The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wisconsin-Arizona Player Control Foul (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97644-wisconsin-arizona-player-control-foul-video.html)

bballref3966 Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:05pm

Wisconsin-Arizona Player Control Foul (Video)
 
Tony Greene calls a player control foul on Arizona with 3.2 seconds left in OT. Looked like a good call. Ball handler created separation with the left arm.

Second gutsy player control foul call by Greene this season.

JRutledge Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:06pm

Great call.

Peace

twocentsworth Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:09pm

Great call if only you overlook the illegal sefensive contact that was creted by the defender moving INTO the path of the ball handler.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:11pm

It was not a great call or a gutsy call. It was the correct call. And that is why Tony Greene was assigned to this game.

MTD, Sr.

bballref3966 Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 929770)
It was not a great call or a gutsy call. It was the correct call. And that is why Tony Greene was assigned to this game.

MTD, Sr.

Very good point.

twocentsworth Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 929770)
It was not a great call or a gutsy call. It was the correct call. And that is why Tony Greene was assigned to this game.

MTD, Sr.

I am surprised that you would feel this way. By rule, and you - more than anyone on this forum - could easily be called "Mr Rule Book", he was illegally contacted by a defender who moved INTO the dribbler (interrupting the Rythm, Speed, Balance, and Quickness).

Btw....Tony Greene is the official who ran directly I front of Roy Williams who was signaling and yelling for a timeout ....AND DID NOTHING.

Simply put, Tony has not had a season worthy of a Final Four assignment (or Elite Eight, for that matter).

fortmoney Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 929775)
I am surprised that you would feel this way. By rule, and you - more than anyone on this forum - could easily be called "Mr Rule Book", he was illegally contacted by a defender who moved INTO the dribbler (interrupting the Rythm, Speed, Balance, and Quickness).

Btw....Tony Greene is the official who ran directly I front of Roy Williams who was signaling and yelling for a timeout ....AND DID NOTHING.

Simply put, Tony has not had a season worthy of a Final Four assignment (or Elite Eight, for that matter).

I disagree with both of your takes

to accuse him of purposely ignoring a timeout request - who would do that? Those games are extremely loud and with that much at stake, who wouldn't be extremely locked in to the action. We've all had those situations where we either don't hear the coach, or can't tell what he wants (yelling "side-out" or something). I'm not sure what you have against Tony personally, but he's a hell of an official. And a lot of people must agree with me, otherwise he would not be calling an elite8 game between a 1 and 2.

come on, take off your tin foil hat

twocentsworth Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fortmoney (Post 929781)
I disagree with both of your takes

to accuse him of purposely ignoring a timeout request - who would do that? Those games are extremely loud and with that much at stake, who wouldn't be extremely locked in to the action. We've all had those situations where we either don't hear the coach, or can't tell what he wants (yelling "side-out" or something). I'm not sure what you have against Tony personally, but he's a hell of an official. And a lot of people must agree with me, otherwise he would not be calling an elite8 game between a 1 and 2.

come on, take off your tin foil hat

Watch the video of that play - even Ray Charles. An see Tony Greene running right past Coach Williams. The REAL problem is that Tony AND his partners didn't look at the UNC bench immediately after ISU scored. How can you possibly advance to the NCAA tournament as an official and NOT have game awareness that instinctively causes u to look at the bench immediately after a last second basket. It's so simple!!! It's unbelievable that not only didn't he look...HE RAN RIGHT PAST A COACH WHO SIGNALED AND CALLED FOR IT....

tomegun Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:47pm

I would like to see the play without being critical of the official or giving the official a pass because of who he is - just look at the play for what it is. When I looked at it initially, I thought the defender was moving into the offensive player. If it happened that way, and I was the offensive player, I would push off too, especially if I needed to get such a critical shot off. However, if the defender was legal, the push off should have been called.

I think sometimes we lose site of the fact that even the best officials make mistakes. Again, I would like to see the play again, but I want to look at it for what it is.

If this play was called on the defense, what would people think?
If nothing was called on this play, what would people think?

bballref3966 Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:52pm

I don't understand people making a comparison of Greene's call against Syracuse to this call against Arizona. They are not similar at all, and he got both of them right. I give major props to Greene for doing his job and calling the game the same way from start to finish. I know a lot of officials that won't make that call just because time is winding down.

canuckrefguy Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 929769)
Great call if only you overlook the illegal sefensive contact that was creted by the defender moving INTO the path of the ball handler.

Which would have been called if he hadn't pushed off :cool:

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 929789)
I would like to see the play without being critical of the official or giving the official a pass because of who he is - just look at the play for what it is. When I looked at it initially, I thought the defender was moving into the offensive player. If it happened that way, and I was the offensive player, I would push off too, especially if I needed to get such a critical shot off. However, if the defender was legal, the push off should have been called.

