The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 03:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Weird situation

Have not been able to get a 'correct' answer when asking officials from my association. What do you guys think?

Ball handler goes up for a lay up and gets fouled. As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net a team mate of the ball handler jumps up and pulls on the net.

Obviously there is basket interference and no points is awarded, but does the player get one foul shot or two?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 03:29am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If you wave off the basket, he gets two free throws. I know what the rule says, but I personally have never seen basket interference called on either team for touching the net, and I wouldn't want to be the first. I'm interested to see what others say about that part.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 04:45am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If the ball has already passed through the ring and is in the net, then I am scoring the basket. Gotta use some common sense, but if the pulling down changes the path of the ball then wipe it off and give the kid two FT's and tell the coach the teammate made a stupid play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
If you're calling the BI, then the basket was missed. Two shots.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjSpaceCaptain View Post
Have not been able to get a 'correct' answer when asking officials from my association. What do you guys think?

Ball handler goes up for a lay up and gets fouled. As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net a team mate of the ball handler jumps up and pulls on the net.

Obviously there is basket interference and no points is awarded, but does the player get one foul shot or two?
Players cannot pull the net for any reason whatsoever. On your play I have basket interference. No basket, but the foul still stands. Player is shooting 2 free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Negaunee Michigan
Posts: 56
Had something like this last week. Time running out in the 1st quarter with team A on a fast break. While A1 was in his shooting motion he was fouled before the horn sounded.
The weird situation came in when the ball was still in his had when the horn when off, and when he did shoot it the ball went in. We ended up waving off the basket but sending the player to the line to shoot 2 shots.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 04:38pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by yooperbballref View Post
Had something like this last week. Time running out in the 1st quarter with team A on a fast break. While A1 was in his shooting motion he was fouled before the horn sounded.
The weird situation came in when the ball was still in his had when the horn when off, and when he did shoot it the ball went in. We ended up waving off the basket but sending the player to the line to shoot 2 shots.
Wouldn't you still count the basket here, under the "continuous motion" rule? I mean, how can you have a foul on an airborne shooter if the result of the shot doesn't matter? Or is that just the rule?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks everyone that is kinda what i thought. At the time, I was the one who called the foul and my partner was the one who called the basket good and the basket interference. He chose to give only one foul shot because we didn't know. The shooting team was up by 20 ish so it did not matter only having one shot.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 05:19pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Wouldn't you still count the basket here, under the "continuous motion" rule? I mean, how can you have a foul on an airborne shooter if the result of the shot doesn't matter? Or is that just the rule?
No. If the shot isn't released before the horn, it cannot count.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 05:25pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
No. If the shot isn't released before the horn, it cannot count.
That makes sense, it just seems odd that you can having free throws for a shooting foul if the shot itself doesn't count. Seems to me that either the shot counts and you have the free throws, or the shot doesn't count and there are no free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 05:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Continuous Motion At The End Of A Period ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Wouldn't you still count the basket here, under the "continuous motion" rule?
No. The ball was still in his hand when the horn sounded. He's still get his free throws, with no rebounders along the lane, but the field goal won't count if the ball goes in.

If the ball had been released, and in the air, when the horn sounded, then the field goal would count, if the ball went in, and one free throw, with no rebounders, would be given to the shooter.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2014, 05:27pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
No. The ball was still in his hand when the horn sounded. He's still get his free throws, with no rebounders along the lane, but the field goal won't count if the ball goes in.

If the ball had been released, and in the air, when the horn sounded, then the field goal would count, if the ball went in, and one free throw, with no rebounders, would be given to the shooter.
Okay. Just checking.

He was fouled in the act of shooting, therefore he gets free throws. However, since the ball wasn't released until after the horn sounded it's counted as a missed shot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Situation McMac Basketball 13 Mon Jan 10, 2011 05:21pm
Weird situation summdawg76 Basketball 7 Fri Dec 05, 2008 04:02pm
Weird situation. Jerry Blum Basketball 8 Wed Dec 12, 2007 01:32am
Weird possible situation? QuebecRef87 Basketball 4 Tue Jan 25, 2005 09:14pm
Weird situation. JRutledge Basketball 3 Tue Jun 26, 2001 09:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1