![]() |
Quote:
|
i dont call it for 2 schools anymore
I was T in 3-whistle during a free throw. B player was talking to his coach near the sideline, after the rebound he ran out of bounds under the basket (in the blue paint out of bounds) and popped back in to receive a long pass for an easy basket. I called the violation, from about 20' from the baseline as soon as he received the pass. Coach says, "you couldn't see that from that far away." I told him both feet were in the blue, and coach said, "not when he caught the ball."
After the game the AD told me that both coaches think I was making up a rule. In the 3 years since I have not had any phone calls for these schools. Prior to that day I did a varsity dh for each and a handful of jv games each. That is what you get when all the coach has to do is push play on an internet video and come back in 45 minutes and click, "yes I watched the video." |
Quote:
|
I have this about once per year. Once, in a youth game, I had a double violation. :eek:
|
Quote:
So, no, I did not make this call nearly as frequently when the penalty was a T, but unless my memory is incorrect, the standard for the call was also significantly different back then. |
Quote:
If the act is severe enough, then you should be penalizing it, not talking about it. If it isn't severe enough to warrant a penalty, then you shouldn't say anything. Save the preventative officiating for situations in which two opposing players are involved and their conduct is borderline. Preventative officiating was not intended to be an excuse for not properly calling fouls and violations. How many times can John Adams say, "make the call and the players and coaches will adjust?" |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The same as a 3 second call, IMO ("45, keep moving"). For that matter, it's similar to the coaching box ("Coach, I need you back in the coaching box") and slightly mouthy assistant coaches. The fact is, some local leadership structures want these things warned, if possible, before penalized. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Found it online. It was changed/added for the 05-06 season:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Ruling: A-1 has committed a violation for failing to move DIRECTLY onto the court after the release of the ball. The violation ruling is NOT to be delayed until A-1 returns to the court. It is ruled a violation WHEN the delay OCCURS. Remaining off the court or NOT going onto the court directly is similar to leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. In THIS case it should be obvious that A-1's movement, out of bounds, along the end line was to take advantage of the screen. " Curiously, this Case Play is stated in Case Book 10.3.2 as penalized by a T. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08am. |