![]() |
Quote:
There are situations like this where there is a legitimate travel as the player recognizes the imminent contact, but this isn't one of them. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
By the way, here's the case play from the NCAA (it's AR 85 in both rule books):
B1 takes a spot on the playing court before A1 jumps to catch a pass. 1. A1 returns to the playing court and lands on B1; or 2. B1 moves to a new spot while A1 is airborne. A1 comes to the floor on one foot and then charges into B1. RULING: In both (1) and (2), the foul shall be on A1. In (1), B1 is entitled to that spot on the floor provided (s)he gets there legally before the offensive player becomes airborne. However, in (2), when A1 possesses the ball then lands on the floor, no time and distance is required. (Rule 4-17.4.c and .d, 4-17.3 and Exception 4-17.7) |
John Adams has ruled this play a "block" on today's Arbiter video bulletin #14; correct call.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Per the rulebook there's no way I can see that this is anything but a PC. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If I was Bill Self I'd send Adams a screen shot of the Texas player holding the ball with both hands while he was still at least one giant step away from my defender. |
Quote:
I know one thing, with what's been going on with the rules lately, I'd be smiling if I were an NCAA-W official. |
Quote:
And here I was thinking the LDB and the RA would be a headache. Those are a piece of cake compared to this. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53am. |