"Coach, I was ready to call block until your guy pushed off".

If the defensive player does not initiate illegal contact, by rule it cannot be a defensive foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 929787)
Watch the video of that play - even Ray Charles. An see Tony Greene running right past Coach Williams. The REAL problem is that Tony AND his partners didn't look at the UNC bench immediately after ISU scored. How can you possibly advance to the NCAA tournament as an official and NOT have game awareness that instinctively causes u to look at the bench immediately after a last second basket. It's so simple!!! It's unbelievable that not only didn't he look...HE RAN RIGHT PAST A COACH WHO SIGNALED AND CALLED FOR IT....

Boy are you going to look like an idiot when he's crew chief in the semis, or in the final :rolleyes:

Adam Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:19pm

Reminder/warning:
criticizing a play is ok

broadly demeaning an official and his abilities is not

APG Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:21pm

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/UWlG2S4Taug" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Adam Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:26pm

After watching the replay, I see a defender with LGP moving laterally and towards the end line as the dribbler closes the gap. I like that call.

canuckrefguy Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 929800)
<IFRAME height=360 src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/UWlG2S4Taug" frameBorder=0 width=640 allowfullscreen></IFRAME>

If you all will harken back to last year when Seth Davis ran that "block or charge" quiz on his blog in conjunction with NCAA Director of Officiating John Adams...Adams focused on plays EXACTLY like this - and commented that officials were calling it wrong much of the time.

This was a great call. And it's why Tony Greene has been in the national championship game three or four times.

tomegun Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:44pm

I looked at the video, looked up the definition of lateral (just to make sure I'm not crazy), looked at the video again and asked my wife to look at the video. If someone can move laterally while their body is moving in the direction they are facing, and they take one step in that direction prior to contact, then yes I agree the player was moving laterally.

This play could make the NCAA video for next season. Tough play in a tough situation.

I purposely didn't mention the official or past accomplishments as that has no bearing on a discussion about the call to me.

APG Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:44pm

I've got a foul on the defender for moving forward into the dribbler prior to the push off by the dribbler.

JetMetFan Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 929806)
I've got a foul on the defender for moving forward into the dribbler prior to the push off by the dribbler.

So do I for the same reason. I see W21 moving into F13 before the push by F13.

I also have continuation on the play.


Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 929805)
I purposely didn't mention the official or past accomplishments as that has no bearing on a discussion about the call to me.

Agreed.

just another ref Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 929806)
I've got a foul on the defender for moving forward into the dribbler prior to the push off by the dribbler.

Agreed. Like the Michigan St. game, the big push off was retaliation for the initial contact.

canuckrefguy Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:59pm

The ONLY point at which there is contact between the two players:

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l5...l/Untitled.jpg

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l5.../Untitled2.jpg

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l5.../Untitled3.jpg

If the dribbler continues on his path without pushing off, there is no question of a defensive foul and continuation. The problem is he doesn't do that. He pushes off BEFORE there is any illegal contact by the defender.

It's a bang-bang play, and as close as it gets - but I still like the offensive foul call - whether it's Tony Greene, APG, or even TCW calling it ;)

Rich Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 929787)
Watch the video of that play - even Ray Charles. An see Tony Greene running right past Coach Williams. The REAL problem is that Tony AND his partners didn't look at the UNC bench immediately after ISU scored. How can you possibly advance to the NCAA tournament as an official and NOT have game awareness that instinctively causes u to look at the bench immediately after a last second basket. It's so simple!!! It's unbelievable that not only didn't he look...HE RAN RIGHT PAST A COACH WHO SIGNALED AND CALLED FOR IT....

You've come back to the forum for the expressed purpose of ripping an official working the tourney in a personal way. Either knock it off...or go away.

tomegun Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:08am

Canuck, that isn't contact in the first pic? From the first pic to the second it looks like the defender moves laterally; this is after he moves forward into the offensive player.

I can't focus...why would a boxer lick another boxer's chest during a weigh in?

canuckrefguy Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 929812)
Canuck, that isn't contact in the first pic? From the first pic to the second it looks like the defender moves laterally; this is after he moves forward into the offensive player.

That was my point - the defender hadn't actually knocked him off course. Before that can happen, dribbler pushes off (image 2). If he just continues on his path, he's going to the line, maybe for an and-one.

Like I said, bang/bang play. But I still think the right call. By the closest of margins.

blindzebra Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:28am

Block happened first.

The defender was draped over the offensive player to the point his arm pit was touching his head.

Johnny Ringo Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:00am

This seems to be a coin toss amongst officials. For me, the coin lands on "I like the call" that was made.

AremRed Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:03am

I think this is an ant/elephant play. The ant is the illegal contact by the defender. The elephant is the push-off by the offensive player.

