The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 21, 2013, 10:28pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
This was a question in the IAABO test this year. I answered violation initially, but was persuaded otherwise by the answer key.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 21, 2013, 10:43pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Answer keys are sometimes wrong.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 21, 2013, 11:02pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Answer keys are sometimes wrong.
This one wasn't. The play is basically as follows:

"A1, in control of the ball, who has not used a dribble, jumps off both feet into the air, then drops/releases the ball to his/her side. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?"

The answer, despite what many of you are suggesting, is in fact "yes," which is what jdmara is suggesting could be the ruling depending on the situation. The reason the answer is yes is because it does depend on what else is happening on the court around A1. If, for example, A2 is nearby and comes over and grabs the ball before or after a bounce or two, it wasn't the start of a dribble.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 12:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
This one wasn't. The play is basically as follows:

"A1, in control of the ball, who has not used a dribble, jumps off both feet into the air, then drops/releases the ball to his/her side. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?"

The answer, despite what many of you are suggesting, is in fact "yes," which is what jdmara is suggesting could be the ruling depending on the situation. The reason the answer is yes is because it does depend on what else is happening on the court around A1. If, for example, A2 is nearby and comes over and grabs the ball before or after a bounce or two, it wasn't the start of a dribble.
You're missing my point. The only valid answer to the question is "unknown" or "so far". You may not know what it is until something else happens. But, if it is a dribble, it was, by definition, so the moment it left the hand. You just have to wait in order to know. The question is incomplete. If it it turns out that it was a dribble, the actual violation occurred when it was released. Returning to the hand just confirms that it was a dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 01:05am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
It is what it is on the release and should be judged at the time. If a defender lunges at the loose ball after it hits the floor and knocks it out of bounds, who would you give it to?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 02:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It is what it is on the release and should be judged at the time. If a defender lunges at the loose ball after it hits the floor and knocks it out of bounds, who would you give it to?
Even better...dribbler lifts the pivot, then starts a dribble then there is contact as the defender tries to cover the move. Travel or block (assume block)? Do you think it is right for a defender to have to guard that move?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 06:51am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Are The Mythbusters Wrong ???

From the files of the Mythbusters:

When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.

Are the Mythbusters wrong?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 09:23am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You're missing my point. The only valid answer to the question is "unknown" or "so far". You may not know what it is until something else happens. But, if it is a dribble, it was, by definition, so the moment it left the hand. You just have to wait in order to know. The question is incomplete. If it it turns out that it was a dribble, the actual violation occurred when it was released. Returning to the hand just confirms that it was a dribble.
Gotcha. Semantically speaking, however, if it were written and rephrased as a true/false question, however, the answer would be "true."
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Fri Mar 22, 2013 at 12:03pm. Reason: Edited to throw in some more "howevers" in the reason-for-editing line.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 07:42am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Answer keys are sometimes wrong.
So are forum members.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 12:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Just because a player throws a pass to an empty spot does not mean it wasn't a pass. The do it all the time out of ignorance and/or desperation. In the OP, I'm not calling it until the player touches it again and confirms that it was a dribble. If the erstwhile shooter doesn't even try to touch it, it was a pass.

This isn't to say I haven't blown this play out of anticipation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal dribble or not..?? rpirtle Basketball 20 Sun Jan 06, 2013 04:48pm
Illegal dribble rbruno Basketball 13 Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:52pm
Illegal dribble or not? johnsonboys03 Basketball 6 Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:05pm
Illegal dribble? just another ref Basketball 96 Mon Sep 18, 2006 06:58am
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1