![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
A1 giving the ball a backcourt status is not a violation.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Forgive me if I read this wrong, but it sounded like you're justifying the interpretation when you asked and answered who give the ball a backcourt status.
The violation has never been for A1 giving the ball a backcourt status...if that were true, then A1 simply throwing the ball into the backcourt would be a violation as soon as the ball hit in the backcourt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() I don't get paid enough to justify the interpretation. But the interpretation is there and I don't see any reason to ignore it. Incidentally, Art Hyland, John Adams and Peter Webb have all said the interpretation is correct. Last edited by Toren; Tue Feb 04, 2014 at 02:36pm. |
|
|||
|
We've been discussing this for so long I don't remember but did this interpretation ever make it to the case book?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
*9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A’s backcourt where it touches the floor. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
|
Perhaps it should be! Wouldn't it all be a lot easier to rewrite the whole mess such that if the ball is in the frontcourt, and A causes it to touch the ground behind the halfcourt line, blow the whistle and throw in for B.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt ruling (NHFS rules) | xxssmen | Basketball | 17 | Wed Mar 14, 2007 01:35pm |
| backcourt ruling during a game question | 81artmonk | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:22am |
| Backcourt ruling | ditttoo | Basketball | 16 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 06:41pm |
| Ruling? | Scotto | Baseball | 4 | Fri Nov 14, 2003 07:16pm |
| Ruling PLease | sm_bbcoach | Baseball | 5 | Sat Jul 12, 2003 05:41am |