APG Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 929823)
I think this is an ant/elephant play. The ant is the illegal contact by the defender. The elephant is the push-off by the offensive player.

The whole reason the guy is pushing off is cause a defender is running into him.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:13am

My take...defender wasn't exactly legal, BUT that contact was marginal at best, not worthy of a call. The push off was more than marginal. Good call.

AremRed Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fortmoney (Post 929781)
to accuse him of purposely ignoring a timeout request - who would do that?

twocentsworth said no such thing. He never explicitly stated, nor did he imply that Tony Green purposely ignored a timeout request. Let's take a quick look at what twocentsworth did say, just so we are clear:

"Tony Greene is the official who ran directly I front of Roy Williams who was signaling and yelling for a timeout"

Verdict: FACTUAL. That actually happened. Tony Greene ran in front of Roy Williams who was signalling and yelling for a timeout. Not sure how this implies Greene purposely ignored Williams.

"....AND DID NOTHING."

Verdict: FACTUAL. Tony Greene did nothing. That also actually happened. He didn't realize Williams was calling a timeout until it was too late. Still not sure how this implies Greene purposefully ignored the timeout request.

"Simply put, Tony has not had a season worthy of a Final Four assignment (or Elite Eight, for that matter)."

Verdict: Opinion. twocentsworth is entitled to his opinion about the year Greene had, but this is still not an indication that Greene purposefully ignored a timeout request.

Quote:

Originally Posted by fortmoney (Post 929781)
I'm not sure what you have against Tony personally

From what I can see, twocentsworth doesn't have anything personal against Tony Greene. He made factual statements about what actually happened. It was you who introduced this "personal" spin.

AremRed Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 929827)
The whole reason the guy is pushing off is cause a defender is running into him.

I see your point, but they are closing in on each other about equally. I see the initial contact as marginal and the push-off as illegal. I think the obvious call here is PC....while block could be correct as well, PC is more correct.

blindzebra Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:26am

You can see Johnson's head move after the defender hit him, to me that makes it far from marginal. The push off looked worse than it was because the defender was off balance and stumbled.

Berkut Sun Mar 30, 2014 02:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 929833)
You can see Johnson's head move after the defender hit him, to me that makes it far from marginal. The push off looked worse than it was because the defender was off balance and stumbled.

Indeed.

There is a pretty clear blocking foul there. Now, I don't terrible mind the idea of passing on it and letting it play out in that situation.

But I am at a loss as to how you pass on contact on a dribbler going to the basket, then nail the dribbler for an offensive foul that is almost certainly in response to the initial illegal contact.

The push off absent the contact would be a great, GREAT call. Ignoring the defensive foul, then calling the offensive in that situation is baffling to me.

Berkut Sun Mar 30, 2014 02:07am

There was another sequence earlier that was pretty bad.

Arizona had gone to the line 3 or 4 times, and Wisconsin not at all, and Bo Ryan was riding the officials pretty hard.

Next play, Kaminsky gets the ball in the post, and I think in my head "If he goes to the basket, he is getting a call here no matter what".

He turns in, hooks Aaron Gordon and shoves Gordon to the floor hard enough that Gordon stumbles and almost goes to his knees. Tweet! Blocking foul.

The contact on replay was Kaminsky's elbow into Gordon's back.

It was a bad call, and it sure seemed like it was a bad call made for a bad reason.

edit: All that being said, Arizona has nothing really to complain about. They were supposedly the best defensive team in the country, and they couldn't stop 1 player all night long no matter what they did. Kaminsky was a beast.

canuckrefguy Sun Mar 30, 2014 02:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 929833)
You can see Johnson's head move after the defender hit him, to me that makes it far from marginal. The push off looked worse than it was because the defender was off balance and stumbled.

Everybody talks like there's more than one point of contact here. There isn't. The two players only contact each other ONCE - when the dribbler pushes off.

A split-second BEFORE the defender would have knocked him off course, the dribbler extends his arm and pushes him away. The dribbler's head moved as part of the arm motion that formed the push-off, not because of any contact by the defender.

If the dribbler just keeps going instead of pushing off - he gets a defensive foul.

But he DIDN'T just keep going. He pushed off instead.

Offensive foul.

Good call.

APG Sun Mar 30, 2014 02:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 929837)
Everybody talks like there's more than one point of contact here. There isn't. The two players only contact each other ONCE - when the dribbler pushes off.

I completley disagree with this...even if you want to say the defender's contact was marginal, there is contact before the push off happens. Even your stills (which fail to show the forward movement (IMO) of the defender into the dribbler) show there is contact between the two players before the push off.

just another ref Sun Mar 30, 2014 04:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 929823)
I think this is an ant/elephant play. The ant is the illegal contact by the defender. The elephant is the push-off by the offensive player.

Even if this true, the ant struck first.

