![]() |
|
|
|||
Foul During AP Throw-In
At a Varsity boys game last night near the end of a close
game there was a held ball tie up which resulted in an AP throw-in. After the official handed the ball to A1, A2 was fouled before A1 ever released the ball. The officials met at the table and changed the arrow to team B. I thought under 4-42-5 that the throw-in does not end until the ball is legally touched, therefore the arrow should have stayed with team A. Am I correct?? The official said that the throw-in ended when he hands the ball to the thrower. |
|
|||
Really shouldn't get this wrong in a varsity game...
4-42
ART. 5 The throw-in ends when: a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds. b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7. c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation. 6-4 ART. 4 The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5. |
|
|||
I hope this was a regular season game, and that this official will not be working any postseason games.
TI ends when legally touched or the throw-in team violates. And if Team A had committed the foul, the arrow also would have stayed with A. So you are right.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Conference championship game and this guy is the best official the assignor can come up with? I too would be out of hope if this happened in any of the leagues I work in. |
|
|||
Quote:
6.4.5 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation. RULING: B's ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B's basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating *procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure. COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it *normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4) ******************************************* EDITED TO ADD: Never mind, violation <> foul. Doh. |
|
|||
I'm not sure if this was added later or not, but what it prevents is team A getting a throw in via AP arrow with 1.3 secs left in a quarter and then just taking a 5 sec so they can try and start the next quarter with the ball. You can imagine the disaster that would lead to...
|
|
|||
This same thing happened earlier this year to me, except Team A committed a team control foul.
The R on the game wanted to change the arrow, I told him it remains because the throw end didn't end. For some reason my partner didn't believe me and asked my other partner...who told him it should be reversed ![]() At this point, he decides he does believe me and leaves the arrow the same. We discussed after the game and I showed them the rules that govern the ruling. My 2 partners are well respected and good play callers. I would work any game with them, but I just know I better brush up on my rules before we do ![]() |
|
|||
The disaster I was implying was the teams holding for 5 sec violations back and forth and back and forth...
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in plus foul | PG_Ref | Basketball | 1 | Thu Dec 19, 2013 12:00pm |
foul during throw in | yankeesfan | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:58am |
Foul on throw in | ABO77 | Basketball | 9 | Wed Dec 26, 2007 09:42pm |
Foul during AP Throw-in | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 18 | Wed Jan 18, 2006 06:14am |
foul on AP throw in | MikeCapps | Basketball | 9 | Mon Nov 22, 2004 09:46am |