![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
Clarifications sought: Verticality, Reaching in , High Dribble--anybody help ?
1. A "high dribble" is NOT carrying the ball. But rotating the wrist by dribbler is carrying. When a player is speeding down court and dribbling the ball and it bounces above his waist or shoulder but no wrist pronation on dribble is this legal? Coaches and fans are always screaming 'violation' when they see this, but is it really a violation?
2. "Reaching in" --if the defender does not make contact with hand or arm of opponent and does not impede their progress, then they can reach in all day long and make the dribbler cautious and slower---is this just smart defense? 3. "over the back" is not the same as "on the back". Verticality is legal-on a rebound the player jumps high and veritcal and grabs rebound--no contact is made on the back of other player. legal rebounding and congratulate player on having a good vertical jump that is well-timed yes? 4. "shooter shoots, ball gets stuck wedged betw. rim and backboard"--so team A has put the ball out of play. why doesn't possesion go to team B? |
|
|||
1) To me, "carrying" is pretty obvious. If you don't "carry the ball" during a high dribble, then it's not a violation
2) I don't know how many times I've told (mostly rec league) coaches to stop complaining about the other team "reaching". Reaching isn't a foul. 3) There can (and probably will be contact). I look for displacement that is either severe, or creates an advantage. 4) Because no team has team control when the ball gets stuck. The way I think about it that makes sense is: Both teams would be entitled to a rebound if the ball doesn't get stuck. Team A didn't put the ball out of play (the basket is in play). They simply missed a shot. Therefore, they would get equal chance at rebound. So ... Jump ball is fair. |
|
|||
#1. Even rotating the wrist is not necessarily a violation. The ball must come to rest in the dribbler's hand for there to be a violation. Rotating the hand/wrist might do that, but it might not. It is legal for a dribbler to bump the ball from the bottom, even with the hand facing upwards, as long as the dribbler doesn't "catch it" and lets it hit the ground before touching it again....continuing the dribble.
#2. Generally, yes. No contact, no foul. Simple as that. However, contact with the hand, while it is in contact with the ball, is not a foul. It may feel like a foul to the dribbler (or shooter), but it is, by rule, legal. #3. Correct...and that grab of the ball might even be well over the opponent. But, as long as they don't jump into the opponent and displace them, there is no foul. #4. Ball became dead with neither team in control and it wasn't an infraction. Ask yourself this...what did team B do to earn possession?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Car 54, where are you?
Oh Billy, BillyMac???
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
Wedgie ???
Because it's not a violation to wedge the ball between the rim and the backboard. Unless, of course, this happens during a throwin, in which case it would be a violation, and Team B would gain possession at the spot of the original throwin, but then, of course, again, if it was during a throwin, it wouldn't, or couldn't, be a shot. Have I taken a simple play and made it sufficiently confusing, or do I need to make it more confusing?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Jul 17, 2013 at 05:20pm. |
|
|||
You Rang ???
![]() Palming or carrying is when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble. Reaching in is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes, or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul. Over the back is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
OK, you all have been so very helpful in this regard.
As a female ref I used to be intimidated by fans shouting "high dribble" and "you better call that reach in". I would stifle my whistle and let the play proceed because I thot there was no violation occuring. Also, thanks for the insightful comment that said "a foul can occur even if the player who is doing the boxing out shoves his body into a rebounder who has elevated behind him/her". |
|
|||
Another question, If I may pick you all's collective brain, is this:
When player A shoots and is airborne, then player b immediately turns their tush to box them out--is this a foul? The shooter must be allowed to land correct? without being impeded---I think this is afoul--am I right or wrong--and is it a player control foul or a free throw awarded type of foul? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
A doesn't necessarily get the ball. Use the arrow.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
High Dribble | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 45 | Tue Jul 22, 2008 08:44am |
Opinions Sought | SperlingPE | Basketball | 40 | Wed Oct 25, 2006 03:11pm |
High Dribble Dispute | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 7 | Thu Dec 22, 2005 11:30pm |
VERTICALITY | RAINMAN | Basketball | 9 | Sat Mar 12, 2005 02:17pm |
Verticality | canuckrefguy | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:29am |