You said it yourself: illegal contact by the defender

Nevadaref Sun Mar 30, 2014 04:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 929805)
I looked at the video, looked up the definition of lateral (just to make sure I'm not crazy), looked at the video again and asked my wife to look at the video. If someone can move laterally while their body is moving in the direction they are facing, and they take one step in that direction prior to contact, then yes I agree the player was moving laterally.

This play could make the NCAA video for next season. Tough play in a tough situation.

I purposely didn't mention the official or past accomplishments as that has no bearing on a discussion about the call to me.

Very objective and fair of you. Given that you most likely know Tony from your days in the DC area, I applaud your effort to try to eliminate the personal aspect of the people involved and just examine the basketball elements of the play.
This is the manner in which all of us should be viewing these videos and refraining from leveling personal accusations against any of the officials involved. I thank Tomegun for leading us in the right direction as we strive to learn and improve ourselves. Let's do so with class.

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 929806)
I've got a foul on the defender for moving forward into the dribbler prior to the push off by the dribbler.

It is difficult for me to tell if the defender simply played strong and physical defense while both players were moving or if he created illegal contact.
I'll wait until I can watch the video on a screen bigger than 2"x3".

fortmoney Sun Mar 30, 2014 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 929831)
twocentsworth said no such thing. He never explicitly stated, nor did he imply that Tony Green purposely ignored a timeout request. Let's take a quick look at what twocentsworth did say, just so we are clear:

"Tony Greene is the official who ran directly I front of Roy Williams who was signaling and yelling for a timeout"

Verdict: FACTUAL. That actually happened. Tony Greene ran in front of Roy Williams who was signalling and yelling for a timeout. Not sure how this implies Greene purposely ignored Williams.

"....AND DID NOTHING."

Verdict: FACTUAL. Tony Greene did nothing. That also actually happened. He didn't realize Williams was calling a timeout until it was too late. Still not sure how this implies Greene purposefully ignored the timeout request.

"Simply put, Tony has not had a season worthy of a Final Four assignment (or Elite Eight, for that matter)."

Verdict: Opinion. twocentsworth is entitled to his opinion about the year Greene had, but this is still not an indication that Greene purposefully ignored a timeout request.



From what I can see, twocentsworth doesn't have anything personal against Tony Greene. He made factual statements about what actually happened. It was you who introduced this "personal" spin.

He started a thread last night titled "crazy Tony strikes again" that got deleted due to its attack of a personal nature on green

hbk314 Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:01am

To be fair, the ridiculously lengthy review the followed the ensuing inbound play made up for any injustice here.

JetMetFan Sun Mar 30, 2014 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 929857)
To be fair, the ridiculously lengthy review the followed the ensuing inbound play made up for any injustice here.

In the spirit of apples and oranges, what does one have to do with the other?

hbk314 Sun Mar 30, 2014 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 929868)
In the spirit of apples and oranges, what does one have to do with the other?

Nothing. I didn't mean to suggest they were connected.

BryanV21 Sun Mar 30, 2014 11:41am

1. We seem to be split on whether the initial contact by the defender should have been called. Personally, I would have passed on that as it was marginal and didn't lead to an advantage, which is proven by the fact that the dribbler was still able to drive to the basket on his original path.

2. We all seem to agree that the dribbler pushed off to create space for the shot. No further comment needed.

Looking at those two facts I think it's safe to say that this was a good call. Seeing as how there are many officials out there that are afraid of making any call in a situation such as this, I have to commend Mr. Greene for making the right decision.

AremRed Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 929843)
Even if this true, the ant struck first.

Doesn't matter. Even if the ant is technically correct, the elephant is the better call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 929843)
You said it yourself: illegal contact by the defender

I will clarify: it could have been illegal contact by the defender. We can't know for sure, cuz the offensive player decided to shove the defender out of the way with his forearm.

just another ref Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 929878)
Doesn't matter. Even if the ant is technically correct, the elephant is the better call.



I will clarify: it could have been illegal contact by the defender. We can't know for sure, cuz the offensive player decided to shove the defender out of the way with his forearm.

1. There it is again, technically correct. I don't know what that means.
2. The shove doesn't keep the first contact from being illegal.

AremRed Sun Mar 30, 2014 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 929884)
1. There it is again, technically correct. I don't know what that means.
2. The shove doesn't keep the first contact from being illegal.

"Technically correct" because we have the benefit of slow-motion and multiple replay angles. The official had one look at the play and I felt chose the obvious foul....whereas the initial contact by the defender less obvious.

Nope, but we are not really in the business of splitting hairs. The defender could have continued moving into the dribbler and created a foul -- we can't know because the offensive player negated that with his foul.

This is an extreme-ish theory I hold and I don't expect you to understand or accept it.

