![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And It is not a slam dunk either way. I think this is just one of those tough plays we have take place. If the Arizona player does not extend his arm, he probably gets a foul. Or at least there is a no call. Peace |
My two cents (hopefully better than mytwocents's two cents) :)
This was just about to be a foul on the defender. Illegal contact was ABOUT TO happen - but it never did actually happen. The push off prevented what was likely about to be a block. |
Quote:
MD Longhorn: Great observation! Too many coaches are screaming for a foul before one occurs and then the foul they think is going to occur a different presents itself. That is what happened in this play. And this type of play happens quite frequently in all games we officiate no matter what the level. It is a good thing that we officials are paid to see the entire play and not just the first half of the play. MTD, Sr. |
That is probably the best description MD.
Peace |
It shouldn't matter what he did with his arm, he was already fouled while in the act of shooting. ;)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Okay, I agree with you, he was fouled in the act of shooting. But this doesn't cause the ball to become dead. Does this give him a free pass with the arm. Why wouldn't this be a false double foul? discuss |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As evidenced by the discussion in this thread this was a call that is subject to a lot of scrutiny with differing opinions. I applaud Greene for being convinced in what he saw and not being afraid to make what he believed was the correct call when IMO many other officials, high level officials too, would not have put air in it in that situation. Quote:
|
Quote:
First of all, Greene was 10 ft from the play, had a great look and HE determined it was a foul according to his judgement. And that's what he was on the floor to do. To say, "Gee maybe it was a foul" is YOUR opinion. He obviously was convinced. Secondly, Arizona got the ball back with 2.5 seconds to play and had another chance to win the game. They didnt make the shot. It's called basketball...it happens. To say that one call eliminated a teams chance to win is almost always incorrect and here it was proven to be 100% false since they indeed had a subsequent chance to win the game. And all of that is moot anyway if you believe, as I do, that it was the correct call. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58pm. |