The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 28, 2013, 08:23pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Holy cow that's a lot of shorthand there...DTF? ST? FTF? Pretty sure we allow more than 140 characters per post here....

All double fouls go to the point of interruption...

A's ball for the throw-in
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 28, 2013, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by apg View Post
holy cow that's a lot of shorthand there...dtf? St? Ftf? Pretty sure we allow more than 140 characters per post here....

All double fouls go to the point of interruption...

A's ball for the throw-in
itiawtbincwata.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 03:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
I actually understood the shorthand on the first try!

NFHS 10-6-11-1c
No free throws...for double personal or technical fouls (point of interruption).

NCAAM & W 4-27-1d
Point of interruption is the point in a game in which a stoppage in play occurs. The point of interruption is based on both the location of the ball and the team in control and is used to determine where to resume play because of...any double foul or simultaneous personal foul, as in Rule 4-15 unless only one of the fouls is a flagrant foul.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 04:28am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,163
The question that needs to be answered is...

I knew which NFHS and NCAA Rules apply but there are two possible answers to my POI question. I will reference NFHS Rules because the situation occurred in a H.S. game.


What do we know?

1) The Ball was Dead when the DTF occurred.

2) There is no TC when the Ball is Dead.

3) NFHS R4-S36-A2b: "Play shall be resumed by a free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."

4) NFHS R4-S36-A2c: "Play shall be resumed by a jump ball or alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved when the game is interrupted."


APG has said that the Ball should be put back into play after the TO with a Throw-in by Team A. Is that correct?

A) R4-S36-A2c says that since the DTF occurred while the Ball was Dead (meaning there was no TC by either Team when the DTF occurred) then the Ball is put back into play via the AP Arrow: Team B is awarded a AP Throw-in after the TO is over.

B) But, since the DTF occurs after Team A's request for a TO was recognized by the Game Officials, one could use R4-S36-2b to imply that the DTF occurs during Team A's TO and therefore the Ball is put back into play by Team A after Team A's TO has ended.


Which is the correct POI? A or B?

I am leaning toward B, but if I were a betting man (and I am) I would say that A is the correct POI.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 05:30am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
POI was the timeout. Play should be resumed as usual after the timeout. Live or dead ball is not the determining factor here. If the DF occurs while a try is in flight or immediately after a made basket, the ball is live in one case and dead in the other but there is no TC in either. But the arrow is not used here either.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 06:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
At least I understood the shorthand

POI is Team A's TO or, specifically, the throw-in after Team A's TO. That's where the proceedings would have resumed so that's where you pick up.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
3) NFHS R4-S36-A2b: "Play shall be resumed by a free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."
This is the only part that matters. A gets the throw-in.

Don't go to Vegas.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 11:06am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,983
Saying there is no TC b/c the ball is dead is making this way more complicated than it needs to be. It's a DF foul and the POI is A's throw-in after the time-out.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 12:21pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Saying there is no TC b/c the ball is dead is making this way more complicated than it needs to be. It's a DF foul and the POI is A's throw-in after the time-out.

But BNR, there is no TC when the Ball is Dead, and that is when the DTF occurred.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 03:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Mark, A is entitled to a throw in when the DTF occurs. That is your point of interruption.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 07:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
You're over complicating the situation, Mark. POI is correct, A's ball for throw-in.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 11:06am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
This is the only part that matters. A gets the throw-in.

Don't go to Vegas.
Agree with bob.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 02:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I knew which NFHS and NCAA Rules apply but there are two possible answers to my POI question. I will reference NFHS Rules because the situation occurred in a H.S. game.


What do we know?

1) The Ball was Dead when the DTF occurred.

2) There is no TC when the Ball is Dead.

3) NFHS R4-S36-A2b: "Play shall be resumed by a free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."

4) NFHS R4-S36-A2c: "Play shall be resumed by a jump ball or alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved when the game is interrupted."


APG has said that the Ball should be put back into play after the TO with a Throw-in by Team A. Is that correct?

A) R4-S36-A2c says that since the DTF occurred while the Ball was Dead (meaning there was no TC by either Team when the DTF occurred) then the Ball is put back into play via the AP Arrow: Team B is awarded a AP Throw-in after the TO is over.

B) But, since the DTF occurs after Team A's request for a TO was recognized by the Game Officials, one could use R4-S36-2b to imply that the DTF occurs during Team A's TO and therefore the Ball is put back into play by Team A after Team A's TO has ended.


Which is the correct POI? A or B?

I am leaning toward B, but if I were a betting man (and I am) I would say that A is the correct POI.

MTD, Sr.
Since all others have already correctly informed you that a throw-in by Team A is the proper way to resume the game, I will only add an additional bit of reasoning in the hope that it will help clarify for you how to administer this situation.
Under NFHS rules the POI rule is a 3-step process, you will note that the rules are labelled a, b, and c. You need to start with part a and proceed onward to part c, stopping once you reach the part which fits your situation.

In your case, no team had control when the DTF occurred as the ball was already dead due to the whistle in recognition of the time-out request, so part a doesn't apply. Moving on to part b we realize that a team is entitled to an ensuing throw-in so the text of part b fits and tells us our POI. Since we never reach part c, the AP arrow doesn't become an option in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 02:35am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Since all others have already correctly informed you that a throw-in by Team A is the proper way to resume the game, I will only add an additional bit of reasoning in the hope that it will help clarify for you how to administer this situation.
Under NFHS rules the POI rule is a 3-step process, you will note that the rules are labelled a, b, and c. You need to start with part a and proceed onward to part c, stopping once you reach the part which fits your situation.

In your case, no team had control when the DTF occurred as the ball was already dead due to the whistle in recognition of the time-out request, so part a doesn't apply. Moving on to part b we realize that a team is entitled to an ensuing throw-in so the text of part b fits and tells us our POI. Since we never reach part c, the AP arrow doesn't become an option in this situation.

Nevada:

I skipped A2a because it does not apply to this play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 03:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Nevada:

I skipped A2a because it does not apply to this play.

MTD, Sr.
As you should have done, but then after reading A2b you should have ceased your analysis and not continued on to A2c, because A2b DOES apply. So that's it--Stop right there--You have your answer.

I don't know if during your thought process you were conscious that you were progressing through a list and properly passing through A2a or just did it automatically. My post was intended to help you realize the stepwise process logically and clearly, so that you would then be able to easily determine the correct POI application for not only the play at hand, but any future situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1