The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2013, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 174
Travel???

A cutter in the lane receives a pass with one foot on the floor, this makes it his pivot foot, correct? He then takes two steps, the second one being his original pivot foot. Never dribbling the ball. Travel, correct? Had a coach pretty much lose it the other night. Is he correct or watching too much NBA?

Pfan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2013, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,235
that is a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2013, 03:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Coach needs to stop thinking "two steps."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2013, 03:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
It's Not About Steps ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Coach needs to stop thinking "two steps."
Agree. Think in terms of, by rule, moving the pivot foot within, or beyond, the prescribed limitations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2013, 04:04pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
You aren't that specific in your post, so I have to bring this up...

Once a player picks up his/her pivot foot, they can not put the foot back down on the floor nor start a dribble. But, a player can pick up the pivot foot and then shoot or pass the ball, provided he/she didn't put that pivot foot down beforehand.

Forget the NBA unless you officiate it. Their mechanics and rules are different. In this case, an NBA player is allowed that extra step. Meaning they can pick up their pivot foot and put it back down on the floor (not sure they can start a dribble after picking up the pivot foot, though).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2013, 04:14pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
You aren't that specific in your post, so I have to bring this up...

Once a player picks up his/her pivot foot, they can not put the foot back down on the floor nor start a dribble. But, a player can pick up the pivot foot and then shoot or pass the ball, provided he/she didn't put that pivot foot down beforehand.

Forget the NBA unless you officiate it. Their mechanics and rules are different. In this case, an NBA player is allowed that extra step. Meaning they can pick up their pivot foot and put it back down on the floor (not sure they can start a dribble after picking up the pivot foot, though).
An NBA player is never allowed by rule to pick up their pivot foot and put it back on the floor. The manner in which is pivot foot is determined means different plays are legal under NBA rules and not so under NFHS/NCAA, but a player is still never able to pick up his pivot foot and put it back down.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2013, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
You aren't that specific in your post, so I have to bring this up...

Once a player picks up his/her pivot foot, they can not put the foot back down on the floor nor start a dribble. But, a player can pick up the pivot foot and then shoot or pass the ball, provided he/she didn't put that pivot foot down beforehand.

Forget the NBA unless you officiate it. Their mechanics and rules are different. In this case, an NBA player is allowed that extra step. Meaning they can pick up their pivot foot and put it back down on the floor (not sure they can start a dribble after picking up the pivot foot, though).
How can I be more specific? Cutter receives pass with right foot on the ground, steps with his left, then his right, and attempts a lay up. Never putting the ball on the floor. IMO this is a travel.

I think a lot of officials do not call this, so most think it is legal. You probably have a few officials in your area that get more travels than others. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
Travel or not Dan_ref Basketball 16 Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:24pm
Travel lds7199 Basketball 16 Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:10pm
A travel or not a travel RefJeff Basketball 4 Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:19pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1