Adam Sun Mar 30, 2014 02:22pm

Looking at the defender's feet in frame-by-frame, it really looks to me like he's moving towards the end line with each step, and not towards the dribbler. The dribbler is closing the distance, but that doesn't mean the defender is moving "towards the dribbler".

JetMetFan Sun Mar 30, 2014 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 929884)
1. There it is again, technically correct. I don't know what that means.
2. The shove doesn't keep the first contact from being illegal.


Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 929885)
"Technically correct" because we have the benefit of slow-motion and multiple replay angles. The official had one look at the play and I felt chose the obvious foul....whereas the initial contact by the defender less obvious.

Nope, but we are not really in the business of splitting hairs. The defender could have continued moving into the dribbler and created a foul -- we can't know because the offensive player negated that with his foul.

This is an extreme-ish theory I hold and I don't expect you to understand or accept it.

I'll say it again: "Technically" as we tend to use it here means "yes it happened - foul/violation - but I don't want to call it."

I disagree regarding the use of slow motion and replay angles. I think we were all able to see contact in real time.

rockyroad Sun Mar 30, 2014 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 929833)
You can see Johnson's head move after the defender hit him, to me that makes it far from marginal. The push off looked worse than it was because the defender was off balance and stumbled.

13:20 in UConn/Mich. St...Napier driving for UConn and there is some contact out high and his head whips around. No whistle there but fouled as he shoots... The replay shown that there was hardly any contact at all up high, and he just throws his head around trying to get a call. So basing a call on the offensive players head moving can be a tricky proposition.

just another ref Sun Mar 30, 2014 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 929892)
I'll say it again: "Technically" as we tend to use it here means "yes it happened - foul/violation - but I don't want to call it."


A foul/violation happened. That statement seems to have very little margin for error.

I don't want to call (the foul or violation which just happened.)

I can't think of any way to justify this. Certainly not because a more obvious foul/violation happened afterward.

canuckrefguy Sun Mar 30, 2014 03:15pm

The debate just goes to show how close the call was; literally a 50/50, probably as close as you can get on that specific type of play.

Berkut Sun Mar 30, 2014 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 929897)
The debate just goes to show how close the call was; literally a 50/50, probably as close as you can get on that specific type of play.

OK, if we assume that is correct...are we really saying we should be making 50-50 calls in that situation?

I've always been told that you have to have the nuts to make the call at the end of the game, but you also have to have the discretion to make damn sure it is a 100% call when you do make it.

Seems a pretty brutal move to take a possession away at the end of a game like this on a 50-50 call.

I wasn't on the floor of course, but my initial reaction when the whistle blew was "Wow, that was kind of a weak block to call...wait, he called OFFENSIVE???" "He must have seen something I did not to make that call".

Then after replay, when I saw everything he saw, I was even more stunned that he pulled that call out in that situation. I think after replay it was simply wrong, and in full speed, it looked even worse.

canuckrefguy Sun Mar 30, 2014 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Berkut (Post 929901)
OK, if we assume that is correct...are we really saying we should be making 50-50 calls in that situation?

I've always been told that you have to have the nuts to make the call at the end of the game, but you also have to have the discretion to make damn sure it is a 100% call when you do make it.

Seems a pretty brutal move to take a possession away at the end of a game like this on a 50-50 call.

I wasn't on the floor of course, but my initial reaction when the whistle blew was "Wow, that was kind of a weak block to call...wait, he called OFFENSIVE???" "He must have seen something I did not to make that call".

Then after replay, when I saw everything he saw, I was even more stunned that he pulled that call out in that situation. I think after replay it was simply wrong, and in full speed, it looked even worse.

Disagree completely with such a brutal assessment. Like I said, the variety of views shows how close it was.

Berkut Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 929902)
Disagree completely with such a brutal assessment. Like I said, the variety of views shows how close it was.

But that is my point - if it is such a close or marginal call that even after replay the best you can say is that maybe, just maybe, there is a 50-50 chance that it was the right call...

then I don't think it is a good call, especially in that situation. You basically eliminated a teams chance to win the game on that play on a "Gee, maybe it was a foul....maybe..." call. And on an offensive foul to boot.

Raymond Sun Mar 30, 2014 11:13pm

I have the defender initiating the contact, so if I have a whistle, it's going to be a block early. If I don't put a whistle on that, I'm not calling a PC on A1 for the subsequent push-off.

Nevadaref Sun Mar 30, 2014 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 929937)
I have the defender initiating the contact, so if I have a whistle, it's going to be a block early. If I don't put a whistle on that, I'm not calling a PC on A1 for the subsequent push-off.

That's a really poor argument.
You can't justify not penalizing an act which is clearly illegal because you either couldn't determine the legality of an action which preceeded it or simply failed to properly penalize an earlier action.

