![]() |
Quote:
Bryan: First full disclosure: My mother graduated from Kansas and I am a Kansas fan, but people in the Forum will tell you I am always unbiased when it comes to officiaing. Once the Texas player had control of the ball, the Kansas defender had established a LGP. Time and distance does not matter in this play nor does it matter whether the Texas player did or not see the Kansas player. This is a classic Casebook Play for a charge. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
+1 MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
John Adams should be ashamed of himself. NCAA R4-S17-A5d has absolutely nothing to do with this play. 99.99% of the time I will not question an official's judgement call except when it comes to Guarding/Screening (block/charge) because if one knows the rule and referees the defense, the chances of missing this call is almost zero. I am glad I retired from college ball after Junior's first hear of officiating (20017-08) because this type of nonsense coming John Adam's inexcusable. It is a good thing that I am a calm and reserved person and have never suffered from high blood pressure or I would have been taken to the emergency room before I finished this post. MTD, Sr. |
Can somebody post verbatim what Adams had to say about this play (text is fine, don't need the rule)?
I'm really trying to wrap my head around how he can possibly justify saying 4-17-5 applies here. |
Quote:
|
Hmm interesting yet puzzling. Wish he would have hashed this one out more.
He wasn't making these comments while visiting Colorado by chance, was he? :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Does anybody have John Adam's email address. It is time for basketball officials to address this gross misinterpretation of the rules. I am appalled that John Adams would make such a statement. I am appalled that a person in his position could be so ignorant for the rules and how they are applied. I have attended seminars that the late Edgar Cartotto had given on Block/Charge and John Adam's statements have to have him spinning in his grave. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
[email protected] |
Quote:
Mark, don't be shocked if he answers. |
Quote:
|
Talk about your stereotypes of men not being talkers...
I don't think we've ever gotten one of these clips on the NCAAW side where the reason behind the interpretation wasn't explained...and explained again. To just say "this is a blocking foul because of 4-17-5" and not go into the possession aspect of the play creates more confusion. It also has an aspect of, "this is what we want called, deal with it." |
Quote:
Of course, I was one of the few who thought it was a block in the first place, so maybe my intuition was talking to me.:cool: |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48pm. |