The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 02, 2013, 11:53pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
why did you switch the video to private?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 03, 2013, 09:44am
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
why did you switch the video to private?
My mistake... It has been changed so you can see it now.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 06, 2013, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Thanks for sharing. I work on the men's side, but I'm familiar with the new LDB and this play would be hard to adjudicate. So much to consider. Luckily you got this play under your belt in November

On the men's side, it's not so hard, didn't have legal guarding prior to the start of the upward motion and in the RA. That makes 2 blocks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 12:00pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
A factor?

Lower Defensive Box (LDB)/Restricted Area (Rule 10-1.13).

Play 2: Player A2 is outside the LDB when she jumps into the air and receives the ball. When she receives the ball, she is over the LDB and then lands in the LDB.
Play 2 Ruling: Player A2 is in the LDB when she receives the ball because she is over the LDB when she catches it. Where she left the floor does not determine her position because she did not have the ball when she left the floor. The location of an airborne player in relation to the LDB is whether she is over the LDB when she receives the ball.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Lower Defensive Box (LDB)/Restricted Area (Rule 10-1.13).

Play 2: Player A2 is outside the LDB when she jumps into the air and receives the ball. When she receives the ball, she is over the LDB and then lands in the LDB.
Play 2 Ruling: Player A2 is in the LDB when she receives the ball because she is over the LDB when she catches it. Where she left the floor does not determine her position because she did not have the ball when she left the floor. The location of an airborne player in relation to the LDB is whether she is over the LDB when she receives the ball.
Most of us said that the player was in the LDB when she received the ball, so I don't think this NCAAW interp changes this discussion.

I am NOT surprised by the interp -- over = in for both the LDB and the RA.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 12:59pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Most of us said that the player was in the LDB when she received the ball, so I don't think this NCAAW interp changes this discussion.

I am NOT surprised by the interp -- over = in for both the LDB and the RA.
Agreed. It's simply an extrapolation of A.R. 98.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1