JRutledge Sun Mar 30, 2014 11:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929939)
That's a really poor argument.
You can't justify not penalizing an act which is clearly illegal because you either couldn't determine the legality of an action which preceeded it or simply failed to properly penalize an earlier action.

If the contact did not displace the dribbler, then it is not a foul. The only displacement in this play is when the dribbler/shooter, extended his arm. If he does not do that, then it might be easier to call a foul on the defender. Then again, that is if you believe the defender was not in a legal position. You can certainly argue that was the case.

Peace

Camron Rust Mon Mar 31, 2014 01:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 929890)
Looking at the defender's feet in frame-by-frame, it really looks to me like he's moving towards the end line with each step, and not towards the dribbler. The dribbler is closing the distance, but that doesn't mean the defender is moving "towards the dribbler".

You might want to watch it again. He started about 4-5 feet inside the lane line extended and moved towards and to the lane line that the dribbler was driving down (he even stepped on the lane line) and then was pushed back to a spot about 4 feet inside the lane.

I still don't think he fouled, however. His position wasn't legal. He was no longer in the path of the dribbler and moved into the dribbler's side, but he didn't reroute, impede, displace, or dislodge the dribbler (or affect his RSBQ if you prefer those attributes). There was no advantage gained by the contact.

Unlike the defender's contact, the dribbler's contact created a clear advantage...space to shoot that he wouldn't have otherwise had.

Raymond Mon Mar 31, 2014 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929939)
That's a really poor argument.
You can't justify not penalizing an act which is clearly illegal because you either couldn't determine the legality of an action which preceeded it or simply failed to properly penalize an earlier action.

Yes I can, because I should have penalized the initial illegal contact by the defender. Why would it be more egregious to not penalize A1's actions?

It's not like we're talking about acts that happened 10 seconds apart or on separate plays. There's a body bump followed immediately by a push-off. Put your whistle on the initial illegal act.

That body bump is a foul on every single NCAA-Men's video John Adams has put out this season.

tomegun Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 929956)
Yes I can, because I should have penalized the initial illegal contact by the defender. Why would it be more egregious to not penalize A1's actions?

It's not like we're talking about acts that happened 10 seconds apart or on separate plays. There's a body bump followed immediately by a push-off. Put your whistle on the initial illegal act.

That body bump is a foul on every single NCAA-Men's video John Adams has put out this season.

Question: per NCAA directives, would the contact by the defender be a foul on its own? Tough to get a true answer since we know the situation and entire play, but it is a good question.

Raymond Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:21am

Tom, IMO that contact has been emphasized as a foul by the NCAA all year.

tomegun Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 929969)
Tom, IMO that contact has been emphasized as a foul by the NCAA all year.

IMO too

johnny d Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by badnewsref (Post 929969)
tom, imo that contact has been emphasized as a foul by the ncaa all year.

+1

JRutledge Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 929969)
Tom, IMO that contact has been emphasized as a foul by the NCAA all year.

But I did not see displacement by the defender or any RSBQ that took place on the ball handler. I saw displacement by the push off though.

And It is not a slam dunk either way. I think this is just one of those tough plays we have take place. If the Arizona player does not extend his arm, he probably gets a foul. Or at least there is a no call.

Peace

MD Longhorn Mon Mar 31, 2014 01:01pm

My two cents (hopefully better than mytwocents's two cents) :)

This was just about to be a foul on the defender. Illegal contact was ABOUT TO happen - but it never did actually happen. The push off prevented what was likely about to be a block.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Mar 31, 2014 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 929984)
My two cents (hopefully better than mytwocents's two cents) :)

This was just about to be a foul on the defender. Illegal contact was ABOUT TO happen - but it never did actually happen. The push off prevented what was likely about to be a block.



MD Longhorn:

Great observation! Too many coaches are screaming for a foul before one occurs and then the foul they think is going to occur a different presents itself. That is what happened in this play.

And this type of play happens quite frequently in all games we officiate no matter what the level. It is a good thing that we officials are paid to see the entire play and not just the first half of the play.

MTD, Sr.

JRutledge Mon Mar 31, 2014 01:10pm

That is probably the best description MD.

Peace

Raymond Mon Mar 31, 2014 01:18pm

It shouldn't matter what he did with his arm, he was already fouled while in the act of shooting. ;)

Raymond Mon Mar 31, 2014 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 929985)
... It is a good thing that we officials are paid to see the entire play and not just the first half of the play.

MTD, Sr.

