![]() |
illegal dribble?
With 5:15 left to go in the 2nd half of the Michigan SD St game a player #34 from SD St with the ball jumps in the air and realizes his shot is going to be blocked. He lets the ball fall to his side and does not touch it while it remains bouncing he is called for an illegal dribble. Is this the correct call? Maybe somebody has the video.
|
Technically, yes. The dribble starts the moment it is released. If it is a dribble, it is a violation at that moment.
However, in practice, until someone again touches it, you can't know if it was a pass (touched by a different player) or a dribble (touched by the same player). Once the same player touches it again, it confirms that it was a dribble but the violation actually occurred when the ball was released. |
Actually what it would be is a travel, for releasing the ball to begin a dribble after lifting the pivot foot.
|
Quote:
-Josh |
Quote:
If a player drops the ball straight to the floor, another player is not involved. Therefore, in my judgment, this is not a pass. By default, it becomes a dribble, which, in this case, is a violation. |
Quote:
-Josh |
Quote:
This official calls the violation which was created by the good defense. |
This was a question in the IAABO test this year. I answered violation initially, but was persuaded otherwise by the answer key.
|
Answer keys are sometimes wrong.
|
Quote:
I didn't say that play was or was not a dribble...just that "a" dribble starts the moment it is released and if it was a dribble, it is a violation. It is one or the other at the moment it is released. There is no other option...it isn't a fumble, it isn't an interrupted dribble, it isn't being held. It may not always be possible to tell what it is at that moment but that doesn't meant it isn't one or the other. The subsequent action only determines was it was all along...all the way back to the moment it was released. It doesn't magically become a pass/dribble when it is next touched, it just makes it clear. |
Quote:
"A1, in control of the ball, who has not used a dribble, jumps off both feet into the air, then drops/releases the ball to his/her side. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?" The answer, despite what many of you are suggesting, is in fact "yes," which is what jdmara is suggesting could be the ruling depending on the situation. The reason the answer is yes is because it does depend on what else is happening on the court around A1. If, for example, A2 is nearby and comes over and grabs the ball before or after a bounce or two, it wasn't the start of a dribble. |
Quote:
|
It is what it is on the release and should be judged at the time. If a defender lunges at the loose ball after it hits the floor and knocks it out of bounds, who would you give it to?
|
Quote:
|
Are The Mythbusters Wrong ???
From the files of the Mythbusters:
When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Are the Mythbusters wrong? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53pm. |