The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 12:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Aren't there times when it could be BI or GT?
Not according to the definitions as they are mutually exclusive at the NCAA/NFHS levels.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 06:39am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Outside The Cylinder ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Aren't there times when it could be BI or GT?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Not according to the definitions as they are mutually exclusive at the NFHS level.
Nevadaref: I've been taught the same thing, mutually exclusive. Over the years our local interpreters have added the statement "outside the cylinder" to the goaltending definition, but that statement is not in the NFHS rulebook. So if you have a situation where a player touches the ball during a field-goal try, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, while the ball is in the cylinder, and the ball has the possibility of entering the basket in flight, then, by strict interpretation of the written definition, the official can call either a goaltending violation, or a basket interference violation.

I would love to see any citations that include the statement "outside the cylinder" in the definition of goaltending, but without such, bainsey might have a point, and not the point on his head.

NFHS 4-22: Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap
while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the
possibility of entering the basket in flight.

NFHS 4-6: Basket interference occurs when a player:
ART. 1 Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while
the ball is on or within either basket.
ART. 2 Touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary
cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I'm a bit surprised that some don't see this as an obvious call, in slo mo at least. Several angles show the ball to be in the cylinder when it's tapped by O'Neal. If it was one angle, I'd get it, 1 angle doesn't show enough - but when every single angle shows it inside the cylinder, it's rather obvious isn't it?

I will grant that it very likely was NOT going to go in on it's own - but that's not the criteria. In the cylinder when he touches it - that's the criteria.

And I agree with Adam... stupid play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I'm a bit surprised that some don't see this as an obvious call, in slo mo at least. Several angles show the ball to be in the cylinder when it's tapped by O'Neal. If it was one angle, I'd get it, 1 angle doesn't show enough - but when every single angle shows it inside the cylinder, it's rather obvious isn't it?

I will grant that it very likely was NOT going to go in on it's own - but that's not the criteria. In the cylinder when he touches it - that's the criteria.

And I agree with Adam... stupid play.
The only problem is that the NBA has, as I was recently told, an extra caveat that allows the ball to be freely played if it is coming off the rim, even if it is still in the cylinder. So much easier and consistent to judge if it is in or is not in.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 12:49pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The only problem is that the NBA has, as I was recently told, an extra caveat that allows the ball to be freely played if it is coming off the rim, even if it is still in the cylinder. So much easier and consistent to judge if it is in or is not in.
No, if it's on the rim and coming off it can be played. If it is not touching the rim then the ball cannot be touched if any part is in the cylinder.

Joe Borgia explained the rule on "Make the Call" a couple weeks ago and showed examples of each.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No, if it's on the rim and coming off it can be played. If it is not touching the rim then the ball cannot be touched if any part is in the cylinder.

Joe Borgia explained the rule on "Make the Call" a couple weeks ago and showed examples of each.
That makes it even more difficult to call and more likely to be inconsistent.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 06:21am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Séance ??? Ouija Board ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Channeling my inner JR in his memory.
Jurassic Referee wouldn't be hesitant about commenting on this play. How about it guys, and gals? Are goaltending and basket interference mutually exclusive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
... Mutually exclusive. Over the years our local interpreters have added the statement "outside the cylinder" to the goaltending definition, but that statement is not in the NFHS rulebook. So if you have a situation where a player touches the ball during a field-goal try, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, while the ball is in the cylinder, and the ball has the possibility of entering the basket in flight, then, by strict interpretation of the written definition, the official can call either a goaltending violation, or a basket interference violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Just for you, Billy, I went and researched this. I remembered learning GT as having to be outside of the imaginary cylinder when I began officiating.

Sure enough, the definition of goaltending did contain this requirement through the 2003-04 season. For some unknown reason the rule was edited without comment or announcement for the 2004-05 season and that part of the definition was dropped.

We can now have a debate about whether the former NFHS editor changed the rule with the new/current text or if it was just an oversight and the old language still applies.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Just for you, Billy, I went and researched this. I remembered learning GT as having to be outside of the imaginary cylinder when I began officiating.

Sure enough, the definition of goaltending did contain this requirement through the 2003-04 season. For some unknown reason the rule was edited without comment or announcement for the 2004-05 season and that part of the definition was dropped.

We can now have a debate about whether the former NFHS editor changed the rule with the new/current text or if it was just an oversight and the old language still applies.
Not sure it matter much as it remains a violation even if they overlap. FOr them to overlap, it can only be a try since GT is only on a try...so all the non-try cases can only be BI.

The only point where it really makes a difference is if it is on a FT. And that may be the reason it changed. Was it changed at the same time as the penalty for interfering with a FT was changed? BI on a FT used to be a T but was changed to a violation leaving only GT a FT as a T. That change made sense given that it really wouldn't be fair to get a T for rebounding a FT just a bit early but interfering with it before it hits does deserve a T. The change in wording on the definition of GT would keep interfering with a FT as GT until it hit.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Apr 16, 2013 at 12:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 04:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Now That's What I Call Research ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Just for you, Billy, I went and researched this. I remembered learning GT as having to be outside of the imaginary cylinder when I began officiating. Sure enough, the definition of goaltending did contain this requirement through the 2003-04 season. For some unknown reason the rule was edited without comment or announcement for the 2004-05 season and that part of the definition was dropped.
Thanks Nevadaref. Because this was done with no comment, no announcement, or no accompanying rule change, I'm sure that it was an oversight. Like the "captain's line up" rule that was mistakenly dropped for several years, and then had to be put back in the rule book.

2002-03 NFHS 4-22: Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap while: a) the ball is in downward flight. b) the entire ball is above the level of the basket ring. c) the ball has the possibility of entering the basket in flight. d) the ball is not touching an imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as it's lower base.

2012-13 NFHS 4-22: Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Apr 17, 2013 at 06:17am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1