I think I've seen something like that written in the forum before. :cool:

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 929988)
It shouldn't matter what he did with his arm, he was already fouled while in the act of shooting. ;)


Okay, I agree with you, he was fouled in the act of shooting. But this doesn't cause the ball to become dead. Does this give him a free pass with the arm. Why wouldn't this be a false double foul?

discuss

Raymond Mon Mar 31, 2014 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 929993)
Okay, I agree with you, he was fouled in the act of shooting. But this doesn't cause the ball to become dead. Does this give him a free pass with the arm. Why wouldn't this be a false double foul?

discuss

I was actually considering posting the same type of question.

johnny d Mon Mar 31, 2014 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 929993)
Okay, I agree with you, he was fouled in the act of shooting. But this doesn't cause the ball to become dead. Does this give him a free pass with the arm. Why wouldn't this be a false double foul?

discuss

It shouldn't, but I would not want to be the first person making that call on this type of play in any area/level/league I work. Might not be right, but the accepted and expected practice is to ignore the second foul if you have called the first foul in these types of situations.

VaTerp Mon Mar 31, 2014 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 929770)
It was not a great call or a gutsy call. It was the correct call. And that is why Tony Greene was assigned to this game.

MTD, Sr.

I think it was absolutely a gutsy call. We can talk all we want about all calls being the same but the truth of the matter is that all whistles are not equal and some calls are bigger and require more fortitude than others.

As evidenced by the discussion in this thread this was a call that is subject to a lot of scrutiny with differing opinions. I applaud Greene for being convinced in what he saw and not being afraid to make what he believed was the correct call when IMO many other officials, high level officials too, would not have put air in it in that situation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 929984)
My two cents (hopefully better than mytwocents's two cents) :)

This was just about to be a foul on the defender. Illegal contact was ABOUT TO happen - but it never did actually happen. The push off prevented what was likely about to be a block.

I tend to agree with this observation as well. Certainly room for debate but I liked the call for this reason.

VaTerp Mon Mar 31, 2014 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Berkut (Post 929935)
But that is my point - if it is such a close or marginal call that even after replay the best you can say is that maybe, just maybe, there is a 50-50 chance that it was the right call...

then I don't think it is a good call, especially in that situation. You basically eliminated a teams chance to win the game on that play on a "Gee, maybe it was a foul....maybe..." call. And on an offensive foul to boot.

This is just all types of wrong.

First of all, Greene was 10 ft from the play, had a great look and HE determined it was a foul according to his judgement. And that's what he was on the floor to do. To say, "Gee maybe it was a foul" is YOUR opinion. He obviously was convinced.

Secondly, Arizona got the ball back with 2.5 seconds to play and had another chance to win the game. They didnt make the shot. It's called basketball...it happens. To say that one call eliminated a teams chance to win is almost always incorrect and here it was proven to be 100% false since they indeed had a subsequent chance to win the game. And all of that is moot anyway if you believe, as I do, that it was the correct call.

Raymond Mon Mar 31, 2014 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Berkut (Post 929935)
But that is my point - if it is such a close or marginal call that even after replay the best you can say is that maybe, just maybe, there is a 50-50 chance that it was the right call...

then I don't think it is a good call, especially in that situation. You basically eliminated a teams chance to win the game on that play on a "Gee, maybe it was a foul....maybe..." call. And on an offensive foul to boot.

There is no doubt there is a foul to be called, the debate is whether the defense committed a foul prior to the push off. Either way, a whistle was going to come.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 31, 2014 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 929990)
I think I've seen something like that written in the forum before. :cool:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 929988)
It shouldn't matter what he did with his arm, he was already fouled while in the act of shooting. ;)

Apples and oranges to the play you're referring to. This play is exactly what seeing the whole play philosophy is about....whether to call a foul and, if so, who to call it on.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930027)
Apples and oranges to the play you're referring to. This play is exactly what seeing the whole play philosophy is about....whether to call a foul and, if so, who to call it on.


Seeing the whole play is fine, but is not the whole story here. The danger, I think, is letting the second half of the play totally obliterate the first. Was the contact by the defender a foul or not? I happen to think it was. So a more obvious, "everybody in the building saw it" reaction from the dribbler shouldn't cause the first contact to be ignored.

This was like the mom with the kids in the back seat. The second hit got punished, even though it was caused by the first.

Adam Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 930031)
Seeing the whole play is fine, but is not the whole story here. The danger, I think, is letting the second half of the play totally obliterate the first. Was the contact by the defender a foul or not? I happen to think it was. So a more obvious, "everybody in the building saw it" reaction from the dribbler shouldn't cause the first contact to be ignored.

This was like the mom with the kids in the back seat. The second hit got punished, even though it was caused by the first.

Then the only answer is the FD foul.
Shoot two shots with the lane clear, ball to the defense afterwards.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 930033)
Then the only answer is the FD foul.
Shoot two shots with the lane clear, ball to the defense afterwards.

By the letter of the law, perhaps this fits. But, for whatever reason, I just don't think you'll ever see this call made on this play. I look at it this way. Did the dribbler really gain an advantage by extending the arm? The way I see it, all he did was take back the space which was his in the first place.

