The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2001, 07:14pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,123
Question

I had this very weird situation happen this past weekend.

I was doing a 1 man game (standing where I most likely would have not if I had a partner) and I was putting the ball in and I was standing completely inbounds and in the backcourt. A1 throws the ball in and hits me, hits the floor, then rolls into the frontcourt. A1 goes and recovers the ball himself in the FC. What do you have if anything?
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2001, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Danvrapp
I'll assume that your worries stem from the fact that you were inbounding from the FC, you were in the BC, and the ball was recovered in the FC.

This being the case, you have no problem. On a throw-in, there is no team possesion, nor is there FC / BC status. That's why a player in the FC can heave a ball from the end line clear into the BC and not have a BC violation.

However, should the ball have been live and the player was in the FC, you in the BC, and he recovers a ball in the FC that hit you in the BC--BC violation!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2001, 08:37pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation

This is an inbound violation. It has nothing to do with whether you were in the front or backcourt. Hitting you is exactly the same as hitting the floor at that point. A1 cannot come inbounds and recover the ball until it has touched another player, not just the floor. See NF 4-4-4.

Think of it this way. Substitute "the floor" for you. It then becomes an easy call.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2001, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
This is an inbound violation. It has nothing to do with whether you were in the front or backcourt. Hitting you is exactly the same as hitting the floor at that point. A1 cannot come inbounds and recover the ball until it has touched another player, not just the floor. See NF 4-4-4.

Think of it this way. Substitute "the floor" for you. It then becomes an easy call.
Mark is correct. In this situation, the ball has to touch another player before A1 can touch it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1