The question that needs to be answered is...
I knew which NFHS and NCAA Rules apply but there are two possible answers to my POI question. I will reference NFHS Rules because the situation occurred in a H.S. game.
What do we know?
1) The Ball was Dead when the DTF occurred.
2) There is no TC when the Ball is Dead.
3) NFHS R4-S36-A2b: "Play shall be resumed by a free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."
4) NFHS R4-S36-A2c: "Play shall be resumed by a jump ball or alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved when the game is interrupted."
APG has said that the Ball should be put back into play after the TO with a Throw-in by Team A. Is that correct?
A) R4-S36-A2c says that since the DTF occurred while the Ball was Dead (meaning there was no TC by either Team when the DTF occurred) then the Ball is put back into play via the AP Arrow: Team B is awarded a AP Throw-in after the TO is over.
B) But, since the DTF occurs after Team A's request for a TO was recognized by the Game Officials, one could use R4-S36-2b to imply that the DTF occurs during Team A's TO and therefore the Ball is put back into play by Team A after Team A's TO has ended.
Which is the correct POI? A or B?
I am leaning toward B, but if I were a betting man (and I am) I would say that A is the correct POI.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|