Raymond Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930027)
Apples and oranges to the play you're referring to. This play is exactly what seeing the whole play philosophy is about....whether to call a foul and, if so, who to call it on.

The defender fouls him, why does it matter what the offensive player does next? Whether A1 passes he ball, shoots the ball, or pushes the defender off, the defensive foul has already occurred and you should have already determined that it is or isn't a shooting foul. Only decision left is whether or not we now have a FDF.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 930037)
By the letter of the law, perhaps this fits. But, for whatever reason, I just don't think you'll ever see this call made on this play. I look at it this way. Did the dribbler really gain an advantage by extending the arm? The way I see it, all he did was take back the space which was his in the first place.

I see the first contact as marginal...maybe a foul if it results in an advantage gained. But, it didn't result in any advantage. The dribbler continued on the same path.The dribbler doesn't have any space which is his other than that which he is occupying. The defender is allowed to take up 99.99% of the space between the players. Stopping at the point of contact and not displacing or rerouting the dribbler, he defender didn't foul. So, the space the dribbler took was the space legally obtained by the defender.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 930038)
The defender fouls him, why does it matter what the offensive player does next? Whether A1 passes he ball, shoots the ball, or pushes the defender off, the defensive foul has already occurred and you should have already determined that it is or isn't a shooting foul. Only decision left is whether or not we now have a FDF.

Agreed. And no FDF for me. The damage is done. Contact by the defender affected the shot. He missed it. Shoot 2.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 930038)
The defender fouls him, why does it matter what the offensive player does next? Whether A1 passes he ball, shoots the ball, or pushes the defender off, the defensive foul has already occurred and you should have already determined that it is or isn't a shooting foul. Only decision left is whether or not we now have a FDF.

Quit making fruit salad.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930040)
I see the first contact as marginal...maybe a foul if it results in an advantage gained. But, it didn't result in any advantage. The dribbler continued on the same path.The dribbler doesn't have any space which is his other than that which he is occupying. The defender is allowed to take up 99.99% of the space between the players. Stopping at the point of contact and not displacing or rerouting the dribbler, he defender didn't foul. So, the space the dribbler took was the space legally obtained by the defender.

Contact rocked the head of the dribbler. This is not legal.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 31, 2014 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 930044)
Contact rocked the head of the dribbler. This is not legal.

OK, I can see that as a possibility.

Toren Mon Mar 31, 2014 09:23pm

Block, before the start of the upward motion.

Followed by an offensive foul.

Multiple Sports Wed Apr 02, 2014 06:03pm

Bear with me on this....I went to an NBA game last year, with arguably one of the top three guys in the NBA. He had a similar play with around 5.8 on the clock and he called a blocking foul as lead on the play, where the contact occured at the elbow. I asked him why he didn't let the play go and apply the SDF mentality. His reasoning was ( in a 1 possession game, team with ball is up one in his game) by calling foul immediately, team up 1 makes two free throws, the team down three has still has chance with 4.5 on clock. And "and 1" make it a 4pt game with two less seconds and game is essentialy over.

Had a block on this been called immediately and Arizona goes to line and makes both free throws, Wisconsin still had chance to get a darn good shot / play off on other end. I realize that the NBA would put ball in frontcourt, etc. etc.

However the logic makes a hell of a lot of sense.....just food for thought !!!!!

Again purists may disagree, but that school of thought will eventually trickle down to the D1......

Raymond Wed Apr 02, 2014 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 930358)
Bear with me on this....I went to an NBA game last year, with arguably one of the top three guys in the NBA. ......

I'm not Scott Foster, but I too have an immediate blocking foul on this play.

In fact I had a similar play to this with about 13 seconds left and offense down by 1. He hits both ends of 1-and-1 and other team hits a 3-pointer to win the game. Observer was happy I put a whistle on the body bump.

Multiple Sports Wed Apr 02, 2014 06:57pm

BNR - Do you have an immediate from lead, when you are trained as a SDF guy on a play at the elbow. Normally you aren't thinking of making a call there or even on ball as the lead on that play.... BTW - the "outing of Foster", will cost you dinner on weekend of May 16- 18 !!!!!:D:D:D:D

Raymond Wed Apr 02, 2014 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 930360)
BNR - Do you have an immediate from lead, when you are trained as a SDF guy on a play at the elbow. Normally you aren't thinking of making a call there or even on ball as the lead on that play.... BTW - the "outing of Foster", will cost you dinner on weekend of May 16- 18 !!!!!:D:D:D:D

Well, I know you really meant to say "with arguably one of the top one guys in the NBA" :D

I was the Trail (but Lead had just rotated and I did not vacate my positioning yet), drive started at the stop of the key, curled in my direction, and bump occurred right at the elbow.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1