens in his coverage. He chops time in and immediately hits his whistle. The timer does not respond, and no time runs off.
Anyone taking time off?

As I stated earlier, I think it is acceptable for time to come off or not. I don't think there is an error here in either case.

I am not, however, going to chop time in and stop it myself. But if I were to do so and no time comes off, how much of a correction could possibly be made? Would 0.05 seconds matter?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1