![]() |
|
|
|||
What was the status of the ball when the fouls occurred? It doesn't matter when the whistles sounded.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Bryan, According to C, ball was in the air when her foul occurred.
__________________
Reffin' in the Rockies |
|
|||
Quote:
If one foul actually occurred first, you penalize that foul and ignore the other. UNLESS, that "other" foul is flagrant or intentional. |
|
|||
Quote:
We discussed issuing a flagrant against W2, but L thought that there wasn't any malice, nor premeditation. We thought given the state of the game at that time ( 3:24 left in 4th, Red up by 18), that the simultaneous was the correct call.
__________________
Reffin' in the Rockies |
|
|||
Quote:
Some will say state of the game is irrelevant. Others will say go with the foul on the shot and forget the other, regardless of the state of the game. Consult your local listings.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
A1 releases ball. A1 is fouled. Ball is still in the air and is live. A2 fouls while ball is in the air, but after A1 is fouled. Or, A1 releases ball. B1 moves into A1's landing space and at the same time A2 pushes B2 moving for rebound position. The last one is a simultaneous foul; the first two are false double fouls. Or, A1 is fouled. Ball goes below ring. A2 pushes B2. Because of recognition timing of the officials, the whistles sound sulitaneously. Here, we ignore the second foul. Both fouls (by rule) are penalized. Or, A1 starts try and is fouled. A1 releases ball on try. A2 fouls. Again, both fouls are penalized. Last edited by bob jenkins; Sun Dec 15, 2013 at 05:59pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Wow. You guys really like to split hairs. What matters here is that you had two whistles, the crew came together, and a decision was made based on their judgement in that game. This all sounds like good mechanics which gave them credibility when explaining it to the coaches. When we evaluate refs in my chapter we focus mostly on mechanics and rules unless something is agregious. Judgement is judgement and I don't want to question a fellow refs judgement unless they were clearly in the wrong. When the crew mentioned in this post came together and determined that the fouls occured at the same time, they did exactly what they should have done. Without seeing it on tape that's the only conclusion I can clme too.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I've been taught that if you're going to call something off ball then have knowledge as to the status of the ball. It helps me know whether I've got a live ball contact foul to call or a dead ball no-call or worse.
__________________
![]() ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Getting together and getting it right is better. The definition of "right" depends on the exact timing -- and that's what much of this discussion has been about. |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball remaining live during a shot attempt has nothing to do with whether or not the person who shot the ball gets free throws or how many free throws. The ball remains live during the shot attempt. The shooter is only a shooter until they land. They can shoot a jump shot, land while the ball is still in the air, get fouled and not shoot any free throws. In this case, the basket would count and team A would either get the ball out of bounds at spot nearest where foul occurred or would shoot free throws if his team was in the bonus. They would not get one free throw for being fouled during an attempt nor would they get two or three free throws if the shot was unsuccessful. My point was that is not very likely that the person shooting a 3 point shot is still an airborne shooter when the ball is bouncing on the court. Therefore, the ball is only live until the shot ends. The shot ends, when it is certain it isn't going to be good. If the ball is bouncing on the floor, than the shot can no longer be good. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Had this play in an NCAA scrimmage. Final Four official observing said we need to go with the shooting foul and rule the rebounding foul as incidental contact (which is what the 2 officials decided, they just took too long to accomplish it).
So, basically what johnny d said. Right or wrong? It's right when I'm working for certain supervisors.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Dec 16, 2013 at 12:33am. |
|
|||
Dead ball contact.
Quote:
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Multiple Foul? Simultaneous Foul? | Zoochy | Basketball | 10 | Mon Jan 10, 2011 08:00pm |
Simultaneous foul | Refsmitty | Basketball | 12 | Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:47am |
Simultaneous Foul at end of Qtr. | nukewhistle | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:24am |
Simultaneous Foul? | bigdogrunnin | Basketball | 4 | Fri Nov 17, 2006 03:04pm |
Simultaneous Foul | rainmaker | Basketball | 11 | Thu Jul 01, 2004 02:21am |